We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of La Mela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Mela
Ranked #873 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

It is cheap hotel, far away from city centre. There is no gym no free wi fi, as it was advertised in the deal I have purchased. We had to pay for wi fi just to find out after that there is np wi fi available in the room at all. The seats in the room was dirty.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ritinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    72
    52
    27
    21
See reviews for
36
71
11
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I found this hotel very unhelpful, Sunday's there is no bus service, we asked at reception about the bus service ... they told us the bus runs every 45 mins on sunday. We waited one hour on a bus, then went back to the hotel, receptionist had given a group of Italians directions to the metro station but had totally left us out even though we had checked with 2 members of staff beforehand. I found the staff very unhelpful. Hotel itself was very clean, I would not recommend this hotel for families as it would be too far out for them. Also there is no restaurant nearby.
Breakfast you get coffee from a machine whilst you watched Italians getting their coffee made for them.... I found this hotel had two standards, for a 4 star rating I was disappointed, we only got shampoo, no conditioner or body wash as for TV channels we couldn't get any English.....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rio Vista, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I prepaid for 5 days at the conclusion of a cruise.
Located in a bad part of town. 1) Room AC didn't work told to open windows. Result flies and mosquitos. 2) No bathroom ventilation. 3) Only 2 English TV channels CNN & BBC.4) Requested ICE, non available. 5) Requested Kleenex tissues, given paper towels. 6) Wi Fi only available? in reception area didn't work. 7) Room phones not connected. 8) No shampoo provided. only body wash. 9) At 75 the concierge? watched me struggle with 4 heavy suitcases while he dusted the banister.
This is the worst hotel we have had the bad luck to visit. There must be a reason that the hotel appeared to be empty
location, service

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank bernard d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Be careful as the trend in Italy for us was that wherever you booked. .... they would transfer you to another hotel because they had a"problem" with their room. Electricity. ... water leaks. . Etc. ..... I suspect all rubbish of course. .... overbooked again. .. greed?
They put you up in a crap hotel and claim that it is the same as theirs. Communication is terrible and they just do not care about the customer.

EVENTUALLY. ... after I demanded. ... I got the right treatment. ....... but then it was weekend and I am sure that they now had rooms available!
Crap attitude!
Would not recommend!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank SidneyJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelergirl08
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2008

This hotel was very nice inside but was in a terrible part of town so far away the metro didnt even take you there! The cab drivers knew this so they hiked the price up for a 5 min cab ride to and from the metro stop. one on the metro it was a good 30min ride to the center of city.

The hotel itself was nice and did have a great breakfast, but unless you are willing to pay outrageously for transportation to the city I wouldnt stay here.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelergirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2007

Just returned from Rome with my family (30 Oct 07).
We stayed in Hotel La Mela. It is located around 10 min drive to the Metro station and 25 minutes to the city centre with Metro. The location of Hotel is really in the middle of nowhere. Not even good (or safe) to walk around the hotel.
Our room was at the top floor, good size and large balcony. But there was nothing to see in the surrounding area, except crowded motorways and industrial sites.
Hotel itself is OK, newly built, good furniture and clean, but the staff, Oh my God.
They make you forget who is paying whom. Except nice lady receptionists, and one of the helpers, the rest where really unhelpful, grumpy and bad tempered. In particular, the man receptionist was really terrible, he wouldn’t look at you when dealing with you and looked quiet irritated when you ask for the shuttle to metro. I really don’t understand why they put him in reception desk.
There were supposed to be pool and gym, but turned out to be shared with another building facility and receptionist didn’t know anything about it. So really there was nothing in the hotel.
The breakfast was OK, nothing flash though. There is a free and safe underground free car park.

I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to you based on two facts. Its location is terrible, and the staff are not that great.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — location - staff
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ytrjgjgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2007

we were so excited to be going to rome, having not been abroad for nearly 5 years since having our daughter, We picked hotel la mela having found it on a holiday website then looking through other websites, The pictures looked great, huge room, lovely reception and bar, and it had 4 stars, Compared to other hotels at the same price it looked fantastic and only 20 mins from the centre of rome! well..........20 mins my backside! Firstly u have to wait until the hotel shuttle (car) is available to take u to the tube station.....then once at the tube station add another 15-20 mins to find and queue behind a ticket machine that is working! All the while getting tutted and huffed and puffed at by locals in thier annoyance at your ability to use the ticket machine then its 20 mins on the tube into rome!

Anyway the hotel room itself is not bad........the room we got was about half the size as the picture the hotel uses as its advertisment But it was very clean and the breakfast was quite nice, coffee, selection of juices, cereals, croissants, rolls and preserves, Although we were gobsmacked to be charged 4 euros for a coke! airconditioning is absolutley not worthy of being called airconditioning! more of a fan that looks like air con
that circulates the hot air around the room! Also no hot water in the morning or the evening, we managed a hot shower the day we checked in at 2pm and that was it. The Location of the hotel is awful, it is just off a very busy main road, very noisy! The view from our window was on a dirty industruial estate with the road just behind it.

We didn't find the hotel staff helpful at all and felt we were bothering them when we asked for the shuttle car to the station, There was one receptionist that we only saw once that was very friendly, the others were NOT!
We were told if we wasn't back to the station by 9pm we couldn't get the shuttle car back to the hotel , we threw caution to the wind and decided to stay out late and then a taxi from the station cost us 15 euros for the 3 min trip!
Also the tube from rome into anangina stops running at 10pm which we wasn't told and we ended up getting a night bus back to anangina which took an hour and then we had to get taxi back to the hotel!
After speaking to other travellers on the way home that had actually stayed in the heart of rome we learnt that thier hotel staff had bent over backwards in trying to help them find thier way around and nothing was too much trouble. At the la mela there are no offers of excursions/ daytrips..........not even any leaftlets of things to do.

I feel disappointed at our choice of hotel and feel we should have realised that a 4* for the same price of a 3* in the centre of rome was for a reason. we don't even feel that the la mela was a 4*

If anyone reading this is thinking of booking this hotel...i would strongly advise u to take on board what we have written, if someone had been as honest as us i would definatley have thought twice!

On the plus side my partner proposed to me at the trevii fountain while we were then and i said YES...........so not all bad!!!!

P.S i will be adding photos very soon.

  • Liked — room was cleaned daily
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank UkSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.6 mi away
Vintage Hotel Rome
Vintage Hotel Rome
#768 of 1,264 in Rome
304 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Roma Tor Vergata
1.5 mi away
Hotel Giardino d'Europa
Hotel Giardino d'Europa
#605 of 1,264 in Rome
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Black Hotel
Black Hotel
#668 of 1,264 in Rome
855 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#1,032 of 1,264 in Rome
290 reviews
10.3 mi away
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mela

Property: La Mela
Address: Via Alessandro Stoppato 104, 00173 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#331 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mela Rome
La Mela Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing