We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth for money”
Review of Residence Candia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Candia
Ranked #378 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Rome
1 review
“Worth for money”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Pros:
Facilities are good
Rooms are very spacious
kitchen was good
cons:
Apartment is old
floors are not mopped regularly

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank CHARLES A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    183
    60
    23
    10
See reviews for
134
155
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

we had a very complete, recently renovated appartment, even had a washing machine. Was not very big for a family of 4, but since you're in Rome for sightseeing this was not really an issue. Building is very close to Vatican Museum and subway station Ciprio. One thing to note: during our stay a very large group of youths (14-16 year) stayed there as well, we had no issues, but receptionist told us in the morning he was glad they left since he got a lot of complaints from other guests about them.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Jan Adriaan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Great location for sightseeing in Rome, 10 minutes walk to the Vatican museums, 5 minutes from the Rome Metro. Restaurants, bars and a supermarket all within 5 minutes walk. We stayed there in May 2012 in a studio appartment on the third floor in building 4. The room was very small, but had excellent closet storage. There was no space for our suitcases - they had to go under the bed. The kitchen was tiny but had the essentials (fridge, microwave, 2 burner stove, lots of pots, pans, plates etc.) The bathroom was very compact with a shower but no bath. Even though the room was small, it didn't really matter because we weren't there very much. The room was cleaned daily. A courtyard and rooftop patio were available for guests' use.

The front desk staff all spoke excellent english and were very helpful. If we come to Rome, again, we would definitely go back to the Residence Candia.

Room Tip: all rooms are away from the street - higher rooms are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julieonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Unusual, idiosyncratic, and packed with character, the Residence Candia epitomizes quaint accommodation in Rome. Situated in the Via Candia and just five minutes walk to the Vatican Museum (Sistine Chapel etc) and a mere ten more minutes walk to St. Peter's Square and the Basilica, with metro stations equidistant and a fine supermarket within 2 minutes, it's location cannot be beat. Consisting of self-catering apartments on five floors, the rooms are furnished with everything one would require.

We were a party of four and allocated two penthouses on the top floor. One was slightly larger than the other and each had their differences: one had a microwave - the other didn’t. One had a state of the art flat-screen TV whilst the other had a more old fashioned tube perched on a bracket; both had a cooker and 4-plate electric hob, fridge, plenty of utensils, crockery, pots and pans, a dining table, comfortable seating and very comfortable beds, plus free and reasonably fast wi-fi.

They both had excellent bathrooms with toilet, sink and shower cubicle, powerful hair dryer, plenty of hot water, towels and toiletries. Each room also had a small balcony or patio with table and chairs. In fact there is so much packed into what could be regarded as limited but functional space (this is Rome after all) that the interior designers have excelled themselves.

Large double (even triple) glazed windows can be adjusted to either keep out the noise from the busy area, or opened wide to allow maximum ventilation. The windows are tricky to figure out - they have double hinges which permits them to open inward (like a door) or open vertically from the top (like a dormer). One of the rooms also had a blind outside the window, which can be operated from a turnkey type of device adjacent to the window from within. This can take time to figure out, as there is no information pamphlet in the rooms.

This conveniently leads me to say that not all is rosy in the garden. Some appliances didn't work, and some electrical sockets didn't function, and in one room neither did the air-con.

Calling down to reception from the bedroom phone was a process of number elimination. A simple sticker on the phone saying "dial 9 for Reception" would have saved me a lot of bother. Neither "0" (my first logical preference), nor 1, 2, or 3 worked, and it was by pure chance that I chose "9" which connected me.

Nevertheless, I did not encounter any problems with the staff on raising the problems, and they were very efficient and willing to fix the bugs.

The elevator is a squeeze and rather slow, and four averaged size people could fit in it, although not if they have suitcases as well. The elevator is very important if you are up on the top floors, so you need to be fairly fit to use the stairs or very patient when there are queues waiting for it - for example when other guests have just checked in.

I cannot fault the staff; they are all extremely friendly and willing to provide a service. Nothing seems like a trouble to them, and they are very approachable and informative. Those on the front desk speak English and were very tolerant of my Anglo-Italiano diction.

I felt extremely comfortable and at ease in this place, and consider that I have found a gem in a great location. I'm dropping them a point because I think that they are somewhat blasé about their facilities, and at the very least they could check that appliances actually work when they prepare a room for a guest, or provide some basic advisory literature to eliminate some of the frustrations which can be encountered.

Will I stay here again? That's a resounding affirmative!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nostromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
164 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The booking had been messed up by Expedia, and we were initially shown to a shoebox on the front of the building, but once that had been cleared up with no hassle at all, and we were installed in one of the penthouse studios at the back (room 542), we loved this place. Yes, the bedroom was tiny, but we were on holidays in the Eternal City, and had no intention of spending much time there. Besides, we had a decent sized, very well appointed kitchen, and a large, bright, airy terrace, heady with the scent of Jasmine flowers, and perfect for the meals we cooked, buying the ingredients in several brilliant food stores and a market nearby. I see someone further down is moaning about the towels not being replaced; to be honest I don't know what they mean, our small but perfectly adequate bathroom had enough towels to last us the four days we were there, and yes, one of us wears makeup.

We didn't see half enough of this splendid city, and we will be back sometime this year, and we'll definitely be asking for room 542 again...

Room Tip: Rooms 541 or 542 are 'penthouse studios', meaning they have a kitchen and a terrace, as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pxyzyzygy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Great location for Vatican museum, only 10 minutes walking. About 20 min to St. Peter's square. I stayed in a two bed-room unit with two bathrooms. Nice for a small family. I stayed there two nights in the end of April 2012. Ten min to subway / underground with easy access to other Rome attractions.

I would return.

: - )

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celadeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed here with my wife for vacations. The Residence was wonderful. The apartments were spacious, clean and well-appointed. The staff are very friendly, helpful and courteous. The apartments are located in a nice residential neighborhood, with lots of shops and restaurants, just a short walk from the Cipro metro station and a ten minute walk from St. Peter's. Overall this was an excellent place to stay

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeiTmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Residence Prati
#589 of 1,256 in Rome
62 reviews
Hotel Museum
#468 of 1,256 in Rome
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Testaccio
Re Testa
Re Testa
#402 of 1,256 in Rome
253 reviews
Hotel Petra
#309 of 1,256 in Rome
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Candia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Candia

Property: Residence Candia
Address: Via Candia 135 B, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #378 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Candia 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Candia is within the sound of the Vatican bells and just a five minute stroll from the Vatican Museum (and the Sistine Chapel). Located in a quintessentially Roman neighborhood complete with cinemas, restaurants, cafes, an open-air market, and shops of all sorts. There is convenient access to city buses and the subway just a few hundred meters from the Residence Candia. Residence Candia consists of apartments that have been recently renovated and provide all comforts for a pleasant stay for just a few days or a few weeks. For the same price of a Bed & Breakfast Residence Candia provides regular hotel-level services, such as daily cleaning. Apartments are available with one(studio), two three or four rooms with the larger apartments accommodating up to eight people with multiple bathrooms. The top floor also boasts a number of penthouse suites with a beautiful view of the dome of St. Peter's Cathedral. Each apartment has its own bathroom and is equipped with kitchenette, TV(SKY), and air conditioning. On-premise parking is available free of charge for hotel guests until spaces are full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Candia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Candia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing