We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Ranked #22 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

You can never be closer to anything.

I stayed with my dad for 4 nights before I started my study abroad program here. The location could not be any better (coming from someone that's been here for 3 weeks). I live out in the suburbs now, and that location has been the meeting spot for a lot of people because of the convenience of transport. However, if you're a tourist, everything is walking distance away. I mean, EVERYTHING.

The owners were very very helpful with everything. Snack bar was priced right. Rooms were a little small for 2, but since we were out the entire time, a big room wasn't as necessary.

Basically, you get what you pay for. I can not thank them better for the first few beautiful nights in the city of Rome.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EddieCourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    170
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
173
413
36
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rheinfelden
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Located close to litteraly everything (10' to the Capitol and 5' to the Pantheon, walking) one can hardly imagine a better starting point for visiting Rome.
The rooms are decorated with love and care, giving the place a real "Roman" atmosphere. The staff is extremely friendly, kind and helpful, and will enrich the trip of novice or experienced Rome travellers with valuable tips.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimitri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar Harbor
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Our stay at Pensione Barrett began on a tip from friends, who said, like many of the reviews we read, how great a location it was for seeing Rome. They also told us to enjoy the website, which is totally unique. (another Trip Advisor reviewer noted Mr. Bean and Mickey, and they are right!) The joys of Pensione Barrett were: 1 extremely welcoming and genuinely kind hosts and staff, 2 thoughtful and personalized suggestions and maps for seeing Rome's treasures (including obscure ones, 3 our hosts' enthusiasm for and knowledge of Rome's history and culture, 4 our location inside Ancient Rome. When we arrived after our 7 hour-delayed flight, we were frazzled, but immediately on stepping into the garden-like lobby, complete with a gurgling fountain, we were welcomed like family and taken to our very comfortable room (lobby level, window away from the street). Our hosts took the time to show us how all the items in the room worked: keys, coffee/espresso machine, food locker, safe, shower, foot massage machine, etc. Enough about that...The real joysThat really helped next morning when we needed that first cup of coffee! I think I should explain more about the foodlocker/refrigerator. So many hotels have the mini bar that costs triple what the same item would be in "real life", that we have never used one. THIS hotel has practical items that are priced at or BELOW (we checked in a supermarket) what they cost to buy them on your own out in the city,! There are yogurts, sandwich making materials, cheeses, beer, fruit juices, cereal, milk all stocked. We surprised ourselves by using it quite a bit while we adjusted to the time difference AND took breaks from sightseeing or eating "out" all three meals a day. This was a nice service and we would tell anyone not to hesitate to use it. After we had stayed two nights, our two sons wanted to join us and Michele and Cinzia were so nice and arranged a room for them too. The decorations of each room were unique and fun, the housekeepers and night clerk were all friendly and helpful, and our host Michele sat with us for an hour to show us the ins and outs of viewing nearby treasures and hidden gems of his culture. Wonderful. We will stay with them again and be sure to tell friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, or on the upper floor to avoid the street noise. We were on the lower fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Central location. Excellent hosts who who went out of their way to provide information about the best attractions and eating places. They genuinely care that you enjoy your holiday. Friendly, clean and good value in our opinion. We guess the decor not to everyone's tastes but suited ours! A refreshing change to the standard one usually experiences in big cities

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuartandtrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We had a perfect honeymoon at Pensione Barrett!!! Michele and Cinzia and all the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful throughout the whole of our stay - offering us advice about sights / restaurants and things to do. The room was totally unique, comfortable and very well stocked with food, drinks and all things necessary for days out in Rome. The hotel is perfectly positioned for walking to all the must see sights of Rome and is also on the edge of the lovely jewish quarter with loads of great restaurants! The only place to stay in Rome!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hannah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

It appears everyone's said all the good things about this pensione and its owners, Michele and Cinzia, who are most welcoming, most knowledgeable and most kind. Location is superb, centrally sited for walking, taking buses or trams. The place had been recommended by an Italian friend who stays there when in Rome. It worked out perfectly for our stay! The website alone is worth checking out. Dean Martin meets Mr. Bean meets Mickey Mouse.

Room Tip: Next time I would ask for a room overlooking the ruins, but our room (with a window to the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mittim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Michele and Cinzia, the hotel owners, are amazing! During our stay, they treated us in five class style. They gave us various tips on what to eat and where, they were extremely helpful, kind and polite. We found our stay very pleasant.
The hotel is a small boutique hotel right in the centre of the old part of Rome, 5 min away from the major highlights like pantheon, piazza navona, piazza venezia, campo di fiori. Moreover it is served very well by buses & trams. The hotel is so beautiful, very artistic, cosy and comfy. There was a fantastic massage chair & foot massager in our room. Also facilities for coffee (coffee machine) & a small oven & a fully stocked fridge! Our room was kept very clean. What else could we ask for?? If I return to Rome, this is the place where I'll stay. Grazzie Michele e Cinzia e auguri da Malta!! Veronique e Maria :) :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mad-about-travellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,261 in Rome
197 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#24 of 1,261 in Rome
719 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,261 in Rome
3,553 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pensione Barrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pensione Barrett

Property: Hotel Pensione Barrett
Address: Via di Torre Argentina 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Rome
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#117 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#217 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 3 STARS Hotel with a Vintage Atmosphere, Direct View on the Roman Temples belonging to the Sacred Archeological Area of Largo Di Torre Argentina, Free Breakfast Buffet directly in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pensione Barrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Barrett Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing