We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (890)
Filter reviews
890 results
Traveller rating
655
200
18
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
655
200
18
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmassage chairfoot massagertoaster oventorre argentinacat sanctuarycoffee machineflights of stairsjet showerfully stocked fridgespa showerunique hotelno elevatorroman historywithin walking distanceheart of romecentral locationevery amenity
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 890 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We - my wife and I in our fifties, and my parents in their late seventies - stayed three nights in mid October. The owners are very friendly and considerate as well as being mines of information on everything to do with Rome. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to advise us on where to go and how to do things (they even lent us two guide books as we had fogotten our own). The only drawback is the stairs that you have to climb at the end of a long day of touring, but the rooms while fairly small (as are all the hotels in our price range in capital cities in Europe) are delightful, comfortable and fun. The foot and back massages are welcome and the shower, once you realise that it is a vertical jaccuzzi is terrific (if a little startling until you get the hang of it). We enjoyed making our own breakfast from the varied supply, and the coffee machine produced better coffee than the cafes on the street.
The hotel is three minutes walk from the Ghetto and the Kosher restaurants. Most of these are terrible and overpriced serving small portions of junk food or small portions of Italian kosher food. The exception is Yotvata - just outside the Ghetto but again very close to the hotel - we ate two very good meals there.
We walked to most of the sights as the hotel is so well situated, and if we needed a bus or tram they went from outside the door of the hotel. There is a very large book shop at the end of the street.
I have just read a very negative review of this hotel which surprises me. I want to stress - we are experienced travelers with a keen eye for appropriate and value for money accomodation. We had a great time at this hotel, we were greeted by friendly people who helped us in every way possible, and provided a clean and well maintained establishment. The rooms are very unusual - but that added to the charm. We will return and recommend the hotel to anyone who can climb the stairs (approx 30 in four sets - my parents managed and I am no superman.).

Room Tip: There are rooms on the first floor of the hotel - may parents stayed there - we climbed an extra flight)
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alandarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The reviews we read were totally justified. The location is ideal and you're well placed for several of the main locations.......Pantheon, Trevi etc. It's possible to eat really well around these attractions too....the tourist menus are excellent value . The hotel gives you some guidance on this as well. The hotel owners and staff are extremely courteous and helpful and Michele sat us down and pointed out some hidden treasures of this amazing city about which he's clearly well informed. The rooms are amazing.......so much effort has gone into their design and my daughter and partner both loved the back massage chair......a serious bit of kit! Breakfast making facilities are in place as well as a mini bar. How many hotels do you stay in where you can get a beer in your room for under a pound and a prosecco for just over? The reviews are correct. This place is superb. Book without hesitation. You'll love it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StuartGGalston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

If you want a central location in Rome, an extremely knowledgable host that is generous with information and assistance, a clean room and bath at the end of a long day touring, and a reasonable price then Pensione Barrett is perfect.

If you are juggling work demands requiring seamless Internet and cell phone coverage for working in your room this is not a good option. (unfortunately, I found myself in this frustrating situation - I know, stupid to take work on vacation but it was an emergency requiring privacy) Also, the lack of an elevator will limit guests to those who can climb stairs.

The hotel, including the rooms, are decorated in a heavy boroque, quirky style that is very charming.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mbchalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were welcomed with a map and an introduction by our most gracious host he showed us where to go to check out art work and sculptures hidden by most of the tour guides. Fantastic information, we also managed to pick up tickets for the coliseum in the no wait line. When we went there was over 500 people in line, we zipped right by. The rooms are decorated in the roman fashion and overlook a dig in the centre of Rome dating to 700 BC . We watched from our window. Even though our room was on the main drag after closing the shutters and the windows it was dark and quiet. A great place to stay when you want to walk everywhere, nothing was father than15 minutes very central, good restaurants right near by. Room are little small but we were only there to sleep.

Room Tip: If you want more quiet you can ask for an inside room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

It is a most unusual hotel. They occupy a few few floors in an old buidling with a courtyard. You must head up to the second floor for reception but do not worry because their staff will bring all your belongings upstairs. The rooms all have the feeling of ancient Rome. Exposed beams, beautiful artwork and statues in your room. The rooms have a massage chair, massage machines for your feet as well as water jets in their showers. The rooms are loaded with snacks and crossiants which inlcude a toaster to heat them as well as a refrigerator for your use. The reception area though small is loaded with fine art and statues. The owners are the best. We had trouble calling our van service as they gave us the wrong numbers. The owner sat on the phone for close to 15 minutes trying all different ways to dial it. We felt bad but they didn't mind at all. They were ready with information as to where to go and eat, as well as directions to all sites. The hotel is located in the heart of the ancient district and there are most bus lines are located within a block and they take you all over the city including a few short stops to Termini which is their main bus terminal. I msut also say thanks to Alberto, their overnight person who also was most helpful. You can take a taxi for about 60 Euros. You can also take a train from the airport to Termini and from there it is a very short ride to the hotel.
The entrance is different from other hotels. There are two big wooden doors which lead to a courtyard. You buzz the front desk and they will let you in. As you enter the courtyard there is an iron gate on the left. Buzz again and you are in the stairway leading up to the reception area. There is always someone on duty 24/7 and they hold the room key which was a plus as I didn't have to carry it all day.
Would I stay here if I visit Rome again? I wouldn't stay anywhere else! We were here from Oct.4-7

Room Tip: We had a room facing the front of the hotel. The windows are brand new and double paned. We had no problem with noise at all. A/C is extra at 10 Euros a day. We used it and it worked fine
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews