We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little hotel - great location - fantastic service”
Review of Hotel Charter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Charter
Ranked #469 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent little hotel - great location - fantastic service”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed here last Easter and would highly recommend it as a small convenient hotel.

Service was fantastic with extrmely helpful owner / staff, who went out of their way to give tourist directions and to generally be friendly.

Rooms ample (with plenty of coat hangers) - can't fault it.

Enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paulo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    51
    33
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
49
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I stayed there last October. The location was ideal close to termini station and great places to eat. The hotel room was small but comfortable for a weekend stay.
There is hot water and the people at he reception desk were kind and friendly.

Room Tip: ask for a room that faces the inner court yard, it is less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorcha1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Pinas, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

hotel is just accross termini, the room was clean, good smell, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom is nice, even the corrigidors are clean, what i like most during my stay there is the receptonist, aside that he can speak english very well, he gives you advice, where we can save more by taking different transportation and where we can buy etc, we bought our dinner at the the restaurant infront, and there's a small store with all the delicious pizza and roasted chicken near, very cheap, I stayed there with my sister last year October first week. And will stay again in Hotel Charter next time im in Rome!!! Hundred percent I will recommend to my friends, Hotel Charter!!!

Room Tip: A rooms infront of the street, so you can have a nice view of the restaurant infront and wifi are fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tes0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The hotel location is very good, close to Termini! 1 minute! Easy to reach everything.
The room is small, clean, but enough, you will do sightseeing all day so enough for the sleep!
Matraces are comfortable!
Good cafés and restaurants, shops nearby.
No breakfast included because they have no restaurant, so 2 options left: Buy someting at the shops (bread, cold meat, cheese, milk etc) or go out and have breakfast nearby.
Rome is not cheap but this hotel still worth it for the money and you have own bathroom!
If you want to stay for a few day for sightseeing, it's the best!
Of course it's not as quiet you were in a park, because it's in the city, so some nose should be expected.


To HOTEL: A smal refrigerator would be nice to store some drinks and food and a kettle to make a tea or coffee in the morning. (smart guests can figure out how to survive)

Room Tip: Maybe a very hot summer season could be problem for someone, because the have only ceiling fans and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HunyadiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Hotel is so near to Termini station which is a great location, very welcomed staff. clean rooms, Price is very good. rooms looked like the pictures when I booked.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbeerGuirguis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

First of all, I must mention that I made a reservation in a hotel nearby (hotel bergamo) however something went wrong with my reservation and I must say not their fault (booking site) and I ended up whitout a room. Actually despite my late hour of arrving (nearly midnight) the friendly receptionist arranged a room nearby in this hotel Charter. The rooms are somewhat older and could use a renovation and they are not so clean (I'm not really fond of the bedspread) but not dirty either. Sheets and floor where clean and the bathroom was clean and had everything in working order. If you consider the price compared to average hotels in Rome it's quite some value for money and the location is not bad either because you're near the Termini station and not quite far from the top tourist destinations. the staff is friendly and I would recommend this hotel to young/budget and single travellers staying for a short trip. A comment on the neighborhood...when arriving after 11pm I kind of thought it to be a bad neighborhood. Actually seeing it during day time and earlier in the evening the streets around the hotel are quite busy and lively with restaurants and tourist shops (also two supermarkets nearby) so not more unsafe then the rest of Rome. Be aware of pick pockets and some undesired solicitors (do not accept anything offered for free like wrist bands, but that's common sense and you'll find these people anywhere tourist are nowadays)

Room Tip: ask a room facing the inner court yard because Rome is quite lively up to late in the evening if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bartlanduyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

In general this hotel reflects the reviews that I’ve looked into before booking my stay. However, one disappointment was that the AC was not turned on yet (I guess they follow the calendar summer). May is not a very hot month, but our room faced the street which is very noisy at 5AM with garbage/delivery trucks. We tried to close the window, but then there was no oxygen in the room. All the other features (that I based my choice on) worked out good. Location was great: very close to train station and public transport to visit all the touristy sites (we got a pass to use all the buses/trams/subway). I guess one can walk to a lot of sites, but we are not that young anymore. The area and the 24-hour reception really made us feel safe, even though it is not a touristy zone. There was a small supermarket around the corner and a big one 3 blocks away. Internet point is a half block away. There were a variety of restaurants, nothing spectacular, but much cheaper that at all the central/touristy places. The room itself was bigger than I expected after reading the reviews (enough space for two people in a double room): big armoire (a lot of hangers), two nightstands, even a writing desk w/chair. The TV was mounted on the wall, (so it was out of the way); it had a few channels on different languages, but we usually do not watch TV when we travel. I would say there is enough space to put a mini fridge and a coffee maker (MY SUGGESTION TO THE HOTEL) since there is no breakfast. The bathroom is adequate, nice showerhead and shampoo/soap provided. The shower is small compared to US standards, but I did not mind that too much. Linens/towels get changed every 3 days. The mattress felt too hard after a while. The staff was friendly, most could speak Basic English and one can leave the luggage at reception after check out if needed. There are no stairs, but a slow lift will go up/down one floor while you have to hold the button (I got irritated by that button a few times). The rate felt expensive for me (more than I paid for a best western in Los Angeles), but I guess that’s Rome for you. I would say it can be a good stop for a night or two, but not for a vacation stay unless you used to Spartan lifestyle (or a much cheaper rate). As a final note, compared to a very similar 2-star hotel in Seville (also central location), the Charter would lose (due to no AC, hard bed, and small shower).

Room Tip: ask to see a differnt room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princess_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Capitol Roma
Hotel Capitol Roma
#611 of 1,261 in Rome
193 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#174 of 1,261 in Rome
406 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Everest Roma
Hotel Everest Roma
#402 of 1,261 in Rome
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Leone
Hotel Leone
#428 of 1,261 in Rome
57 reviews
Esquilino
Marcantonio Hotel
Marcantonio Hotel
#317 of 1,261 in Rome
216 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Teti
Hotel Teti
#271 of 1,261 in Rome
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charter

Property: Hotel Charter
Address: Via Filippo Turati 10, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #469 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Charter 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Charter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing