We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Charter
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Max Hotel(Rome)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
58
58
34
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
58
34
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstermini stationclean roomsweekend stayfriendly receptionistfree wifiperfect locationair conditionrecommend this hotelmain attractionswould definitely stay here againlovely hotelwalking distancetvnoisebusesdeskhairdryer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed here for 1 night with my husband and we're very happy with what we got. This was a part of our europe trip. We stayed here on the 12 the nov.
Roberto ensured us a comfortable check in. He was more than helpful.
Nicely located and comfortable rooms.
Very near to Roma termini.
I will come back

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BhavnaJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Small hotel close to Termini Station. Clean and simple, and comfortable. No A/C, and fan only worked on very low speed, but fortunately, it was not that hot. Friendly, helpful service, and they let us leave our bags for a few hours the morning we checked out; Good value for location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCtripSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We just returned from a budget whirlwind tour of Italy which began in Rome on 4/18. We ended up spending 3 nights total at Hotel Charter. Here is our breakdown:

Service: Roberto and Maurizio were both extremely helpful during our stay. Roberto maybe a little more-so given he spoke excellent English, where Maurizio was not nearly as fluent but still helped where he could. Neither my wife nor I are fluent in Italian, and whatever I could understand was mostly due to 5 years of Spanish (I think). Watch out for: the hotel (as I assume any other we could have stayed at in all of Rome or Italy for that matter) quite strictly enforces its tenant limit rule for their rooms. If you book a room for two, do not expect that management will allow a third person to suddenly show up and stay. While I think its clearly laid out beforehand, I think that some visitors may expect some leniency or flexibility in this rule and may be in a tough spot when they find none. Regardless, the overall level of attentiveness, helpfulness and friendliness we received from the staff at Hotel Charter warrants 5 stars.

Value: Terrific value for those on a budget. For the EUR110 or so we paid (not counting the tax) per night, I'd say it was well worth it. As a bare-bones hotel and rooms, it delivers on what it very simply promises - a good "home-base" from which to conveniently explore Rome and leaving you money to find elsewhere the pampering you may not receive in your hotel. Watch out for: This is very much a BYO-Stuff type of place because what is supplied is sparse. There's the very basic stuff, along with soap and TP in the bathroom. Beyond that, you are on your own. No toothpaste or toothbrushes, no hairdryer, no ironing equipment and certainly no mini-bar (fill your bottles at the local fountains, or buy cheaply at a small supermarket very conveniently located around the corner). Overall, I'd give value 4 stars.

Sleep Quality: The two twin beds put together were fairly comfortable, the weather was perfect so we needed neither the A/C nor thicker blankets than what was provided, the walls were rock solid and we heard no activity from the neighboring rooms, and (thank God) there were no mosquitoes and we could sleep with the windows open. However, watch out for: the fact that you are situated very close to other hotels, cafes and restaurants. The morning and evening opening and closing activities can cause quite a ruckus. We stayed at the very end room, which opened up into a central "courtyard" shared by other hotels and a restaurant I believe. In the morning, you could wake up to the sound of tables and chairs being set up and tables being set loudly, and at night you could hear dishes being thrown about as they were washed, tables and chairs scraping as they were put away, and one door VERY loudly banging closed. Thankfully, we were exhausted at the end of each day and didn't have lots of trouble falling asleep, but often we'd get woken up prematurely. 3 stars here.

Cleanliness: Since our room was pretty small and we didn't make a mess, I felt it was kept pretty clean during our stay. Got fresh towels each day, never wanted for more TP, and weren't afraid of setting our things down on any of the services. That said, we did spot some dust in less-used areas of course, and didn't feel comfortable walking around on the floor barefoot but that didn't bother us. SIdenote: The cleaning lady was super nice, and very helpful even though she spoke no English and we spoke no Italian. 4 stars here.

Location As long as you're coming into and leaving from Termini Station, this location is hard to beat for the price. It is 2-3 minute walk to the station as you walk out the front entrance of Hotel Charter. Google Maps will show you average walking times/distances to the main attractions, but we longest hike we ever had to make was approximately 45 minutes to walk 3.5km from Aventino back to the Hotel. However, as noted in "Sleep Quality", proximity to restaurants and cafes means occasional loud noises as shops opened/closed. Watch out for: those who can't handle long walks may consider a location more central to the sights they want to see and expect to pay a little more. Combine the distances, the potential heat if the weather warms up, the hilliness of the region and the cobblestone roads, this is not the easiest city to walk. But for us and our purposes, this was a 4-star location.

Rooms: mostly covered in Value, Sleep Quality and Cleanliness but I will add here that the bathroom is functional but absolutely tiny. Its definitely a one-at-a-time affair, being extremely narrow and the sink, toilet and shower in a row against the wall with maybe 4ft of clearance between the walls. You may hit your head when bending down to rinse your mouth, and showering was downright difficult. In the room itself, high ceilings made it feel bigger and airier than it really was, so it never felt claustrophobic. You got one desk, a chair, and then a very helpful low table/dresser thing to access heavier luggage. Also had a roomy cabinet/wardrobe to hang up clothes. There was a safe for valuables, a TV with all Italian channels, and the Wi-Fi functioned very well. Overall, I'd give the rooms a 3.

Room Tip: -Book early! -The Courtyard-facing rooms will be very exposed to restaurant/cafe noise as those places seem to use parts of the courtyard for storage.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed here last Easter and would highly recommend it as a small convenient hotel.

Service was fantastic with extrmely helpful owner / staff, who went out of their way to give tourist directions and to generally be friendly.

Rooms ample (with plenty of coat hangers) - can't fault it.

Enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paulo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I stayed there last October. The location was ideal close to termini station and great places to eat. The hotel room was small but comfortable for a weekend stay.
There is hot water and the people at he reception desk were kind and friendly.

Room Tip: ask for a room that faces the inner court yard, it is less noisy
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorcha1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews