We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK”
Review of Hotel Giugiu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Giugiu
Ranked #687 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Location good. Staff somewhat friendly. Very dreary and dark inside. Room was fine.
My ONLY major issue was the breakfast. I was charged 14 Euro ( 7 Euro per person) for coffee, juice, milk, and some stale bread with Nutella or butter or jam. I ate nothing and my son had 1 piece of bread with Nutella. I was hoping for that price they would at the least serve us some sliced ham and cheese or some fruit and yogurt. Very disappointed when I had to pay so much money for THAT. I could have gone downstairs to a place and paid 5 Euros for coffee, a pastry and juice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aidamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location, a short walk from both the main train station and the major city centre attractions. The hotel is on the second floor of a larger building, which was fine. The main building doorway was being refurbished during our visit, which obviously didn't look very nice for us but I can't comment on what it will look like when finished.

The room was clean and of a decent size, the bed was comfortable and the shower was fine. There were no other facilities to speak of, but we wanted to spend time out in Rome and only really wanted somewhere to leave our stuff, wash and sleep, so GiuGiu was very good for the money for us.

However, I was put off (and frankly perplexed) by the room cleaning service. We were supposed to leave our key at the the front reception in the morning so that they could clean the room and then pick it up again in the evening. This would have been fine if this was a 24 hour manned reception desk, but when we returned at about 22:00, all the keys were just laid out on the desk and could have been accessed by anyone. Usually (but not always) the owner would hear us entering the lobby and come out. This would have been more acceptable if the room had a safe to leave valuables in, but it didn't, so I refused to leave my key at the front desk and therefore the maid could not visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidJohnMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

After being in Europe 3rd week in a row I accepted that the hotel rooms and bathroom sizes are small comparing to North America which Im used to. But this hotel had quite a big room size. Bathroom was tiny but it's Europe, what i can say. The whole our stay was good, the location is so convenient for both sightseeing and catching the train at the Termini station. The only issue was that we had no idea how to control air conditioning with that remote control so I ended up with freezing during the night. But it was our fault. I was pushing all those buttons trying to make it warmer and suddenly TV was turning on (have no idea why).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvaPopova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Thanks, we had a pleasant stay at Giugiù Hotel. Very nice location - close to Via Cavor and Termini station, Basilica Santa Maria degli Angeli, WALKING DISTANCE FROM TREVI FONTAIN
HOTEL IS SMALL, BUT CLEAN

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank InnaROME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This hotel was a nightmare and don't deserve even 3 stars from trip advisor. We chose this hotel from the good reviews and nice pictures. But during our stay, the light at lobby never on. The hotel was dark and cold especially inside our room. We never see the bright and nice lobby as in the pictures because of no light. It was rain and about 10 c outside, we asked the owner to turn on the heater because it was uncomfortable chilling in room that we had to put our sweater on. But they refused with the excuse of season and offered more blanket. How can we walk around with the blanket especially after the shower. There was no soft towel provided but something like table clothes..4 pieces..in the bathroom. The room is big though but considered too big if compare to an old 14" box TV hanging up on the ceiling. The hotel is on 2nd floor and we can clearly hear the noise from the street below. There was no breakfast provided at the rate we paid. Luckily that we can book a much nicer 4 stars hotel nearby - even closer to the main station - with full breakfast line at the same rate on the next day. We almost had to pay for one night without staying at this Hotel Giugiu as they had cancelled our booking when we just asked for cancellation policy. However, they were still kind enough to give us a room for a night that they already charged to my credit card after long negotiation. And they still said "it was not our mistake but we manage to book a room".. ..Thank you Sir!!! but we will never stay at your hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PiaSUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgiugiu, Direttore at Hotel Giugiu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Customer,

I want remind to you that you have booked a 1 star hotel through the portal venere.com .... unfortunately it was you who failed to interpret the evaluation of TRIPADVISOR and not our staff, on our official website has reported 1 star hotel and APT (Azienda Promozionale per il Turismo) is 1 star hotel. Also you have not respected the cancellation policy and for this the first night has been charged.
In April 2012 the climatic temperatures were around 22 ° ... unthinkable to turn the radiators.
The next time, you need to read more information on the web before you accuse a disservice.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We highly recommend this nice hotel. The room was perfect. The staff/owners are fantastic.
Stay here if it is available.

Örjan och Eva Sjölin
Hjo
Sweden

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Orjan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Staff is friendly but the room facilities is poor. Cold with temperature less than 10 celcius at night!! Small shower place. The basic facilities sockets only have two [one is in the bathroom & one is sharing with the small (14') tv near the ceiling]..

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yahoo_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgiugiu, Manager at Hotel Giugiu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2011

Dear Customer,

we're really sorry you did not you felt comfortable in our hotel.
We want to remind you that in the month of April / May in Rome there were about 25 ° and then was unthinkable turn on the radiators (unnecessary power consumption and environmental pollution). Our receptionist has given you some blankets as soon as you've reported the problem.
We want to remind you that in your room there were fewer than 2 power sockets, if you wanted more services you could book a 5-stars hotel, we want to remind you that we are a 1 star hotel standard.

Sincerely,

FERRARO CATERINA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Principe Amedeo
Hotel Principe Amedeo
#481 of 1,270 in Rome
159 reviews
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#441 of 1,270 in Rome
559 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#706 of 1,270 in Rome
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Marcantonio Hotel
Marcantonio Hotel
#339 of 1,270 in Rome
231 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#169 of 1,270 in Rome
425 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Seiler
Hotel Seiler
#873 of 1,270 in Rome
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giugiu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giugiu

Address: Via del Viminale 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £40 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Giugiu 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Giugiu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giugiu Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing