We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is excellent, staff are lovely”
Review of Hotel Ivanhoe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ivanhoe
Ranked #246 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location is excellent, staff are lovely”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We had four night here and although the rooms aren't modern or fancy they are clean and have lots of storage. Small bathroom yes, but acceptable. Good breakfast. Location very handy and loads of restaurants nearby as well as being five minutes from the colloseum and not far from others. The roof terrace is lovely but what was so great were the staff. I was unwell for one day and they brought up breakfast, bought us a kettle after my partner went down for some tea and were just generally lovely. Thanks, never fun being unwell abroad but they made it as homely as possible.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie29_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoDePropris, Proprietario at Hotel Ivanhoe, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
It was a real pleasure to welcome you at Hotel Ivanhoe.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us! We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Hotel Ivanhoe, Arrivederci La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    297
    79
    14
    11
See reviews for
69
305
57
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holstebro, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A very central conveniently place hotel Winther excellent staff and service. Who are extremely helpful.
A perfekt hotel for visit to Rome. All in all a very good experience and god value for mony.

10 min walk from the Colosseum, nearby to Cavour metro stop, 10 minute walk from Termini station), beautiful roof top terrace.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Claus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoDePropris, Proprietario at Hotel Ivanhoe, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Ivanhoe for you stay and we appreciate that you took the time to share your comments. It is very important for us as it acts as an indicator of how we are performing.

Rest assured that I have shared your kind words with our team which, I am sure, will be a great encouragement for all of our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, Arrivederci La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Four of us (two middle aged couples!) stayed at Hotel Ivanhoe last month. We had a wonderful time in enchanting Rome made perfect by the helpful staff & great location of the hotel. Other than the really tiny bathroom we loved everything about it;the lovely rooftop terrace is a real asset, as are Fancesca & Danilo in reception who were charming & helpful at all times.If we return to Rome in the future this is where we will head for and would recommend other to do the same.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoDePropris, Proprietario at Hotel Ivanhoe, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind feedback, it was a pleasure to make your stay in Rome pleasure.

Rest assured I'm passing your words to my staff, they fuel our passion and make us want to improve everyday.

Hope to see you soon again, arrivederci La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Friendly and helpful staff, tasty continental breakfast, great location (10 min walk from the Colosseum, nearby to Cavour metro stop, 10 minute walk from Termini station), beautiful roof top terrace. Only downside was that the rooms and bathrooms were very small. But all in all a great stay!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoDePropris, Proprietario at Hotel Ivanhoe, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your kind feedback.

It has been a pleasure for us to have you as our guest in our wonderful city, please be assured I have shared your words with my team, this is what motivates us to grow and improve.

Arrivederci at your home in Rome, La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A very conveniently place hotel with excellent staff who are extremely helpful. An ideal hotel for a short visit to Rome. Don't expect 5 Star facilities but all in all a very good experience and good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Black58rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoDePropris, Proprietario at Hotel Ivanhoe, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
It was a real pleasure to welcome you at the Hotel Ivanhoe.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us! We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again, arrivederci La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Husband and I chose Hotel Ivanhoe as it was top of 3 star hotels by Expedia. We were even more delighted than expected. The room was small but spotless, breakfast varied and plenty. The staff, on reception Danilo, Francesca and Cristiana were so friendly and helpful. Leonardo in the restaurant was the same.
Would definitely stay there again.
Oh and one very important fact, the rooms were double glazed!

Room Tip: We slept fine on the 4th floor, room 45 but that might be too near the lift for some light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malsy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoDePropris, Proprietario at Hotel Ivanhoe, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Ivanhoe.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
Rest assured that I have shared your kind words with our team which, I am sure, will be a great encouragement for them.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again in Rome, Arrivederci La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband & I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Hotel Ivanhoe. After reading a few previous reviews I went with an open mind and have to say that we were both pleasantly surprised.
I had followed suggestions from another post, which advised that I emailed the hotel requesting a private transfer to the hotel. We did this before leaving and received a very speedy reply from Dimitri, confirming the transfer service. It cost 50 euros, which is good value for a private driver to pick you up from the airport and take you straight to the hotel, especially when an ordinary taxi was 48 euros anyway.
The hotel was as we had expected, a reasonable sized room with a double bed. The shower is a little small, however it wasn't enough to make too much of a comment as we hardly spent much time in the room or shower when the wonderful city of Rome is on the doorstep. The breakfast was more than enough with fresh croissants, fruit, meats, cereals & much more. On the first day Christina, who was very lovely, gave us a map of the city and highlighted a few popular sight seeing areas and what the best routes were to take. This was brilliant as we could see from the map that the location of the hotel was right on the doorstep to most of the attractions.
Before mentioning a few tips of places to visit I would like to make a special announcement for Dimitri! What a fantastic gentleman! During the early evening when returning from a fully day of sight seeing he offered us some delicious home made cookies!! Each night he greeted us with a huge smile and another cookie. The best of all was that Dimitri recommended some restaurants very close to the hotel giving us a 10% discount card. The restaurants recommended where absolutely fantastic, the food was delicious, the service was fabulous and even without the discount the price for the dinner was very reasonable. So I would like to say a huge thank you for recommending the restaurants, and for our pleasant stay.

I would like to leave a few tips to those who are visiting Rome for the first time. The restaurants and bars around the Via Cavour road are very reasonable and have some great staff. If you can, avoid dinning around the Vatican and Casteli area, or expect to pay high prices (2 sandwiches, an ice tea and 1 beer cost 35 euros!.)
People complained about the queues for the Colosseum, but we went around 5pm and there was no queue at all, especially as the weather is so good in Rome at the moment there is no need to go early, you are still able to see everything.
There is just one more thing, be careful who you ask to take a picture, around there Trevi fountain there are some people who offer to take your picture, take them and then want you to pay them for taking it, these people are also the ones trying to sell you roses for over the odds.

I'm sure you will have a great time staying at the hotel Ivanhoe, we sure did and if we return to Rome we will definitely stay here again! Ciao.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vixie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoDePropris, Proprietario at Hotel Ivanhoe, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments concerning your recent stay with us.

We are working very hard to ensure that all of our valued guests are completely satisfied and I am glad to know that you really enjoyed your time here and that you will come back home with pleasant memories.
Rest assured that I have shared your encouraging words with my team.

Hoping to welcome you soon, Arrivederci La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#235 of 1,257 in Rome
1,161 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#363 of 1,257 in Rome
562 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#99 of 1,257 in Rome
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#97 of 1,257 in Rome
271 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#335 of 1,257 in Rome
409 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#80 of 1,257 in Rome
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ivanhoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivanhoe

Property: Hotel Ivanhoe
Address: Via Dei Ciancaleoni 49 | Via Urbana 92a, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#136 Business Hotel in Rome
#193 Family Hotel in Rome
#266 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ivanhoe 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ivanhoe Rome is a cosy and comfortable 3 star hotel where travelers will find all the amenities they require at great prices as well as elegant and genuinely good quality internal design, modern fixtures and home comforts – all in a great location in an old Roman neighbourhood in the city centre.The hotel is a short walk from the Colosseum and the Imperial Forums and few steps from the metro that will take you to the remaining sites easily reached using the city’s public transport system.Located in Monti, Rome’s first district, full of hidden surprises and without a doubt, the “most Roman”. It is a gathering spot for budding artists, where traditional shops are flanked by neo-designer shops, vintage boutiques and organic markets. The 24 guest rooms are fitted with telephone and free Wi-Fi Internet, air-conditioning, minibars and cable TV, focusing on quiet and comfort rather than gadgetry. Guest services are often attended to by 24 h hotel staff. We focus on the guest and on offering our services in a comfortable, intimate, and welcoming setting.Privilege reserved for our guests is the use of the rooftop terrace where you can relax before dinner while enjoying the wonderful view and a tasty aperitif or where to start your day with a delicious breakfast when the weather permits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ivanhoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivanhoe Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing