We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service”
Review of Hotel Ivanhoe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ivanhoe
Ranked #290 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Hotel Ivanhoe is located very close to ancient Rome (e.g. Coliseum) and the main train station. It is tucked away in a location away from the main traffic areas. We enjoyed walking through this community even in the early evening. We felt quite safe. Its staff are very friendly and helpful. They provide you with maps and helpful hints on accessing sites. They provide a great breakfast buffet with specialty coffees (very good indeed!) and some cook to order items included. We chose the hotel for the location, price and the advice from others that it provided a clean, basic room (so we were aware of the shower issue). Hotel Ivanhoe delivered on our expectations.

The shower is small but more interesting is that it is two tiered with a lower section of the tub under the shower head. We had just spent 12 days on a cruise so we were used to limited space in a shower. However, some people might find this two tiered system disconcerting especially if they have balance issues.

Our bed was two singles pushed together (a common approach in Europe). You could feel the springs on the edges of the mattress. Normally this would be problematic. However, I slept well during our stay. We were very busy every day and that may have allowed me to overlook this issue?

People who are looking for luxury or perhaps are in Rome for a longer period (we stayed 3 nights) may wish to look elsewhere but you will pay way more as well. For people like us who have very basic needs the Hotel Ivanhoe was ideal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Belkpott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoDePropris, Proprietario at Hotel Ivanhoe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your kind and sincere words.

We love to be able to complete our wonderful and unique location with a warm and professional service.
Please be certain I will share your feedback with my team, this will make them very satisfied!
Being in the heart of Rome make us work around spaces and we are happy you enjoyed the room and the possibility to really live the local life and you didn't spend too much time in the bathroom.

Hoping to welcome you soon in Rome, a presto La Direzione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

The stand out feature of the hotel is their staff. Each one I encountered was wonderfully friendly and helpful. We had some fantastic help on our first night and the receptionist took the time to highlight absolutely loads of attractions, bars and restaurants. She also explained the benefits of the Roma Pass (a must, they're wonderful).

It's got a set back entrance, but it's not that hard to find - but I recommend picking up a map first or using your phone to get your initial bearings, especially if you arrive at night. It's very close to everything. The Colosseum is minutes away, and this is ideal for a late night stroll, and you can see the altar of the fatherland if you venture a couple of minutes away. Plus, if you want something quick to eat there are a multitude of restaurants near by from a quick pizza place to a sit down meal. There are some wonderful shops up and down Via Urbana as well.

Really enjoyed the relaxed breakfast, we went down towards the end a couple of mornings and there was always plenty left.

Yeah the bathrooms are small, but you know what they're manageable. Beds were fine, mine was a zip and link, but to be honest, it wasn't that bad to sleep on. Lovely views, and didn't hear a peep from the other rooms. It felt like we were the only guts there. There's a lovely roof top terrace to enjoy.

On our last night there was a massive storm and the power went out. When we made it down stairs in the morning they were knocking down a wall to restore it. We didn't notice until we were on the ground floor. The staff couldn't have been more apologetic, even though it wasn't anything that could have been prevented. They held our luggage for the day whilst we went out, and were happy to chat to us whilst we killed some time in the rooms.

They have a policy of not letting you leave the hotel with your keys, which might seem a little odd, but considering all the pick pocketing that's reported it's a good idea. Plus, no fumbling for keys after a long day, just grab them on your way in.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoDePropris, Proprietario at Hotel Ivanhoe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Love to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

That's what we work for…My young team is so eager to make your holiday special and genuine and they will be so proud of your comment.

As you said, the bathrooms are small, but we really hope that our guest won't spend in them too much time, Rome is waiting out there!

I am so glad you liked the breakfast, our guys make everything fresh to fuel your day out and about in the city.

A presto, La Direzione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

It may be strange to give a "very good" rating to a hotel with very firm mattresses and ancient, tiny bathrooms, but Hotel Ivanhoe makes up for those things in other ways. The service is excellent. Our first night was in a room with a miniscule bathroom. They changed our room right away to a more comfortable room when we requested it for the remainder of our stay. The staff is very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Service goes a long way with me. The location is very good for restaurants. Non C'e Trippa Pe Gatti and Sciue Sciue area few steps away from the hotel's front door. 60 seconds in either direction for fantastic meals. And the Cavour metro is on the same small street as Ivanhoe, less than two minutes away. Breakfast is very good as well.

Room Tip: Avoid room 16 at all costs. Room 22 was much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wino35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoDePropris, Proprietario at Hotel Ivanhoe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

It was a real pleasure to welcome you at the Ivanhoe.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us.
We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Hotel Ivanhoe.

Arrivederci, La Direzione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Hotel Ivanhoe, We love to walk so were able to walk to all the highlights of Rome as well as enjoy comfortable evenings in the neighborhood around the hotel. The staff was so helpful and pleasant. And we loved the homemade cookies at the reception. Our room was clean and perfect us. The only challenge was the shower/ tub.
Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoDePropris, Proprietario at Hotel Ivanhoe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

It was a real pleasure to welcome you at the Ivanhoe and we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!

We would like to thank you for these wonderful comments and congratulations for our services .

We look forward to welcome you again very soon; it will be a real pleasure to have another opportunity to welcome you.

Arrivederci, La Direzione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Via Urbana is one of those beautiful, historic, pedestrian cobble stone streets in Rome. So you have to know how to get there. The Hotel Ivanhoe has a private, almost hidden terrace at its entrance, set back off the street. Everyone who works there treats you like you are their personal guest. They give directions, suggestions, and take time to make your stay great.

It is about 3 blocks from the coliseum and Roman forum.

I had a really fun time with the night desk manager, I think named Alberto (?), who is just incredibly funny and charming. Really made my stay. He mixed a late night cocktail and entertained my with humorous stories, and he was one of the most interesting and memorable people I met on my trip to Rome.

There is an old Roman fountain right outside the hotel to fill up your water bottle. There are lovely shops all along Via Urbana, and everything you need, and good restaurants all within one block.

My room was small, but very comfortable. Some of the furniture in the lobby is a bit worn, but very stylish and comfortable. All in all, it was an incredible value!

Room Tip: The single rooms are small, so if you like a larger room, get a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoDePropris, Proprietario at Hotel Ivanhoe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you very much for choosing the hotel Ivanhoe and for taking the time to share your comments concerning your recent stay with us. We strive to provide exceptional service; therefore your feedback is exceedingly important as it acts as an indicator of how we are doing.

Rest assured that I have shared your kind words with our team; I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to provide all of our guests with the quality of service in which we take great pride.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travel plans include Roma.

Arrivederci, La Direzione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Very many thanks for a warm and welcoming stay at the Ivanhoe for myself and my partner. This hotel was recommended to us by a friend and was indeed a correct one. From the point of our arrival until our departure six days later the staff were most friendly. The home-baked cookies at reception were an extra treat. Breakfast was quite sufficient. We would agree with other comments here that the bedroom was rather on the small side, including the bathroom. A modern make-over of both without losing the old Italian charm would improve things. Rather an odd and out-of-date bath which could easily be replaced with a shower to help the small space available. The location is ideal, placed right in the old heart of everyday roman life and close to all necessary transport connections. We would certainly recommend this establishment further. Richard & Jörg

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoDePropris, Proprietario at Hotel Ivanhoe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Richard & Jörg,

Your kind words fire us to keep working to make your stay full of good memories.
Rest assured I have shared the with my whole team, they are passionate about what we do.

Hope to welcome you soon again, Arrivederci La Direzione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Hotel Ivanhoe was a good choice for our mother-daughter stay in Rome, September 8 -16. They were very helpful and responsive during the booking process. I would definitely recommend the car service at the airport, because after a long flight, the convenience of a personal pickup was worth its weight in gold! The hotel is just off the main street, and was so centrally located that we were easily able to walk to all major sites. Front desk staff, in particular Dimitri, were helpful with directions and recommendations, The surrounding neighbourhood was safe and interesting to explore with local restaurants and shops. Our room itself, although small, was charming and clean, clean, clean!!! The breakfast buffet on the rooftop terrace was such an enjoyable way to start the day and more than sufficient to get you going. I valued the personal service offered here and feel that we experienced a little more flavour of Italy than we would have in one of the larger hotel chains available. I would not hestitate to recommend this hotel or to return here ourselves one day! Thank you for adding to the incredible charm of Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsuppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoDePropris, Proprietario at Hotel Ivanhoe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words.

I am so pleased you and your family enjoyed our Roman flavor, this is exactly the experience we want to create, as they say when in Rome...

Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon in your home in Rome, Arrivederci La Direzione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#338 of 1,269 in Rome
423 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#94 of 1,269 in Rome
927 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#95 of 1,269 in Rome
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#132 of 1,269 in Rome
1,117 reviews
Monti
The K Boutique Hotel
The K Boutique Hotel
#747 of 1,269 in Rome
18 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#101 of 1,269 in Rome
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ivanhoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivanhoe

Address: Via Dei Ciancaleoni 49 | Via Urbana 92a, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#136 Business Hotel in Rome
#193 Family Hotel in Rome
#266 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £54 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ivanhoe 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ivanhoe Rome is a cosy and comfortable 3 star hotel where travelers will find all the amenities they require at great prices as well as elegant and genuinely good quality internal design, modern fixtures and home comforts – all in a great location in an old Roman neighbourhood in the city centre.The hotel is a short walk from the Colosseum and the Imperial Forums and few steps from the metro that will take you to the remaining sites easily reached using the city’s public transport system.Located in Monti, Rome’s first district, full of hidden surprises and without a doubt, the “most Roman”. It is a gathering spot for budding artists, where traditional shops are flanked by neo-designer shops, vintage boutiques and organic markets. The 24 guest rooms are fitted with telephone and free Wi-Fi Internet, air-conditioning, minibars and cable TV, focusing on quiet and comfort rather than gadgetry. Guest services are often attended to by 24 h hotel staff. We focus on the guest and on offering our services in a comfortable, intimate, and welcoming setting.Privilege reserved for our guests is the use of the rooftop terrace where you can relax before dinner while enjoying the wonderful view and a tasty aperitif or where to start your day with a delicious breakfast when the weather permits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ivanhoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivanhoe Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing