We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Find Budget [One-Star] Hotels”
Review of Hotel Katty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Katty
Ranked #509 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Find Budget [One-Star] Hotels”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Katty Hotel, Via Palestro 35, Rome April 13th to 15, 2014

From the Hotel Katty to the nearest metro [Castro Pretorio] is just three blocks and to the nearest Taxi Stand four blocks. Both are easy flat walks even with my somewhat limited mobility. The combination of metro and taxi gave us easy access to all the sites of Rome and we used both means of transport extensively. In addition it was less than a 10 minute walk to Termini Station.

Our hotel room [on the 5th floor] was large and adequately equipped. While the bed was a bit hard - no, let’s make that very hard - we slept well. There was no discernable street noise or noises from other rooms. The main room had tile floors, a flat-screen TV, air-conditioning, an armoire, refrigerator, end tables a chair and a double shuttered window with a pleasant rooftop view. The room had adequate lighting.

The bathroom was very adequate and hot-water was always available when we needed it. For safer access there should be a grab bar in the shower but admittedly only a minority of European hotels seem to have one. The bathroom was one step-up from the main room and that I viewed as a safety hazard.

Our room felt very secure. Quadruple deadbolts on the door [I wish I had the equivalent at home] along with a fifth floor location and a vintage appearing elevator. The elevator is of a design from the 1930's; albeit, it is probably actually quite new. It handles 2 people plus 3 suitcases or 3 people max. Fun! And for our stay it was reliable. Truly you will feel like you are staying in a setting from the past. A potential drawback to the elevator is that if someone doesn’t close both doors completely upon exiting it, the elevator will not move and the next person will have to locate the elevator and manually close the doors before it does move.

-Breakfast is across the street at a small café. It was minimal [coffee and large croissant] but adequate. A nice sit-down setting in a cafe/bar.

Though we always had a very strong signal I was unable to access the Wi-fi with my new Samsung Galaxy Tab 3. This was a problem that I encountered a number of times in Europe. Apparently many sites have a protocol that the Tab 3 [mine at least] was unable to access. I intend to follow-up with Samsung.

Staff: The staff was attentive to our needs, friendly and knowledgeable. While a bit short on English we were very pleased with the service we received and hope to have the opportunity to return to this hotel in the future. Our room was immaculate, bright [important to me] and properly supplied and serviced. It’s a find among budget hotels. IMHO it is a four to five star among the one-star hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WDG123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    106
    29
    18
    2
See reviews for
61
81
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

First off, great location, well priced for location, and near the train station. It's a budget hotel for those who choose to see Rome and not spend all their time in the hotel. They make up your room every day with fresh towels. There was a day when we didn't service, we came back with fresh towels anyway. We stayed during the New Year's week... I cannot exclaim anymore of how great the price was. It's not in the heart of Rome, very quiet and not too much traffic. I gave it a only 4 stars because the manager or possibly the owner was strict on the 11 a.m. check out time. She wasn't budging on it. However, all in all, the place was worth it! I would come here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaExplorer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Just a few Mounties from termini so easy to get to everything, though quite far to walk to the main sights. We had a quadruple room whichever as pretty comfortable. Tiny bathroom. Breakfast was just a pastry and coffee so wasn't enough to fill you up, but generally a good experience.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham,UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Just had 3 days in this hotel and not disappointed.

We used Terravision shuttle £8 return from Fiumicino - 5 minutes, which drops you off at Termini station. Cross the road and the via Marghera is on the left. Walk up and take 4th left and it's a few blocks up. There's a lift to 4th floor and room is as on the photos. Owner was happy for us to drop bags off early and leave then there on our last day. The free handy A3 street map blotter is all you need to get around. There's no fridge in a lockable cupboard but no kettle - we took our own. Only minor criticism was a rather dirty unused soap dispenser on the shower wall and a bit of mould on the grouting, but that's what happens I guess when you build a small enclosed shower rom into an old bedroom and guests turn the fan/light off and lock in the steam. There's a Spar open 7 days 7am to 9pm just by the drop off point at Termini and is well stocked incl fresh bread rolls. Breakfast is a coffee and croissant/pastry across the street. (We got 2 buns on Sunday, so not sure what is normal). We ate at No 39, but further down and on the other side of the street is Taverna Pretoriana which had house red at 6Euro a litre. Both good value for money and OK quality. Get Colusseum tickets at Palattino 12Eu for both and we walked straight in to both. No queues at Sistine chapel on Monday which is meant to be a busy day. Queued 30 mins to get past security for Basilica. Hop on/off departs from Termini and 48 hours is good value. Not sure, but you may be able to get tickets at Hotel. We definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had room 201, and I did hear snoring from adjacent room, but no street noise as it overlooked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights, I selected this place is because it's closed to Termini station. It only took us 10mins to arrive it.
Unfortunately, I didn't check trip advisor before I booked it. As said by other reviewer in below, there is a timer of bathroom and bed room lights. Personally, it's quite scaring in a strange environment, and the light turn off suddenly when you are having shower. Luckily, my husband turned on it again.
Another thing, this hotel does allow washing cloths, it's not convenient for me. Again, if I know it when I booked the hotel, I will take it in consideration.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oystermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katty035, Proprietario at Hotel Katty, responded to this review, 11 December 2015
We are sorry, but the rule about clothes washing is because people sometimes use the room as a laundry! And we find that they wash everything: t-shirt, jeans etc.., not simply underwear or a pair of socks (for example). If all the customers make so, there can be a problem of water in the hotel.
If the customer want to wash more things, he/she can go in a laundry in the same street and it has good prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The room was really clean. It was a 5-7 minutes walk to the Termini station. They give you a voucher for breakfast in a nearby cafe. A cake and coffee, so it might not be really filling. The area is safe. And you can get a hair dryer for no additional cost if you ask. We were able to leave the luggage in the lobby the day of checkout, so that was good. It's good value for money. I will definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vinaya6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This hotel has a perfect location. its 10 min walk from the Termini and if you book the corner room ion the top floor you get a good view. I requested the corner room (based on a review from a previous traveller) and I appreciate the hotel staff respected my choice and booked me in that room. Room 111 is ideal.
Overall a decent place.

Room Tip: Choose room 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DesiinEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#183 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#236 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Azzurra
Hotel Azzurra
#479 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel il Papavero
Hotel il Papavero
#977 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#440 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Hotel Castle
#152 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Katty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Katty

Property: Hotel Katty
Address: Via Palestro, 35, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#84 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#173 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Katty 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Katty, 1 star, located downtown Rome just a few steps from Termini Station, is an hotel offering a comfortable and clean ambience, with reasonable prices and in an ideal location for exploring the Eternal City. The services offered by the Hotel Katty include reception open from h. 8.00 a.m. to h. 11.00 p.m., with autonomous management of room keys; free Wi-Fi connection in rooms and in common areas; free baggage storage; a basic italian breakfast, included in the price of room, in a new and cozy cafeteria located in front of the hotel(on request it's possible to have a complete american breakfast with an extra of euros 7,00 per person per day); and a very friendly staff at complete disposal for any kind of request or need to make holidays in Rome unforgettable. The shuttle service from and to the airport is available upon request. Near the hotel you can find also private parking, laundromat, internet point, cafeterias, restaurants, supermarkets and banks. From the hotel you can easily reach the main attractions, as Piazza della Repubblica, the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore, the Colosseum, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Villa Borghese and the famous shopping streets of the Capital. Nearby there are several embassies and consulates, the Hospital Policlinico Umberto I, the La Sapienza University and the National Library. Hotel Katty offers 18 comfortable and bright rooms, recently renovated, with simple and homely atmosphere. There are several room sizes which can accommodate from 1 to 5 people, meeting needs of anyone who comes in Rome alone, for study or work purposes, as couple, for a romantic weekend, as a group, for a stay with friends/family. All the rooms have their own private bathroom with shower, air conditioning, TV LCD, minirefrigeretor and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Katty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katty Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing