We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL”
Review of Hotel Marechiaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Marechiaro
Ranked #901 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Awful reception. Personnel was rude and unfriendly.....and not clean.
I was helping a friend bring the luggage up to the room and was denied access!
The so called hotel seemed more like a meeting place for prostitutes....AND it is not in the historical center of Rome, it is 50 meters from the train station.

Stayed: May 2011
6  Thank jugoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2010

Rude, unhelpful staff that threatened to call the Police if we did not pay the full rate upfront ... This is one hotel you do not want to stay in !!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RomeVisitor2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We arrived, and in our usual jovial Australian enthusiasm, despite the scum we had to walk past to get to reception, announced we were checking in for 4 nights! "No English" was the reply, and with folded arms he stared at us blankly. This was the beginning of the nightmare... Don't use the phone they charged my friend in excess of 100euros for calls that didn't even connect! They wouldn't give us our room key until the phone was paid. You are not allowed to have a room key when you leave to site see, so your personal belongings are always accessible to staff. I have absolutely nothing positive to say about this place. Oh that is a lie - We weren't raped and killed!!!! Believe the bad reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JaynePfingst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

If you just wanted a bed for the night this would be fine.

On the other hand, if you just wanted a bed for the night you could expose yourself to a policeman, get a much better bed for the night (in the Police Station), a much better breakfast and, all in all, it would probably be cheaper.

There is nothing to recommend this hotel.....

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank grenners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

DISGUSTING and DIRTY. unwilling, unhelpful Staff.
If your room is on the first floor you'll have the same regrets as me and all my friends.

We refused to go into the bathroom. toilet and shower were one, its the same as walking into a dirty public toilet to have a shower.it was purely revolting. the first night we wanted to leave. we checked other hotels. There are many others! draws had hair in them.

my bed was completely broken as was my friends.

Breakfast is 1 small bread bun, pretty hard probably because it was air dried.

staff were unhelpful, rude, intimidating, occasions we heard shouting and swearing. Even wen asked simple questions, each member of staff gave different pricing for the rooms, 19 40 and 70 euro.

there are many more hotels in the same building, which i would gladly check into, if you really have to check into this hotel their second floor is decent, But doesn't account for their rudeness, dirtiness and lack of service, lets face it, hospitality, cleanliness and decent service are essential which this hotel is a far cry from.

did i mention the prostitution outside the hotel?

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RahinAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Proximité transports
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Léa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eak0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#873 of 1,269 in Rome
112 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Bergamo
Hotel Bergamo
#1,027 of 1,269 in Rome
164 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Everest Roma
Hotel Everest Roma
#431 of 1,269 in Rome
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Capitol Roma
Hotel Capitol Roma
#621 of 1,269 in Rome
204 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Charter
Hotel Charter
#467 of 1,269 in Rome
144 reviews
Esquilino
Caput Mundi
Caput Mundi
#864 of 1,269 in Rome
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marechiaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marechiaro

Address: Via Gioberti 30, Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #901 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £36 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Marechiaro 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MARECHIARO is a two stars superior category-hotel. It is located in a Twentieth century Umbertino style palace between Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica and is close to Termini Station (30 meters walking). You can reach the main city monuments in few minutes walks. Buses and Metro are available at any direction.The atmosphere of the house is peaceful. The 'family' management has been offering stays for pilgrims, tourists, families,groups of adults and students... for more than 60 years. The Hotel is clean, safe, modern and comfortable and is ideal for short stays in the Capital. We are able to give to our guests special services for their Roman holidays. We shall be glad to welcome small pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Marechiaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marechiaro Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing