We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shower over the toilet and the sink”
Review of Hotel Marechiaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Marechiaro
Ranked #919 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We lived there 3 th person in the room that close to trainstation. Very noisy room, you can not sleep there, very hot room you can not sleep there and in the end there is no shower cabin. instead of it they got shower over the toilet ans the sink . The water in flows on the floor...terrible. No sleep no normal shower. We asked other room they said we need to pay extra bc the room with shower cabin and the view not in the noisy road is superior room. I argueing bc I am so tired how italian tried to have a bit more money all the time..in restaurants, in caffe etc. I used to live in it for a while and I see the difference when you are tourist and not. They said that they had the photo of the bathroom on the site where I booked it. But I chacked it. on the photo that they got you hardly can understand the plan of bathroom. I did not have idea that is possible showering over the toilet. my mom did not like Rome bc of conditions like that. We moved to other room after long talk with receptionist. But they were happy to keep our bags while we travelled in other cities, for that I can say them thanks.

Room Tip: superior room ONLY (thats in the fact normal simple room with shower cabin and toilet.) otherwise yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

Central location close to Rome Termini, train and bus stations. Room was good for the price. Staff was kind of rude when I received a call from the states (I was told by my husband he was given an attitude). Other than that it was comfortable for a day and a half (one night) until my train to Florence schedule I was able to explore some of the mos interesting points of Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaryAr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

is almost 100m from termini station with good connections from/to both rome airports,you can go wherever you want in rome with bus or metro,no waisting of time for transportations,also wherever you are in rome all the busses in a few minutes go to termini,clean rooms,small bathrooms but in very good prices when you get an offer,price rate when there is an offer 35-50e,the hotel is located in a 6 floor building and has not a reception in front of the road ,you have to go up to the 2 floor where there is the reception,many rooms are rennovated a year ago
important notice;the hotel is closed from 1-6 at the morning

Room Tip: select a room facing the backyard especially at summer because of the noise in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charalampos s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Good location to reach airport, to rent a car, to explore Rome by foot. Clean rooms and bathroom although very small in size. Was quite weird to keep opened windows as were not possible to reduce the heat. And, yes, that is very noisy if your windows goes to the street. I liked comfortable bed, English speaking staff. In overall good value for the money spent

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rimkiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Hotel is in an Ideal location for the metro etc. and 2 minutes away from Termini station. There are plenty of nice restaurants nearby. The road is very noisy if you leave the window open. The windows are good insulators of the noise if they are closed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Great friendly, helpful staff, good English, for safety you leave key at desk when you leave, get it upon return and the staff buzzes you onto your floor, 3 min walk to termini, typical Europe hotel, free wifi, 8 eu additional for breakfast. Very very clean. Uses special Rome electric adapter avail nearby 5/6 eu. Lots of food nearby. Great base for sight seeing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Marechiaro for four days in the high heat of July. The accommodation was clean and well kept, the staff were friendly and spoke good English and the location was so ideal for tourists! You literally roll out of bed and into the Termini station where there's access to tour buses, the Metro, the overground train and normal buses making all of the sights in Rome, easily accessible.
Air conditioning was available but at 10 euro a day, we thought it was a little expensive. We chose instead to keep our window open over the street. Ear plugs were needed but we came prepared!

For a budget hotel, this was just what we needed: clean, bright and airy with great access to everything we wanted to see!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#873 of 1,269 in Rome
111 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Bergamo
Hotel Bergamo
#1,026 of 1,269 in Rome
164 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Capitol Roma
Hotel Capitol Roma
#632 of 1,269 in Rome
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Everest Roma
Hotel Everest Roma
#422 of 1,269 in Rome
180 reviews
Esquilino
Caput Mundi
Caput Mundi
#866 of 1,269 in Rome
89 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Charter
Hotel Charter
#479 of 1,269 in Rome
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marechiaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marechiaro

Address: Via Gioberti 30, Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #919 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £36 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Marechiaro 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MARECHIARO is a two stars superior category-hotel. It is located in a Twentieth century Umbertino style palace between Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica and is close to Termini Station (30 meters walking). You can reach the main city monuments in few minutes walks. Buses and Metro are available at any direction.The atmosphere of the house is peaceful. The 'family' management has been offering stays for pilgrims, tourists, families,groups of adults and students... for more than 60 years. The Hotel is clean, safe, modern and comfortable and is ideal for short stays in the Capital. We are able to give to our guests special services for their Roman holidays. We shall be glad to welcome small pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marechiaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marechiaro Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing