We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great location for the budget conscious.”
Review of Hotel Marsala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marsala
Ranked #1,136 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed at the Hotel (pensione) Marsala for 10 days on this trip as we really wanted to explore Rome. First, let me say that we are very budget conscious travelers (in our late 50's to early 70's) and like to see and do as much as possible (we don't spend much time in our room...we are too busy nosing about) without breaking the bank in doiing so. With that said, we were pleasantly surprised by our room at the Marsala. The location is just great...a perfect base for sightseeing (trains, buses and metro all depart from Termini). The hotel is, literally, across the street from Termini station (take the Marsala exit from the station). Our room was on the top floor (I think there were only 2 on this floor) ...ask for a room on the top floor if possible, had a nice little balcony overlooking via Marsala, tv, fridge, safe and bathroom. Breakfast was included and was fine...no gourmet experience, but just fine for us. We dined at various venues for lunch and dinner. There is also a laundry nearby if needed. The desk staff was pleasant and our room was cleaned daily with fresh towels.
We arrived in Rome at about 8pm (tired), took the express train from Fiumicino airport and walked to our hotel from the station. Simple!!
On our previous trip to Rome, we stayed at a 4 star hotel. The room was NOT much better than our room at the 2 star Marsala, but the cost was much higher and the location not nearly as convenient. Beds were hard at both 4 star and 2 star hotels. However, we were so exhausted after a full day of activitiy we had little problems getting to sleep.

Room Tip: There is a grocery store in the bottom of Termini station where you can purchase almost anything you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank denver60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2011

This is not a five star property, but for the money you pay it is great value. Smashing location, right next to train station. Shared bathrooms are a disadvantage, but I found them to be always clean. Rooms are small but have all facilities as advertised. Didn't partake of breakfast any morning so can't comment.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the private bathroom, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baxter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

After other plans fell through I booked this hotel based on location and price. The location was convenient. The price was not worth it. For American travelers, this hotel is not for the faint of heart. It doesn't scream safe (although it probably was fine), the power kept going out (we wondered if they just didn't pay the power bill or what), the shared bathroom was not close to our room, and was dirty and scary feeling. The lights were fluorescent tubes and beds felt like sleeping on plywood or cardboard....good thing we were exhausted otherwise I would not have slept at all. I don't think this place would even pass for a college dorm in the 1970s. Sad, because that hotel has a lot of potential. Unfortunately I have to say it was the worst hotel I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travcat235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This was our emergency accommodation in Rome as the place we were supposed to stay at didn't push through.
I appreciate so much the location being just outside of Hotel Termini and there are many shops around for food, laundry, shops and there was a Catholic Church beside it.
We can view the termini from our window, the room was spacious, the toilet was separate.
It was warm so we cant close the window and the road noise was quite annoying. A ceiling fan was provided and they changed the towels everyday.

Breakfast was decent but the wifi has a fee, which was sad.

Over all the location made all up for it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sw8tart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We arrived in Rome without accomodation as our plans had fallen through. The train station hotel booking desk suggested this place. It was a mistake. The first problem was that when we turned up the room wasn't ready and we had to wait one hour.
The room was cheap, 60€ per night but then there was the hotel tax, an extra 2€ each and the luggage room was an extra 2€ per bag if you wanted to leave them past the check out time.
The sheets on the bed were clean but the ensuite bathroom was filthy.
As other TA reveiwers have said the service is non-existant and because its one a main street its very noisy at night.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Have stayed in this place a couple times over the years when couldn't find anything else. Lik ea lot of hotels n role they have some very good rooms fo rhte prive (the ones the show on the photos) and some real cupboards you can barely get a suitcase into. Bizzarely, the first time I stayed here with my sister we got an excellent room and were happy with it, so the next time we returned to Rome we booked again, and got a disgusting dirty little hole. If you have to stay here try and get the room booked at Termini station at the Hotel counter, they will get you a far cheaper price than if you walk in off the street. Still, ask the guy at the hotel desk to find you something else if possible. The staff here are unpleasant. But it is right next to the station so if you come in late I guess you could stay here for a night. But no longer unless really necessary!

Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
2  Thank luce_del_mattino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Was pleasantly surprised to first see the room - it was an ok size, had a sink, TV, fridge, wardrobe space and space underneath the bed which was good for putting suitcases and bags out of the way.
It's in an ok location - close to Termini, but still could walk to most places within 30-40 mins. Metro and buses at Termini if you don't like to walk and want to avoid being knocked down by scooters.
Staff was very friendly and pleasant. Breakfast was included and it was good; coffees (from machine), juices, fruit, cheeses, prosciutto, croissants, bread, marmalade, jams etc.
We had towels provided and bed linen was changed on the 3rd day.
The negatives: bathroom was not clean.. toilet frequently dirty.. so were shower and sink, other people's towels were left on the floor on a few occasions.
Also, the air con is just a noisy ceiling fan and for any air, you need to leave the window open. Our room was tucked away at the back so didn't let in much noise.
Not sure if this is a problem in all rooms, but the overhead light was so ridiculously bright, it hurt my eyes! there was no lampshade, just a glaring white harsh light.
I'd stay there again but would prob bring my own lampshade. and maybe get an ensuite room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hols-in-italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Il Papavero
Hotel Il Papavero
#1,002 of 1,269 in Rome
372 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cressy
Hotel Cressy
#855 of 1,269 in Rome
126 reviews
Esquilino
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#756 of 1,269 in Rome
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARS Hotel
#436 of 1,269 in Rome
621 reviews
Hotel Jonico
#773 of 1,269 in Rome
347 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marsala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marsala

Address: Via Marsala 36, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,136 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £36 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Marsala 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Marsala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marsala Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing