We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor”
Review of Hotel Marsala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marsala
Ranked #1,141 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Rooms are good and clean. Out of rooms all interior of the hotel is horror. The elevator is from the previous century, I take the steers all the time. The stuff is not friendly and helpful at all.
I will never stay in this hotel ever. This hotel make my stay in Rome less pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed in Hotel Marsala one night. On one hand, the hotel is a good value for the price: easy position (just in front of the station); big rooms relatively clean. On the other hand, the staff at the reception was rude and grumpy; the breakfast was quite poor; internet was not included in the price; and it was really noisy in the night. Overall, don't expect too much.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

It's a Hotel that offers you roof over your head, descent place to sleep and nice sweet breakfast in the morning. Rooms are good, cleaned on daily basis. Location (next to Termini Station) is great advantage!
Don't expect luxury, don't take there your partner for a romantic city break and don't treat it as a business hotel - and everything will be fine!
Minus: Church is next door, so bells are tolling at 7:00 am! Wake up call for early sightseeing ;)
Internet is extra paid, which is standard for hotels like this.

It's very good hotel when you're tight on budget! Worth recommendation for 2-3 nights :)

Room Tip: If you can choose - go for a room with a bathroom. Rooms with shared bathrooms are slightly cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomasz_Laskowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I won't lie to you! I chose this hotel because of its price. We got a double room with breakfast for as much as 35 euro per night. We knew what to expect as we were warned that the aea of Termini is not the nicest one... ;) However I think it has its climate. The hotel itself is really ok. I mean it's a budget hotel, but we had nothing to complain about. We got the room 61 that is the room on the top floor, which was good because we didn't hear any noise coming from other guests. We booked a double room but got a mini apartment with two double rooms, which was really convenient. The room was clean and had everything you might need during a short stay including mini fridge and hair dryer. You can see that this is an old hotel in a process of modernization. The breakfast was ok, even the coffee was drinkable. However be prepared that this is an Italian-type breakfast so no sour things, mainly cornetto, jam and coffee.
To sum up, it's a central hotel, clean and decent for a very good price. You get what you pay for! And as such I would recommend it for budget travellers!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Almost opposite Rome Termini Station. Rooms are ok for the price and the guy at the reception is really helpful at any time. From there you easily move to anywhere in Italy - from airports to other towns etc. So, if you are planning to move a lot around Italy, then it is a good transit hotel, and you have a lot of them around the station.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oomar Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Right opposite the termini station. While the area is crowded and lacks good ambience I suppose proximity to railway transport has its price. The staff was ok, nothing to complain about. Rooms and toilets were clean but the building itself is rather old and might not give the nicest of feelings. Wifi is not free but works well once paid for.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhebbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Hotel Marsala is a hotel at the Termini station in Rome, for the price you pay you dont expect luxury but you expect a bit better than we got, A double framed bed with two single matress on it which was extremely uncomfortable, Black marks all over the walls from peoples suitcases which was easily washed off but not until we complained.

Rude staff on reception EXCEPT for Luigi who was a Gentleman and very sweet, breakfast staff very pleasant.

No WIFI unless you pay 3Euro per Hour 10 euro per day ???

Excellent location and room cleaned everyday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
2  Thank Ashling K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Locanda Otello
Locanda Otello
#1,145 of 1,271 in Rome
60 reviews
Esquilino
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
#680 of 1,271 in Rome
144 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#1,032 of 1,271 in Rome
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Cressy
Hotel Cressy
#930 of 1,271 in Rome
127 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Ferrarese
Hotel Ferrarese
#975 of 1,271 in Rome
177 reviews
Scheppers Hotel
#1,065 of 1,271 in Rome
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marsala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marsala

Address: Via Marsala 36, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,141 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £26 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Marsala 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marsala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marsala Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing