We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home in Rome”

Hotel Monteverde & Austria
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Monteverde & Austria
Ranked #983 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A home away from home in Rome”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I have stayed at Monteverde & Austria twice--once for three and a half weeks once for two and a half. Originally a pilgrimage house, the Monteverde has immaculately clean, spare rooms that are comfortable and pleasant. The bathrooms are large (and again immaculate). All rooms have large windows. Tram 8--the most accessible and reliable transportation in Rome--is a few feet away. It is about a 20 minute ride to Largo Argentina but when you return back to Monteverde you are not in the middle of nowhere but in another part of Rome with its own charm and amenities. There is a GREAT rosticceria down the street, a number of very good restaurants, and a neighborhood much calmer and more Roman than the craziness of the touristic center. The people who run the hotel couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. I read a couple of reviews that disparaged Carmelo, the manager. He may not be Mr. Jovial, but the man is the salt of the earth. This year one of my students needed medication shipped from home. We were in southern Italy but by the time we had arrived Carmelo had filled out all the paperwork to have the medicine cleared through customs and made the whole confusing process very very easy. This was absolutely not his problem and he didn't need to do anything to help. That's just his way.

Any downsides? The breakfast is no great feast--coffee and rolls (on a good day) or bread; and packaged croissants. But it is cheerfully served and the hotel is a five minute walk from a killer (and cheap) bar/pasticceria. There is no bar or food service other than breakfast--but again there is are plenty of options right outside the door.

If you get a charge from walking out your hotel door and being in the middle of a mass of humanity taking photos of monuments the Monteverde is not for you. If you want to do your thing and then live in a proper neighborhood in comfortable clean rooms in a place that seems more like home than a hotel (at least to me)--this is your place!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jejoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    16
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
5
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The hotel is a basic one from the perspective of its general location and decor. The staff was very helpful in providing us information to use the tram to get into the city center and how to return to the hotel. They do not have a great command of English but the desire to communicate existed. Took care to ensure we knew to pay attention for pick pockets on the tram (no incidents for us). We had room 207 and did not find it to be too noisy even though it was close to a busy intersection with many ambulances passing by due to close proximity of a hospital. Walking to right from the hotel will take you down to a street with many shops. First appearance of the neighbourhood had me questioning the decision to stay at the hotel but it was perfectly acceptable and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 207 is on the 2nd floor at the front of the building. The shutters did not go all the way to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DalpalOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We booked this hotel as we planned, as a foursome, to sightsee in Rome. The hotel had no parking so a bit difficult but we managed. It looks nothing from the outside, set back off the street. But once inside it is very clean and nice, and when we were shown to our rooms we were very pleasantly surprised. The room is quite large, very clean, nice bedding and towels, changed daily. However, several things left a lot to be desired. I had read several reviews previous to booking in, about how nice the Austrian lady owner is, and the staff etc. Unfortunately the nice Austrian lady owner was nowhere to be seen, and we just had a surly unhelpful elderly man, who wouldn't even lift his head in the morning to say hello. He was not at all helpful, and didn't put himself out at all....even to the point of NOT OPENING THE BAR. The little bar was there alright, but in darkness. Not once in the 5 days we were there did he open it. The breakfast was very meagre, rolls, jam and sweet croissant. Served by a very nice polite ?Thai lady, who couldn't do enough for us. We could have done with a mini-bar in the room due to not being able to have a drink in the hotel. So apart from the lack of mini-bar, Basil Fawlty on reception, and no bar to have a drink in, the stay was quite good. Not sure I would stay there again though.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in august .. We were pleastanly surprised .. We had room 307 which was situated at the front of the building had our own small balcony... Room was big enough very clean, air con, shutters which kept the room dark and made it easy to sleep in ... Although it was not in the heart of Rome, the tram stop was a two minute walk at end of street ...we would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinicoopMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I visit Rome, Italy every two years. Hotel Monteverde is a very clean and basic hotel, reasonable rates, friendly service, wifi, tv, and close to the tram, just cross the street, and you're there. The tram takes you to the center of Rome (a very short ride), where you can easily walk to the Colisseum and Piazza Venezia, or take the buses to the these places as well as to the Vatican. Very easy to get around in Rome with buses and trams. Hotels in the center of Rome charge much more, so it's worth it to stay at Hotel Monteverde. Very safe and clean area. Hotel has no pool, and no parking. Parking is on the street - just like the romans do. Breakfast is very basic - rolls with butter and jam, packaged croissants, and coffee and excellent cappucino.. Rome is an amazing city, with lots to do and discover. Will stay there again - staff is very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We recently stayed here for 9 nights in one of the larger rooms for three. Needed to be near my daughter who was studying at the American University for the semester. As others stated, it is clean, spacious and the owners are pleasant and helpful. Rolls are great, but get monotonous after a few days. Tram is very convenient. Seems like it comes every 2 minutes. Stops at Trastevere, where we ate half the time. If back in Rome, would definitely book again.

Room Tip: If you are three, ask for room 307.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lovecartrips2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We were sent here upon the recommedation of a local. The hotel is small, quiet, clean and in a true Roman area. The breakfast is nothing special , just rolls and coffee, but that is often typical of European hotels.The rooms are moderately sized with large bathrooms.Although not located within walking distance of the city center, there is a tram stop at the corner, making the city easily accessible.
I would stay here again and highly recommend it for value, comfort and most of all cleanliness.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdieboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monteverde
Ponte Bianco
Ponte Bianco
#1,035 of 1,257 in Rome
107 reviews
Monteverde
Le Fate Apartments
Le Fate Apartments
#167 of 1,257 in Rome
283 reviews
Monteverde
Villa Rosa Hotel
Villa Rosa Hotel
#447 of 1,257 in Rome
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Trastevere Resort
#970 of 1,257 in Rome
98 reviews
B&B Hotel Roma Trastevere
#280 of 1,257 in Rome
625 reviews
Hotel Poggioverde
#127 of 1,257 in Rome
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteverde & Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteverde & Austria

Property: Hotel Monteverde & Austria
Address: Via di Monte Verde 86, 00151 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Gianicolense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #983 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monteverde & Austria 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Monteverde & Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monteverde Austria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing