We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
227
109
30
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
109
30
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vatican city every morning third floor office block croissants comfy bed non touristy hotel in a great location minute walk walked everywhere rooms are modern busy city breakfast was delicious main attractions visit to rome decent size spanish steps
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Room though a bit small, it is functional and has all the essentials you may need. There is no restaurant inside the hotel, hence breakfast needs to be consumed inside your room. The staffs (Lily and Barbara) are extremely helpful. Overall, it was a good stay.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank Kenrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My girlfriend & I stayed here on our first weekend away for 2 nights from 19/04/13 - 21/04/13 & first time in Rome and we were pleasantly surprised by Hotel Roma Vaticano! From the outside you would not know it was a hotel/B&B and we had some reservations concerning us as it is very small with only 7/8 rooms, but once we arrived in the hotel reception on the 3rd floor (there is a elevator) we were immediately impressed and all our reservations had gone. The staff were friendly and spoke fluent English which was handy as my Italian is very limited, the rooms were immaculate & modern, the breakfast was lovely & the location was perfect! Even the minibar was reasonably priced, all rooms have air con as well which was welcome when it was quite warm. I do not have a bad word to say about it and wouldn't hesitate to stay there should I ever visit Rome again (which I intend to do). Thank you for making our stay and trip extremely pleasant!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danespencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Roma Vaticano for three nights at the beginning of April. It really was just perfect for our needs. Situated just 5 minutes from the Metro for when you want to view the sights on the other side of the city and just a 10 minute walk from St Peters Square and the Vatican City. The area is lovely and felt very safe wandering around and exploring at night time.

The staff were so friendly and accommodating. We arrived hours before check in time after getting the first flight out of Heathrow that morning and Lily got our room ready for us while we went for a walk to familiarise ourselves with the local area. She gave us a map of the local area and pointed out some places to eat, the nearest metro station and good spots nearby to visit. She also found us a plug adaptor as we had forgotten ours. The hotel is on the third floor of a large building, it seemed that offices occupied many of the other floors but it didn't have any impact. There is a cage lift to get you up with your cases but it is small!!

Our room was The Colosseo, it was lovely, a really good size and completely spotless. I loved the features in the room; big windows with floor to ceiling drapes which really kept out the light and stone alcoves in the walls. The bed was really comfortable, it was two singles joined together and I know from some reviews on here that is an issue for some, not us. We slept really well every night under the soft sheets and plush pillows. I'd suggest keeping the windows shut at night as the road can be quite noisy, ambulances in Rome really have the most annoying siren! The bathroom was lovely, all new fixtures and fittings, the shower was powerful and hot. There was nowhere to hang the hand towel though, not really an issue! We were pleased by the free use of the safe and wifi, although the signal strength wasn't great in the room, perhaps because it was the furthest down the hall. The staff were able to help us out by giving us access to a different network and made a note of the issue, they really were all so helpful! Even confirmed our taxis and pick up times for us and while we were waiting to be picked up made us coffee and chatted with us.

The breakfast was just my sort of thing; pastries, bread and jams, coffee and juice. I think it may have benefited from some fruit as if you are used to something a bit more substantial you may be left a bit hungry. There is a supermarket a couple of minutes away if you want to get some snacks for the day ahead (and wine to put in the mini bar!). You order your breakfast from a list of items and choose what time you want it brought to your room. I loved this, breakfast in bed every morning, what a treat!

We would definitely recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate in returning again one day. It was the perfect base. It was quite basic but felt luxurious and with so much to see and do in Rome there is no need to spend a huge amount of time in the hotel, when you are there it is clean, comfortable, has all the essentials and the staff really are fab!

We'd like to send a huge thanks to all three staff who made our stay memorable! Grazie Mille!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Munnybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We spent four nights at this hotel from 8th to 12th of April. Overall it could not be faulted. I thought the rooms were a bit on the small side and the breakfast a bit basic (fresh fruit would be good) but that said the service, the location, the friendly staff (esp Barbara) were faultless. The hotel is modern and clean and is situated off a busy shopping street and very near a metro station not that you would need it much becuase it is centrally located and you can walk most places. Had the most wonderful time and Barbara gave us lots of tips of where to eat and what to do to beat ques. Thank-you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safari98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We had booked a room for two adults and a teenager for 14 nights (March/April 2013) and cannot rate this accommodation less than five stars!
If you come to visit Rome you will likely be en route most of the day and therefore appreciate a rather central and safe location like this one. Most of the points of interest were reachable in a walking distance, on rainy days of for too remote spots (e.g. Ostia Antica) we took the metro (nearest station Lepanto, about 6 minutes from Hotel Roma Vaticano).
Staff is outstandingly helpful and supportive, breakfast can be chosen from a list at arrival and is being served to your room at the time you wish from 7:30. Even when we left the hotel much earlier a few days, we were provided juice, croissants, butter and jam the evening before, just fantastic.
The room we had (Colosseo) was very clean and was definitely sufficient for three people and had everything you need (air-condition, safe - and free WiFi). The bathroom was also in a perfect condition, equipped with hairdryer, daily refilled shower gel, fresh towels and even a bidet).
The windows are very well insulated which made a big difference as the room was situated to the street. Since we had booked the hotel as a combo offer through Expedia, the price for accommodation was very reasonable.
This place was our anchor for a great holiday in Rome!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KHF112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews