We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“55th wedding anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Roma Vaticano
Ranked #390 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Roma Vaticano for 3 weeks from March through April, to celebrate our 55th wedding anniversary. Upon arrival, we were quite skeptical since it looked quite small compared to US standards. But what it lacked in size, it more than made up with its hospitality, friendliness, and cleanliness. Barbara and Lily were the absolute best in making us feel welcome, safe, and comfortable. Barbara helped us in all ways possible. This ranged from booking our hotel stay in Venice, to scanning and faxing document to the US, confirming our reservations, to lending us her personal phone so we could call if we needed assistance or directions during our excursions.

Hotel Roma Vaticano is immaculate, modern, and situated close to shops, restaurants, and the Metro. It is a 15 minute walk to St Peter's Square and the Vatican City. The hotel's vicinity is quite lovely and we felt safe wandering around its area even at night. The breakfast we received everyday was just perfect to get our days started. Our bed was quite comfortable and our bathroom was modern and huge.

My wife and I had the greatest time staying in this facility. We would definitely recommend it to anyone who wishes a pleasant and stress free vacation in Rome.

We would like to give a great big THANK YOU VERY MUCH to Barbara, Lily, and Juliano for making our Roman experience wonderful and unforgettable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013

Room though a bit small, it is functional and has all the essentials you may need. There is no restaurant inside the hotel, hence breakfast needs to be consumed inside your room. The staffs (Lily and Barbara) are extremely helpful. Overall, it was a good stay.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank Kenrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My girlfriend & I stayed here on our first weekend away for 2 nights from 19/04/13 - 21/04/13 & first time in Rome and we were pleasantly surprised by Hotel Roma Vaticano! From the outside you would not know it was a hotel/B&B and we had some reservations concerning us as it is very small with only 7/8 rooms, but once we arrived in the hotel reception on the 3rd floor (there is a elevator) we were immediately impressed and all our reservations had gone. The staff were friendly and spoke fluent English which was handy as my Italian is very limited, the rooms were immaculate & modern, the breakfast was lovely & the location was perfect! Even the minibar was reasonably priced, all rooms have air con as well which was welcome when it was quite warm. I do not have a bad word to say about it and wouldn't hesitate to stay there should I ever visit Rome again (which I intend to do). Thank you for making our stay and trip extremely pleasant!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danespencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Roma Vaticano for three nights at the beginning of April. It really was just perfect for our needs. Situated just 5 minutes from the Metro for when you want to view the sights on the other side of the city and just a 10 minute walk from St Peters Square and the Vatican City. The area is lovely and felt very safe wandering around and exploring at night time.

The staff were so friendly and accommodating. We arrived hours before check in time after getting the first flight out of Heathrow that morning and Lily got our room ready for us while we went for a walk to familiarise ourselves with the local area. She gave us a map of the local area and pointed out some places to eat, the nearest metro station and good spots nearby to visit. She also found us a plug adaptor as we had forgotten ours. The hotel is on the third floor of a large building, it seemed that offices occupied many of the other floors but it didn't have any impact. There is a cage lift to get you up with your cases but it is small!!

Our room was The Colosseo, it was lovely, a really good size and completely spotless. I loved the features in the room; big windows with floor to ceiling drapes which really kept out the light and stone alcoves in the walls. The bed was really comfortable, it was two singles joined together and I know from some reviews on here that is an issue for some, not us. We slept really well every night under the soft sheets and plush pillows. I'd suggest keeping the windows shut at night as the road can be quite noisy, ambulances in Rome really have the most annoying siren! The bathroom was lovely, all new fixtures and fittings, the shower was powerful and hot. There was nowhere to hang the hand towel though, not really an issue! We were pleased by the free use of the safe and wifi, although the signal strength wasn't great in the room, perhaps because it was the furthest down the hall. The staff were able to help us out by giving us access to a different network and made a note of the issue, they really were all so helpful! Even confirmed our taxis and pick up times for us and while we were waiting to be picked up made us coffee and chatted with us.

The breakfast was just my sort of thing; pastries, bread and jams, coffee and juice. I think it may have benefited from some fruit as if you are used to something a bit more substantial you may be left a bit hungry. There is a supermarket a couple of minutes away if you want to get some snacks for the day ahead (and wine to put in the mini bar!). You order your breakfast from a list of items and choose what time you want it brought to your room. I loved this, breakfast in bed every morning, what a treat!

We would definitely recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate in returning again one day. It was the perfect base. It was quite basic but felt luxurious and with so much to see and do in Rome there is no need to spend a huge amount of time in the hotel, when you are there it is clean, comfortable, has all the essentials and the staff really are fab!

We'd like to send a huge thanks to all three staff who made our stay memorable! Grazie Mille!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Munnybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We spent four nights at this hotel from 8th to 12th of April. Overall it could not be faulted. I thought the rooms were a bit on the small side and the breakfast a bit basic (fresh fruit would be good) but that said the service, the location, the friendly staff (esp Barbara) were faultless. The hotel is modern and clean and is situated off a busy shopping street and very near a metro station not that you would need it much becuase it is centrally located and you can walk most places. Had the most wonderful time and Barbara gave us lots of tips of where to eat and what to do to beat ques. Thank-you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safari98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We had booked a room for two adults and a teenager for 14 nights (March/April 2013) and cannot rate this accommodation less than five stars!
If you come to visit Rome you will likely be en route most of the day and therefore appreciate a rather central and safe location like this one. Most of the points of interest were reachable in a walking distance, on rainy days of for too remote spots (e.g. Ostia Antica) we took the metro (nearest station Lepanto, about 6 minutes from Hotel Roma Vaticano).
Staff is outstandingly helpful and supportive, breakfast can be chosen from a list at arrival and is being served to your room at the time you wish from 7:30. Even when we left the hotel much earlier a few days, we were provided juice, croissants, butter and jam the evening before, just fantastic.
The room we had (Colosseo) was very clean and was definitely sufficient for three people and had everything you need (air-condition, safe - and free WiFi). The bathroom was also in a perfect condition, equipped with hairdryer, daily refilled shower gel, fresh towels and even a bidet).
The windows are very well insulated which made a big difference as the room was situated to the street. Since we had booked the hotel as a combo offer through Expedia, the price for accommodation was very reasonable.
This place was our anchor for a great holiday in Rome!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KHF112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Is a nice hotel next to the metro and Vatican city, have a good service and the hotel staff are very friendly.
The hotel, rooms and bathrooms are clean and made the bed and bathroom every day, is a good hotel for anyone, business, family or go alone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cicalco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#202 of 1,271 in Rome
649 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#241 of 1,271 in Rome
603 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#55 of 1,271 in Rome
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gravina San Pietro
#448 of 1,271 in Rome
465 reviews
Chroma Pente
#208 of 1,271 in Rome
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma Vaticano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma Vaticano

Address: Via Attilio Regolo 19, 00192 Rome, Italy (Formerly San Michele Hotel)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #390 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £53 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Roma Vaticano 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roma Vaticano is an elegant boutique Hotel located in the centre of Rome, a few steps from the Vatican, from St. Peter’s Square and Piazza del Popolo. Hosted in an historical building in the heart of Prati district, the Hotel Roma Vaticano has just been renovated and is the ideal place for those looking for a comfortable and relaxing stay. Our location will allow you to reach in few minutes all the major monuments and the most beautiful plazas in Rome: St. Peter’s Square and the Vatican, St. Angel’s Castle, Piazza del Popolo, the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Navona Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Roma Vaticano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing