We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Roma Vaticano
Ranked #414 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We checked into this hotel on January 3rd and stayed until the 8th. The kindness and help we received from both desk women made navigating the city and our stay at the hotel excellent. Breakfast was served every morning directly to our room. The room itself was large and spacious and contained a very nice personal bathroom. Overall I have zero complaints about this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan1392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Not that the hotel claims to have spacious rooms, but we were surprised by just how small our room was. There is about 18 inches on either side of the bed and the toilet is about 3 feet from the head of the person lying in bed, through a thin pocket door. Breakfast must be eaten sitting on the edge of the bed as there is nowhere else to go. You have to heave your suitcase onto the bed to do anything with it as there is just no other space.

Other than slight rudeness upon check-in, service was good, breakfast fine for what it was. If you don't mind the small room, a good budget choice as the location is excellent. However, might be worth spending a few extra Euros if you want some room to breathe. There was a yappy dog within the complex that liked to bark incessantly starting at about 8:30 but that wasn't problem for us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lefty261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Spent a week here with my partner. We were looked after very well by the friendly staff who gave some great recomendations on the sights to see and where to eat. The hotel is positioned perfectly between the Vatican itself and the rest of the historic city. The room was lovely: comfortable, clean, and quiet.

Would definitely reccomend a stay here!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed for 5 nights.

Hits (positive) :
1.) Good location (across the bridge from the Spanish Steps quarter)
2.) comfortable beds (good, new mattresses)
Misses (negative) :
1.) This is really a B&B, not a hotel. There is no common room, so your breakfast (included) is served in the room. It's ok, but we would have preferred just paying EUR 15 less and having breakfast across the street.
2.) Atmosphere is a bit cold and sterile.
3.) NOISY! The building is far from sound-proofed. You hear everything.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Roma Vaticano for 4 nights and loved every minute. On arrival Georgia was unbelievably welcoming, giving us a map and suggesting the best way to visit Rome, what to see at night, what to leave till last in case you run out of time and what places to go to eat traditional italian or roman food. She was very knowledgable and friendly; nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms were a perfect size for what we needed however if you are looking large rooms and a spacious bathroom, you will not find them at this hotel but what you lose in size you gain in character and comfort. The rooms are also very clean and well maintained.

The hotel has free Wifi however the signal was very poor and frequently dropped so I would not rely on the availability of this, but if you need any information, the staff are more than happy to find it for you.

I thoroughly enjoyed the in-room continental breakfast which definitely got me ready for a long day of walking around Rome. I have quite a sweet tooth so the custard/chocolate filled, icing covered sweet beyond sweet croissants were great for me, but even if you do not have a sweet tooth first thing in the morning there is also a choice of cereals, yoghurts, Melba toast and more. The lack of restaurant does not impact the quantity or quality of the breakfast.

The location was also great for us. It was a 10 minute walk to the Vatican, and a longer 30 minute walk to the Colosseum, however the various sights in between the hotel and colosseum (Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain to name just two) break this walk up quite pleasantly. There are also a number of very good eateries within a 5 minute walk from the hotel, which were mostly better value and better food than those closer to the main sights.

A perfect little quaint hotel with helpful staff and great location.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank TripChickNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Within walking distance of everything and staff helped us plan what to see, and helped us book a a Vatican walking tour, this is really the only tour you really need to book, you can see everything else under your own steam! Rooms were great and were clean and comfortable, hotel is quiet even though it is right in the centre of shops and a market, and an amazing deli! Would stay here again, even though the lift is small but it is an old building. Restaurant to the left of the front door is great if you want to eat close by.....so many amazing things to see and do in Rome and this is the ideal base to walk from......

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Queenslander902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

And besides, the location, it was great value for money. The staff was extremely sweet and helpful. We would stay there again and would recommend it to anyone that didn't mind a small hotel which wasn't staffed overnight and had next to no common space. The bedrooms and bathrooms were freshly renovated and spotless. Choice of breakfast items was served in our room and was delicious. It felt like home away from home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GordnKarin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#211 of 1,273 in Rome
657 reviews
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#233 of 1,273 in Rome
1,053 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#258 of 1,273 in Rome
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#282 of 1,273 in Rome
608 reviews
Prati
Fabio Massimo Design Hotel
Fabio Massimo Design Hotel
#127 of 1,273 in Rome
489 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#64 of 1,273 in Rome
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma Vaticano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma Vaticano

Address: Via Attilio Regolo 19, 00192 Rome, Italy (Formerly San Michele Hotel)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #414 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £46 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Roma Vaticano 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roma Vaticano is an elegant boutique Hotel located in the centre of Rome, a few steps from the Vatican, from St. Peter’s Square and Piazza del Popolo. Hosted in an historical building in the heart of Prati district, the Hotel Roma Vaticano has just been renovated and is the ideal place for those looking for a comfortable and relaxing stay. Our location will allow you to reach in few minutes all the major monuments and the most beautiful plazas in Rome: St. Peter’s Square and the Vatican, St. Angel’s Castle, Piazza del Popolo, the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Navona Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Roma Vaticano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing