We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Roma Vaticano
Ranked #344 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Ashbourne Derbyshire
2 reviews
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We recently stayed in the Roma Vaticano and found it an ideal base from which to explore the delights of Rome. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, our room was very clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the breakfasts which were brought to our room at the time we wanted. There was an adequate choice of items for breakfast ( do not expect a full English breakfast) and the pastries were delicious (not very good for the waistline!) However because of the excellent situation of the B&B it was easy to walk to most of the tourist attractions so we probably walked most of the calories off! The area where the hotel is situated was pleasingly quiet so sleeping was not a problem at all. All in all we would recommend this B&B to couples looking for an excellent base from which to explore the city. Thank you Lili for looking after us in a friendly yet professional manner. We will return!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    100
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
45
229
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Me and my partner went to the Hotel Roma Vaticano in February this year for my birthday. We were contacted by Lilli a week or so prior to our arrival welcoming us and asking if there were any questions or if there was anything we needed. She also said that she would be able to get tickets for various places if we wanted them and also gave a us a list of things that we could do and see whilst we were there. On arrival the hotel was pretty easy to find from the metro from the instructions that were sent to us. We were greeted by Georgia when we arrived and she was really friendly and helpful. She gave us a map and highlighted all the main attractions and said if there was anything we needed to know then to just ask. We had the Coliseum room which was lovely and spacious! The rooms were immaculate and clean and the bathroom was again really spacious. We hotel is just a 5-10min walk to the Vatican City (which was amazing) and also within easy walking distance to other places such as Piazza Novona, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and a lovely shopping area. You could walk to the Coliseum but we were quite worn out by then so we took the Metro which was quick and cheap to use – but very busy at peak times! On my birthday my partner proposed by the Trevi Fountain and he had told his plans to Lilli and Georgia. When we returned back to the hotel (I did say yes by the way!) they had arranged and birthday card and birthday cake as well as a bottle of Prosecco, a single red rose and also a souvenir of the Trevi Fountain! The efforts that they went to to help make it such a special day was really fantastic and unexpected and I was really grateful for all that they did!!! The breakfast in the morning was always brought in by Lillie who we found really kind and chatty. The breakfast itself was delicious – tea/coffe, juice, sweet rolls, pastries and spreads and it was really nice to have breakfast in bed everyday. Georgia recommended a couple of places to eat including San Marcos Pizzeria and an ice cream parlour both of which were just a few minutes walk from the hotel and we thoroughly recommend both!! In total we were there for 4 nights and the service was fantastic with a real personal touch from both Lillie and Georgia. We will certainly be returning to Rome again and we will certainly book the Hotel Roma Vaticano again – it has everything you need with great staff who went out of their way to make this a trip to remember! Thank you both of you!!!

Room Tip: The Coliseum room seemed to be the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I come to Rome for four days last February with my wife to visit this ancestry city. I booked previously Hotel Rome Vatican after reading Tripadvisor recommendations and was not fooled. The hotel is situated on the third floor of an old but well preserved building near the Vatican and has only seven rooms. We stayed at the Colosseum room that we recommend to everyone. This is a noiseless room with double glass windows that prevent the street noise to enter in. The room is excellent with two double beds and with all facilities with a LED TV display. The bathroom is also very good. The breakfast is served in the room every day at the time you scheduled with the reception. The girls who attend at the reception are very kind and attentive helping you on everything you may need, booking excursions all over the city, restaurants and recommending all good places to visit and eat. I indicate this hotel for everyone as it is near the Lepanto subway station, Castle Saint Angel, Cavour Square, the Vatican and the Tevere river, not mentioning the very good daily rates. There are a lot of good restaurants nearby. My only restriction is the elevator that takes you to the third floor. It is tiny (only two people inside), very old, difficult to operate and completely manual. You have to close two doors to make it function. In spite of those problems it is well maintained, clean and functions perfectly.

Room Tip: Ask for the Colosseum room and you will get the refrigerator full of amenities for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinematics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Kildare, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

stayed for four days in this hotel,a gem of a place,staff were excellent,room was fair size and spotless, near to all sites. breakfast in bed cant beat it.bit of a tip wear good walking shoes for walking around.Although most of the restaurants served good food,One comes to mind is the L ilsalata Ricca very good all round.We went to an Indian restaurant called SHANTI (we are fond of Indian food) service Awful,food Terrible, everyone to there own but all i can advise is stay away.On a better note found two very good pub - restaurants, one is Morrisons great service, very friendly staff.The other is the Abbey Theatre both of these places are also good for food.Would recommend a long weekend in rome to anyone.Oh just thought of one thing about the hotel they provide a shuttle to and from the hotel which they charge 65euro eachway,we got it from the airport,but seemly the local white taxis just charge 30euros.Other than that great weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stormycos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Georgia and lily were so professional and helpful! Thank you to them!
Room was clean and comfortable! Perfect place to stay- great location - took a bit for us to figure out where it was although it's exactly as described. Great stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaelyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The staff is great, always eager to help and to give directions and recommendations on where to eat or where to go. Small room but fit for our needs. Nice and secure place to sleep and rest after a long day of walking all over Rome. Breakfast in bed is great. The hotel is on the3rd floor of the building so make sure when you get there to go straight to the 3rd floor to check in. Georgia, Lilly and the only male, can't remember his name were great!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights and had an absolute fabulous stay. Lily was amazing assisting and arranging with our daily plans. It was a very clean and quaint place. Topping off the warm hospitality was a great breakfast each morning brought to our room. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!! Very convenient location, walking distance to anything.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SDL2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#192 of 1,261 in Rome
635 reviews
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#254 of 1,261 in Rome
589 reviews
Prati
Hotel Gerber
Hotel Gerber
#369 of 1,261 in Rome
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#253 of 1,261 in Rome
586 reviews
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#222 of 1,261 in Rome
798 reviews
Prati
Hotel Dei Consoli
Hotel Dei Consoli
#486 of 1,261 in Rome
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma Vaticano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma Vaticano

Property: Hotel Roma Vaticano
Address: Via Attilio Regolo 19, 00192 Rome, Italy (Formerly San Michele Hotel)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Roma Vaticano 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roma Vaticano is an elegant boutique Hotel located in the centre of Rome, a few steps from the Vatican, from St. Peter’s Square and Piazza del Popolo. Hosted in an historical building in the heart of Prati district, the Hotel Roma Vaticano has just been renovated and is the ideal place for those looking for a comfortable and relaxing stay. Our location will allow you to reach in few minutes all the major monuments and the most beautiful plazas in Rome: St. Peter’s Square and the Vatican, St. Angel’s Castle, Piazza del Popolo, the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Navona Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Roma Vaticano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing