We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good things come in small packages!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Roma Vaticano
Ranked #309 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good things come in small packages!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Really impressed with Hotel Roma Vaticano and would stay there again in a heartbeat. Great location, in an upmarket area of Rome, near to the Metro, which is very easy to use. The welcome was warm and friendly, the staff are great (thank you so much Giorgia and Lili). We stayed in the 'Castel S.Angelo' room, which was quiet, looking onto an interior yard, no traffic noise. It was very clean and modern and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable, there was a large wardrobe, drawers, safe deposit box, mini bar refridgerator, dressing table, chairs, remote control air conditioning, tv (no english channel), free wifi and a modern bathroom (shower only, but large) with shampoo, soap & hairdryer. We also arrived to a lovely bottle of cold Prosecco, as I had mentioned that it was my husbands 40th birthday. Lovely touch.

Breakfast is provided in your room at whichever time you request and is a lovely start to the day. Fruit juice, yogurt, cereal, bread roll, croissant, tea, coffee and spreads. You are given keys for your room and the exterior and interior doors of the hotel, as well as an entry code as the staff are not there between 11pm and 7am.

We had a great stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TabithaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    99
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
43
225
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I spent 7 nights with a colleague in Rome in late March at the hotel. Everyone at the front desk was incredibly friendly and helpful. The location is east of the Vatican and west of the Piazza del Popolo-perfect for walking to the sights in Rome. The metro is 3 short blocks away. The room was not large but very clean and functional. The breakfast was excellent-pastries, cereal, juice and it came with the room. It is half a block north of Via Cola di Rienzo which is a very nice shopping area and has many great places to eat. If you want somewhere that is not "touristy" and in a safe area, I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Great place to eat gelato 1 1/2 blocks away!

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms in the hotel. It is located on the 3 floor of a office building accessible b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Nothing bad to say about this small boutique hotel. Georgia, the manager was a delight and very helpful.

The room was a good size and clean and comfortable and the bathroom was large and modern. Breakfast, brought to the room was all we needed. It is in walking distance to The Vatican and good restaurants and shopping. When we were leaving they booked a private car to the airport, which cost a reasonable 40 Euros. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnandrews62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

LOCATION

The hotel is situated in a quieter part of Rome: the Prati area is a far cry from the super touristy parts of the city, which is what we loved about it. The neighbourhood was pleasant and quiet but within reasonable walking distance of a number of sites (closest of which is, of course, the Vatican). The hotel is also a few minutes away from the Lepanto metro station.

There is a supermarket just around the block from the hotel, which was a great place to pick up any bottles of water, necessities, etc.

(Additionally, one of our favourite spots was Gelateria dei Gracchi, which was a mere two minute walk from the hotel. Authentic, delicious, and popular with tourists and locals alike - we went there everyday!)

ROOM/AMENITIES/ETC

We stayed in the San Pietro room, which – to our pleasant surprise (as we were expecting the smaller-sized hotel rooms typical of Europe) – was incredibly spacious. Looking at other reviews, however, it seems that spaciousness is not a consistent trait across the different rooms at Roma Vaticano. Speaking for our San Pietro room, however, we were extremely comfortable with the space in which we had to move around/store our items/etc.

Breakfast is served in the room: you can tick off items you would like to eat and leave it with the front desk, and you can indicate when you would like breakfast to be delivered to your room. The breakfast items (pastries, fruit, coffee, etc) were nothing to write home about but were a nice way to start the morning.

SERVICE

As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is not staffed 24 hours a day. Rather, we were provided with a phone number to call in the event that we needed anything between the hours of 11PM and 7AM. We did not find this to be an issue, as we did not find ourselves in need of anything during the nighttime. The woman who checked us into the hotel was very quick to provide us with an overview of the sites we could visit and circled some of the main attractions we should visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the San Pietro room, which was very roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PocketfulOf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne Derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We recently stayed in the Roma Vaticano and found it an ideal base from which to explore the delights of Rome. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, our room was very clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the breakfasts which were brought to our room at the time we wanted. There was an adequate choice of items for breakfast ( do not expect a full English breakfast) and the pastries were delicious (not very good for the waistline!) However because of the excellent situation of the B&B it was easy to walk to most of the tourist attractions so we probably walked most of the calories off! The area where the hotel is situated was pleasingly quiet so sleeping was not a problem at all. All in all we would recommend this B&B to couples looking for an excellent base from which to explore the city. Thank you Lili for looking after us in a friendly yet professional manner. We will return!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Me and my partner went to the Hotel Roma Vaticano in February this year for my birthday. We were contacted by Lilli a week or so prior to our arrival welcoming us and asking if there were any questions or if there was anything we needed. She also said that she would be able to get tickets for various places if we wanted them and also gave a us a list of things that we could do and see whilst we were there. On arrival the hotel was pretty easy to find from the metro from the instructions that were sent to us. We were greeted by Georgia when we arrived and she was really friendly and helpful. She gave us a map and highlighted all the main attractions and said if there was anything we needed to know then to just ask. We had the Coliseum room which was lovely and spacious! The rooms were immaculate and clean and the bathroom was again really spacious. We hotel is just a 5-10min walk to the Vatican City (which was amazing) and also within easy walking distance to other places such as Piazza Novona, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and a lovely shopping area. You could walk to the Coliseum but we were quite worn out by then so we took the Metro which was quick and cheap to use – but very busy at peak times! On my birthday my partner proposed by the Trevi Fountain and he had told his plans to Lilli and Georgia. When we returned back to the hotel (I did say yes by the way!) they had arranged and birthday card and birthday cake as well as a bottle of Prosecco, a single red rose and also a souvenir of the Trevi Fountain! The efforts that they went to to help make it such a special day was really fantastic and unexpected and I was really grateful for all that they did!!! The breakfast in the morning was always brought in by Lillie who we found really kind and chatty. The breakfast itself was delicious – tea/coffe, juice, sweet rolls, pastries and spreads and it was really nice to have breakfast in bed everyday. Georgia recommended a couple of places to eat including San Marcos Pizzeria and an ice cream parlour both of which were just a few minutes walk from the hotel and we thoroughly recommend both!! In total we were there for 4 nights and the service was fantastic with a real personal touch from both Lillie and Georgia. We will certainly be returning to Rome again and we will certainly book the Hotel Roma Vaticano again – it has everything you need with great staff who went out of their way to make this a trip to remember! Thank you both of you!!!

Room Tip: The Coliseum room seemed to be the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG Brazil
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I come to Rome for four days last February with my wife to visit this ancestry city. I booked previously Hotel Rome Vatican after reading Tripadvisor recommendations and was not fooled. The hotel is situated on the third floor of an old but well preserved building near the Vatican and has only seven rooms. We stayed at the Colosseum room that we recommend to everyone. This is a noiseless room with double glass windows that prevent the street noise to enter in. The room is excellent with two double beds and with all facilities with a LED TV display. The bathroom is also very good. The breakfast is served in the room every day at the time you scheduled with the reception. The girls who attend at the reception are very kind and attentive helping you on everything you may need, booking excursions all over the city, restaurants and recommending all good places to visit and eat. I indicate this hotel for everyone as it is near the Lepanto subway station, Castle Saint Angel, Cavour Square, the Vatican and the Tevere river, not mentioning the very good daily rates. There are a lot of good restaurants nearby. My only restriction is the elevator that takes you to the third floor. It is tiny (only two people inside), very old, difficult to operate and completely manual. You have to close two doors to make it function. In spite of those problems it is well maintained, clean and functions perfectly.

Room Tip: Ask for the Colosseum room and you will get the refrigerator full of amenities for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinematics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#193 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Prati
Nautilus Hotel
Nautilus Hotel
#480 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Prati
Hotel Gerber
Hotel Gerber
#370 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#232 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#285 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Prati
Hotel Dei Consoli
Hotel Dei Consoli
#505 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma Vaticano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma Vaticano

Property: Hotel Roma Vaticano
Address: Via Attilio Regolo 19, 00192 Rome, Italy (Formerly San Michele Hotel)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Roma Vaticano 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roma Vaticano is an elegant boutique Hotel located in the centre of Rome, a few steps from the Vatican, from St. Peter’s Square and Piazza del Popolo. Hosted in an historical building in the heart of Prati district, the Hotel Roma Vaticano has just been renovated and is the ideal place for those looking for a comfortable and relaxing stay. Our location will allow you to reach in few minutes all the major monuments and the most beautiful plazas in Rome: St. Peter’s Square and the Vatican, St. Angel’s Castle, Piazza del Popolo, the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Navona Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Roma Vaticano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing