We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Roma Vaticano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Roma Vaticano
Ranked #314 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from honeymoon in Rome and stayed at this lovely boutique hotel right in the heart of the Prati district. Only a five minutes stroll from St. Peters and the Vatican and a central base from which to explore this wonderful city. On arrival Lili couldn't have been any more friendlier or helpful providing us with information about where to go and what to see in this beautiful city. As it was our honeymoon on entering the room was surprised by a bottle of champagne, candles and a bouquet of flowers. Lovely touch. Loved the continental breakfasts too which was brought in your room which i thought was really romantic. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a friendly and comfortable place to stay in Rome. One piece of advise i would give is to take comfy shoes as there are so many places to see I have returned home with blisters on my blisters! I would definately come back and stay here on our next visit to Rome.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    97
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
221
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
croydon
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

What a fantastic stay at this hotel and in Rome. Room as others had already mentioned, really lovely. Giorgia and Lili can't do enough for you and always give great advice on where to go and where not to. Location of hotel was great, central to everywhere really. We booked the taxi from and to the airport with the hotel in advance which is about 40 minutes drive away, glad we did. It was my 50th birthday while we were there and they presented me with a bottle of prosecco, cake with candle and a card, how sweet.

We booked two trips for our short break, one to the Colosseum and one to the Vatican which were both really informative. The Vatican is so close, walk within 5 minutes, went on the Wednesday to see the Pope and to be honest, you can get a ticket for the Vatican for 16 Euros and go around yourself, just make sure you read up about it all before you go or take a travel guide book. The furthest attraction was the Colosseum which would probably take you about 30 minutes to walk there but a taxi cost 10 Euros each way. We originally booked these trips as they all state 'skip the queues' that wasn't strickly true - okay, it was the Easter holidays so things were busier than usual but we waited between 35 and 45 minutes with the guides to gain access, think we would have been quicker visiting by ourselves, and cheaper, I guess everyone needs to make a living though. I would definately do the tour of the Coloseum, very informative. We walked to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain which was about a 10 minutes walk and then enjoy all the other attractions, obviously they do tours for these sites as well but just go yourselves, you have your map and won't get lost. Again. Giorgia and Lili will give you a map and point out wherever you want to go.

For my birthday Giorgia suggested the 3Quarti restaurant which is right next door ( I looked at the reviews on Trip Adviser beforehand!), yes it was special, highly recommend, was quite expensive but it was my special birthday, but having said that, all three of us had starters, mains of Danish steak, sides, desserts and wine also dessert wine and cost 140 Euros (£125), Most meals with wine were costing around 60/ 70 Euros for 3 of us. Also, a couple of cappacinos and hot chocolate outside of a bistro/cafe was costing up around 4 to 5 Euros. I didnt think Rome was expensive as I thought it would be, you can do it all cheap if that is what you are looking for as there are lots of takeway pizza places also. We arrived about 8.30pm on Sunday and decided to get a couple of pizzas from a local restaurant with drink and it cost 20 Euros which I didnt think was bad, they were lovely huge pizzas, enough for 3 of us. As you would expect lots of restaurants everywhere so probably look out for the ones that have lots of people eating at them which gives you an idea of how popular they are! Lots of shops around if this is something you want to do as well. There is a lovely little coffee shop directly over the road from the hotel on the corner, they sell wonderful pastries etc, only opened in December but people constantly use this place and we found it to be lovely!

Can't rate our break highly enough, loved everything, go and enjoy!!

Room Tip: Loved our room which was the Colesseuo room which overlooked the main street, fabulous to watch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel has only 7 bedrooms and is on the third floor of a lovely building just off the via Cola di Rienzo a very nice shopping street. The hotel staff bring you breakfast in your room at the prearranged style. The rooms are comfortable and have all that you need. It is very quiet. All the staff were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMcC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Really impressed with Hotel Roma Vaticano and would stay there again in a heartbeat. Great location, in an upmarket area of Rome, near to the Metro, which is very easy to use. The welcome was warm and friendly, the staff are great (thank you so much Giorgia and Lili). We stayed in the 'Castel S.Angelo' room, which was quiet, looking onto an interior yard, no traffic noise. It was very clean and modern and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable, there was a large wardrobe, drawers, safe deposit box, mini bar refridgerator, dressing table, chairs, remote control air conditioning, tv (no english channel), free wifi and a modern bathroom (shower only, but large) with shampoo, soap & hairdryer. We also arrived to a lovely bottle of cold Prosecco, as I had mentioned that it was my husbands 40th birthday. Lovely touch.

Breakfast is provided in your room at whichever time you request and is a lovely start to the day. Fruit juice, yogurt, cereal, bread roll, croissant, tea, coffee and spreads. You are given keys for your room and the exterior and interior doors of the hotel, as well as an entry code as the staff are not there between 11pm and 7am.

We had a great stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TabithaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I spent 7 nights with a colleague in Rome in late March at the hotel. Everyone at the front desk was incredibly friendly and helpful. The location is east of the Vatican and west of the Piazza del Popolo-perfect for walking to the sights in Rome. The metro is 3 short blocks away. The room was not large but very clean and functional. The breakfast was excellent-pastries, cereal, juice and it came with the room. It is half a block north of Via Cola di Rienzo which is a very nice shopping area and has many great places to eat. If you want somewhere that is not "touristy" and in a safe area, I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Great place to eat gelato 1 1/2 blocks away!

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms in the hotel. It is located on the 3 floor of a office building accessible b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Nothing bad to say about this small boutique hotel. Georgia, the manager was a delight and very helpful.

The room was a good size and clean and comfortable and the bathroom was large and modern. Breakfast, brought to the room was all we needed. It is in walking distance to The Vatican and good restaurants and shopping. When we were leaving they booked a private car to the airport, which cost a reasonable 40 Euros. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnandrews62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

LOCATION

The hotel is situated in a quieter part of Rome: the Prati area is a far cry from the super touristy parts of the city, which is what we loved about it. The neighbourhood was pleasant and quiet but within reasonable walking distance of a number of sites (closest of which is, of course, the Vatican). The hotel is also a few minutes away from the Lepanto metro station.

There is a supermarket just around the block from the hotel, which was a great place to pick up any bottles of water, necessities, etc.

(Additionally, one of our favourite spots was Gelateria dei Gracchi, which was a mere two minute walk from the hotel. Authentic, delicious, and popular with tourists and locals alike - we went there everyday!)

ROOM/AMENITIES/ETC

We stayed in the San Pietro room, which – to our pleasant surprise (as we were expecting the smaller-sized hotel rooms typical of Europe) – was incredibly spacious. Looking at other reviews, however, it seems that spaciousness is not a consistent trait across the different rooms at Roma Vaticano. Speaking for our San Pietro room, however, we were extremely comfortable with the space in which we had to move around/store our items/etc.

Breakfast is served in the room: you can tick off items you would like to eat and leave it with the front desk, and you can indicate when you would like breakfast to be delivered to your room. The breakfast items (pastries, fruit, coffee, etc) were nothing to write home about but were a nice way to start the morning.

SERVICE

As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is not staffed 24 hours a day. Rather, we were provided with a phone number to call in the event that we needed anything between the hours of 11PM and 7AM. We did not find this to be an issue, as we did not find ourselves in need of anything during the nighttime. The woman who checked us into the hotel was very quick to provide us with an overview of the sites we could visit and circled some of the main attractions we should visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the San Pietro room, which was very roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PocketfulOf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#198 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#187 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Prati
Nautilus Hotel
Nautilus Hotel
#498 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Fabio Massimo Design Hotel
Fabio Massimo Design Hotel
#114 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#315 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Prati
Hotel Prati
Hotel Prati
#467 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma Vaticano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma Vaticano

Property: Hotel Roma Vaticano
Address: Via Attilio Regolo 19, 00192 Rome, Italy (Formerly San Michele Hotel)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Roma Vaticano 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roma Vaticano is an elegant boutique Hotel located in the centre of Rome, a few steps from the Vatican, from St. Peter’s Square and Piazza del Popolo. Hosted in an historical building in the heart of Prati district, the Hotel Roma Vaticano has just been renovated and is the ideal place for those looking for a comfortable and relaxing stay. Our location will allow you to reach in few minutes all the major monuments and the most beautiful plazas in Rome: St. Peter’s Square and the Vatican, St. Angel’s Castle, Piazza del Popolo, the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Navona Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Roma Vaticano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing