We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night's sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Roma Vaticano
Ranked #316 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great night's sleep!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed in the Pantheon room. Hands down the best thing about this hotel was the phenomenal blackout drapes, sleeping was such a breeze.

Pros: Great comfortable beds, great drapes, amazing location.

We walked everywhere, the Vatican is 10 minutes down the street.
Great quiet area. Feel very safe at night walking beside little old ladies and their dogs. Very easy to get to from Lepanto station on the metro. Shopping nearby including a pharmacy.

The room was very clean, the air conditioning was very efficient. Came back from the oppressive Roman heat and the room was cold to welcome us. Also, great bathroom size!

Cons: Not many restaurants nearby.

The staff although friendly were not very engaging; asked them for recommendations for dinner and they didn't have much to say just that essentially all restaurants in Rome are good, but perhaps there was just a language barrier.

Not actually a con, but the room size and breakfast selection were both just typical of Europe and nothing special.

Top tip, for a night out, stay on this side of the river and walk to Santa Maria in Trastevere by way of the river to experience amazing local nightlife. Things get started pretty late though.

Would definitely recommend to friends. We were two adult females.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaryna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    97
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
222
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
S. California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Others have covered the hotel and excellent staff well. I'll add a few additional items:
- They have modern dual-pane windows that do a wonderful job of shutting out street noise.
- A PAM Express grocery is a short walk away.
- This hotel is in a relatively quiet area with all required services nearby. We have stayed in Rome a few times before and previously opted to stay closer to tourist sites. There are pros/cons to both approaches. Consider what will best meet your needs as Rome is harder to get around than some other big European cities and the weather can be oppressive. It's great to have a quiet refuge to come home to, but it's also great to be able to step outside and be in the middle of things. Hotel Roma Vaticano is a great quiet refuge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlr575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

It was my husband and I first time in Italy's and we spent 3 nights at Roma Vaticano. It was a really a pleasant experience. We knew from other reviews that the hotel was part of a complex or building which made it a less easier to find. We first met Lili, she was so friendly and helpful from the moment we met her. She recommended places we should visit and showed us where they were on the map, other hotels don't do this until you ask.

The rooms were modern and most importantly they we're clean. Lili and Gorgia do such a great job, only one of them will be there each shift where one person does everything from cleaning, serving breakfast and being the receptionist. Even though this is the case, nothing falls short, everything meets and exceeds expectations. Gorgia was also very friendly when we first met her on the second evening of our stay.

Breakfast is served in your room which is great, because at Rome you are mainly there to see all the attractions which you get very tired after many hours of walking. Getting served breakfast in bed is great and you can get breakfast at the time you choose. Breakfast was always on time.

John was also very helpful on the last night we decided to stay in and rest. He was more than willing to help when we asked for things.

The hotel is in a great location, really close to shops, restaurants, the Vatican City, Castle St Angelo and about 5 minutes to the metro and buses.

To top this off this hotel is value for money in Rome. If we had to visit Rome again, no second thoughts we would stay here again.

Great experience! Well done to Lili, Gorgia and John for making our stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny_Min_Min
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
329 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a good, clean hotel 5 minutes from the Vatican and very central to other landmarks of Rome. The staff are very good, special mention to Georgia who helped with our flight tickets, taxi to airport and advice on where eat. The room was small and had no view but we were not in Rome to hang out in the room. Breakfast is a generous continental brought to your room, theer is a very good coffee bar/cafe accross the street if you want something more.

Room Tip: Rooms are basic, no views and small but clean. There is no gym. The hotel is on the 3rd floor but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I were visiting Europe together for the first time. We spent 3 nights at Roma Vaticano and it was a wonderful experience. The room was small but that's Europe! The service was absolutely awesome. It is a very small hotel with few rooms, so the staff is very attentive. There is always someone right there to answer any question or address any concerns. Giorgia and Lili were very sweet and helpful. There is a great breakfast that they bring to you every morning at whatever time you prefer. It is a great way to enjoy a romantic breakfast in bed with your honey. The main reason we booked the hotel was because it was close to the Vatican. It is within walking distance of the vatican and the castle of san angelo. There are also some great stores and restaurants in the area. Overall a great place to stay for first time Europe travelers!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel in May for our honeymoon and would highly recommend it for anyone looking to stay in comfort whilst visiting Rome. The hotel was in a good location (easy access by foot, metro or taxi) to all major Rome sites. We walked everywhere but legs were pretty tired by the end of the 4 days! There was a small choice of restaurants locally (the one next door was particularly good if you want to stay local). You are also a 20 minute walk to Trastervere area which is great for restaurants and night life. There are plenty of shops and facilities on your door step too. The hotel is easy to walk past when you first arrive, as just a door way opposite Calvin Klein Store (the hotel is in building which also houses office businesses etc)!

The hotel itself was great. Very clean throughout. The room was a good size (compared to other major European city centre hotels I have stayed in) with modern well working facilities and a comfy bed. Breakfast was served in your room at a time to suit you so no need to get dressed to go to breakfast at silly o'clock in the morning! Breakfast was a bit limited but filled us up enough for the 4 days we were there.

The thing that set this hotel apart from other city hotels I have stayed in (as well as the large room) was the service received by Giorgia and Lili who could not have been more helpful before, throughout and after our stay. They were very knowledgeable of the area and were geniune with their help and advice. Both spoke fantastic English and no request from us seemed a bother to them. We left in a bit of a rush and I left some expensive earrings in the room safe as well as a few clothing items. They could not have been more helpful in trying to source a courier to return these items to me. Thank you Hotel Roma Vaticano and your wonderful staff for a fantastic stay and I will recommend you to everyone I speak to and will certainly be back to stay in our next visit to Rome!

Room Tip: Our room faced the main road so was rather noisy in the mornings, not sure if other rooms on other s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great find. A 15 minute walk to Vatican City. Very attentive staff. There was a mix-up with our reservation so we were upgraded to a larger room and were not charged for the mini bar. A strange hotel location, on the 3rd floor of an office building. Many good restaurants within a few block walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenpro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#228 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Prati
Nautilus Hotel
Nautilus Hotel
#478 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Prati
Hotel Gerber
Hotel Gerber
#388 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#191 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#294 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Prati
Hotel Dei Consoli
Hotel Dei Consoli
#507 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma Vaticano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma Vaticano

Property: Hotel Roma Vaticano
Address: Via Attilio Regolo 19, 00192 Rome, Italy (Formerly San Michele Hotel)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Roma Vaticano 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roma Vaticano is an elegant boutique Hotel located in the centre of Rome, a few steps from the Vatican, from St. Peter’s Square and Piazza del Popolo. Hosted in an historical building in the heart of Prati district, the Hotel Roma Vaticano has just been renovated and is the ideal place for those looking for a comfortable and relaxing stay. Our location will allow you to reach in few minutes all the major monuments and the most beautiful plazas in Rome: St. Peter’s Square and the Vatican, St. Angel’s Castle, Piazza del Popolo, the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Navona Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Roma Vaticano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing