We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a warm, friendly place to stay, fantastic location”
Review of Albergo Tizi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergo Tizi
Ranked #1,067 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Teignmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a warm, friendly place to stay, fantastic location”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

from viewing past reviews of this hotel i was slightly concerned when planning to stay here. I came with a large group of art students, and i couldn't complain atall.The family who run the hotel couldn't be more welcoming, the rooms were warm- typically italian decor but clean and what we needed after a long day seeing the city. The food was pleasant, and location was central. I would certainly recommend it for large groups.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights with a school group in July. We weren't expecting much so we were pleasantly surprised. We had a warm welcome from our hosts; despite a few language problems, they soon worked out what I was going on about and made an effort to understand my terrible Italian.
All the rooms were of a good size with no squeezing or squashing and all were scrupulously clean and remained so throughout. Breakfast was plentiful and dinners were generous. Often, hotels scrimp on food for school groups but not this one. The children were encouraged to eat more if they wanted it and our hosts took pleasure in seeing them enjoy their food.
It's obviously not a five- star experience but it was good value, comfortable and efficient. If I were to criticise, I'd say there were a couple of rooms that had to share a bathroom and they were on a floor where a guest not from our group was staying which wasn't really acceptable for a school group so we had to do a room re-shuffle.
The staff were keen to keep the place quiet at night. We were asked to keep the noise down once or twice when it wasn't us but it wasn't unpleasant and we appreciated the sentiment.
Finally, a word on the location. It's not in the centre of the city but it's a 5-10 minute walk (depending on your speed) to the Trevi Fountain or Spanish Steps and less to Barberini metro stop. The walk is through what seems to be a safe area and it's nice and quiet at night.
Would definitely recommend this for large groups or for budget travellers.

Room Tip: Check to make sure you've got an en suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne_Herlihy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

When you stay 5 nights, two persons, including breakfast, with our own bathroom, for the total price of 270 Eur, you don't (you shouldn't) expect much. We got very good value for money! Nice clean rooms where everything worked. Nice big wardrobe cabinet. No air condition, but a fan. There was even a TV (but we didn't use it).
A few simple things could have improved the room: A mirror other than in the bathroom, one or two coat racks, light bulbs with a more "warm" color (energy efficient does not have to be cold blue) and some bedside lamps. But those are minor details.
The breakfast wasn't much to write about, but it was just what we needed, and the service was friendly.

The best part about the hotel is the location. We walked to everything, even the Vatican, Colosseum and Trastevere. Some might find f.ex. Trastevere a long walk, but anyway, it's only 15 minutes to Termini and 20 minutes to the center (f.eks. Pantheon).
The neighbourhood is nice and quiet, and there are some excellent restaurants close by. The best one we found was Trattoria Cadorna, and it's with 100 meters! La Cantinola just around the other corner, is also very good.

Albergo Tizi doesn't look like much, and a few things could be better, but we have nothing to complain about. Recommended if you want to save a little on the Hotel, since you are roaming the city all day anyway.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Niels P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights during a short stay in Rome. Hotel in duch wasn't bad, but too pricy for what we got. Lication wise it was excellent though - 7min walk to Termini station.

A few things that I was not too happy with: the rooms and price. Quite expensive for what we got, which was basically a bed and breakfast (coffee and croissant). The room was very bleak with only a bed, a washing sink and a small table. Somehow the white bare walls gave it a cheap and sad feel..

This said the staff were friendly although the service was almost nonexistant. Still the location was why we stayed there and as we only spent a few hours a night in the room, I'm not too unhappy about staying there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank PeteEspoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

aka. Hotel Tizi - By either name, it is awful. The one and only redeeming feature of this place was the owner's daughter, who welcomed us nicely, called museums for us, handled the payments and made us feel comfortable upon our early arrival.

However, she was not always there and her gruff father and brother fell terribly short of filling her shoes. In the afternoon, we taken lead downstairs to our room, an awful room that reeked of cigarette smoke. The guy who took us there even pointed out the ash tray and suggested we smoke near the window, but don't leave the barred window open because items could be stolen. Our reservations specified a "strictly non-smoking" room, but even after I pointed this out, they only gave us some fans and had us stay in this awful room for one night before changing us. They offered no discount. Half of the lights didn't work and when they made a big show of coming down to replace a bulb, I realized that these lamps needed to be rewired because they were the problem, not the bulbs. It even looked like there had been a fire over one. I couldn't believe they actually rent rooms like this! Horrible.

The next morning, we went down for breakfast just before 10am, as they had told us it was served until then. It was comically bad. The stale sugar glazed croissant was so bad I couldn't finish it. Our host shoved the dregs of the tea at me, and I had to ask for a fresh pot. Somehow the bread was terrible, too. There was one obese guest in the large room when we came in and our host had ushered us over to sit at her table. As we tried to get down some of our food, she started having gulping breaths and making odd wheezing noises, having some kind of health issue. The host kept coming back and glowering at us, and I just wanted to leave.

Why did we stay, you might ask? Well, our friend was supposed to meet us at this hotel the next day and I did not have a way to contact her. (As it happened, she took one look at her room and switched hotels, but that was the next day.) Since the 2nd room they gave us was not smoky, we decided to stay and simply avoided having the breakfast again. This hotel was a dud in an otherwise decent area. Our friend stayed down the street in a much nicer, albeit more expensive, place.

There may be "non-smoking" signs and fire extinguishers in each hall of this hotel, but there are many times more ash trays set out in the rooms and hallways. Blegh!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GradStudentSpouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

If you like mints on your pillow, 24 hour room service and his and hers complimentary bathrobes, this probably isn't for you. But if you want a friendly, quiet base to come home to after hours of walking around Rome, this is a great place. It's about 15 minutes' walk from Termini Station in a quiet back street two blocks north of the finance ministry, with coffee shops and restaurants nearby if needed. The area felt very safe both by day and night. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the breakfast of rolls and coffee (which was included in the price) set you up for the day. Our room was away from the street, and very quiet. The boys had a room facing the street, which was a bit more noisy, but the double glazed windows shut the noise out very effectively (although not sure how that would be in the summer as there is no air con). Bathrooms were clean, although like a lot of the decor, looked a bit tired, and there are a few DIY jobs that need doing, but the showers were lovely and hot and we got clean towels every day. It's a short walk to the Borghese gardens, Spanish Steps and the Barberini, a bit further to the Pantheon and Colosseum, but it can be done. We actually walked to the Vatican (2.7 miles - it took us 68 minutes and there is a lot of interesting stuff on the way) but taxis and buses are available from the Via XX Settembre a short walk away if you prefer. It's definitely no frills but for a family on a budget like us, it was just the job.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Metella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Affittacamere Aries
Affittacamere Aries
#829 of 1,257 in Rome
40 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cressy
Hotel Cressy
#817 of 1,257 in Rome
120 reviews
Esquilino
Pensione Giamaica
Pensione Giamaica
#680 of 1,257 in Rome
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Giotto Flavia
Hotel Giotto Flavia
#1,031 of 1,257 in Rome
179 reviews
Esquilino
Bixio Hotel
Bixio Hotel
#809 of 1,257 in Rome
61 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#716 of 1,257 in Rome
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Tizi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Tizi

Property: Albergo Tizi
Address: Via Collina 48, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,067 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Tizi 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo Tizi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Tizi Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing