We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
207
199
29
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
199
29
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ponte lungo fiumicino airport metro station local train yogurt direct train san giovanni convenience store european breakfast an early flight some great restaurants will stay there again centre of rome minute walk spoke english late at night first floor
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I would compare this to staying in a Red Roof in America. Room is adequate size and we had no trouble moving around with two suitcases in tow. Air Conditioning worked great. Only two complaints I have about the room 1). The Bed was too firm and I could not adjust to it and 2). The shower leaks all over the floor unless you have the door closed perfectly. Free WIFI is offered but it only seemed to work in the lobby area. Breakfast is decent enough. The front desk staff are very helpful with calling for transport and directions. Subway station is a five minute walk from the hotel and it only was a 10 minute ride to the main attractions. Very easy to get around once you get your bearings. We stayed for 2 nights and I would use this hotel again . Why pay more to stay in the center of Rome when it is only a short subway ride away!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jman187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Guest,
first of all thanks to have been our guest. The breakfast is homemade and the hot drinks are served at the table upon request. The Hotel Tuscolana is situated in a really good area, less than 100 meters from the underground that connect the city center in less than 10 minutes. The Hotel is well equipped and recently renovated with all comfort like air conditioner and free wi fi connection. Thank you very much to advice us for the wi fi connection, we will check the network. All the staff is well trained to give to you all the information to live Rome in a good way and many thanks for the compliment. I hope that you can come back as soon as you can.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Argentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

If you are looking for the chain hotel experience with the businessman's facilities then don't head for the Tuscolana. If however you want a genuine welcome, friendly staff and a taste of local hospitality with good comfortable rooms all of which is kept spotlessly clean then the Tuscolana could be the hotel for you in Rome. This is one of the nicest and most helpful places I have stayed - nothing was too much trouble for the team and everything was well organised. The hotel is not in the centre of the city but that is in many ways an advantage - the airport is an easy 30 minute train ride and the metro takes just a few minutes into the centre and all the sights. There are good local restaurants with no tourists in them and the whole experience for a short trip to Rome was fantastic. Why can't more hotels be like this?

Room Tip: If you are not a city person ask for a room facing away from the Via Tuscolana - they are all double glazed but the traffic noise can still be heard.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZTraveller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Guest
thank you to have been our guest at the Hotel Tuscolana for your trip in Rome. All the staff is always attentive and well prepared to answer your required. This is a part of the job of the concierge, make you feel at home. The breakfast is homemade every day with fresh and genuine products, while hot drinks are served at the table, and at the time of the request. The recently refurbished rooms allow you to have all the comfort you want after a day around Rome.
I hope you come back soon and visit us.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Argentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I just returned from a 4 night stay at the Hotel Tuscolana. On arrival I was greeted by 2 people on reception, both were welcoming and made the Check In /Check out Fast and Simple.

I was given 2 remotes 1 for TV and 1 for Air Con (all included in price), I was also give a map with the main attractions circled and how to get to them and also advice on the local area where to eat Ect… .
The room was clean and quite adequate for our stay, the room had a double bed (very comfortable) and the bathroom was clean and had a good shower, the room was cleaned every day and used towels were replaced with fresh clean ones, the room had a mini fridge and a SAFE (which I couldn’t get to work).

Breakfast was good with a selection of cereals/cold meats/cheese/fruit/freshly baked pastries and tea & coffee, the lady who worked behind the breakfast bar was very helpful and did her job well. You pick your table and bring up your plate and you help yourself to what is available and your hot drinks are brought to your table.

The location of the hotel (even tho it's situated outside of the city) was extremely convenient 3/5 minute walk to the Underground/Metro (Ponte Lungo Metro Station which is on the A lines) you come out of Metro station and head down Via Gela until you reach Via Tuscolana, cross the street there and turn left and the hotel is situated just up on the RHS.

From the airport (FCO) you can get the FR1 train (8 Euros) heading towards ORTE and it is 9 stops to Roma Tuscolana (it maybe a bit slower but it is the most direct way) From the platform you walk down a ramp onto Via Tuscolana (there is a kiosk at end of ramp) and turn right and head under bridge until you reach hotel 2 blocks on RHS.

The area is quiet and safe, it is within walking distance to local shops (mini mart down beside train station) and restaurants and you can easily walk to some of the main attractions, Re Di Roma and San Giovanni (both on Metro line A) are near by and have some more shops in that area.

So overall I was very pleased with this hotel and will stay here when I am in Rome again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guest
we are very glad that you enjoyed staying and that he appreciated our work. The Tuscolana Hotel, recently renovated, is equipped with every amenity you can find hotels in more expensive and of higher category. The shower, cromotherapy, wi fi and homemade breakfast are our strengths. Cleaning is meticulous and careful, because all the staff have always been the best to make your stay in Rome unforgettable.
Thank you for the compliments and I hope you come back and visit us soon.
Sincerely
Giuseppe Argentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I and my husband stayed in this hotel for 4 nights.
The hotel is in a quite area - Via Tuscolana . It is away from the hustle bustle of all the touristy areas yet very well connected- hardly 5 min walking distance from Tuscolana Station & Ponte Lungo Metro. From Fiumicino airport - Tuscolana station is 30 min by train & 8 euro per person. Nearest Metro station is Ponte Lungo - Termini is 5 stops away & takes 8 - 10 min to reach termini
People at the Hotel reception were extremely helpful & guided us well. Breakfast is very good & the cappuccino - mind blowing. Loved our stay here.
Will definitely recommend to my folks planing a visit to rome

Room Tip: If you dont have too much luggage with you - the small double room is decent enough for a stay.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krithika_2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing us and for having written these beautiful words.
The Tuscolana Hotel is a small property located in a nice neighborhood and how did you see the center of Rome is easily reached .
We care about our guests, so the hotel is equipped with every comfort and the breakfast is homemade with fresh and genuine products. All the staff is always at your disposal to live Rome in a good way and many thanks for having recognized.
I hope to come back and see us again.
Best Regards
Argentina Giuseppe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Nice hotel situated outside of the city center, the room are spacious and the bathrooms completely renewed. If your window is on the via Tuscolana side it might get a little noisy. Breakfast was very good, great cappuccino and croissant, they bake heir own cakes and make their own yogurt. The staff is very friendy and helpful we dealt a lot with Francesca but the others were also good. If you have a car you can park in the blue lines in front of the hotel for 4 euro every 8 hours. Also the room are aircontitioned, you get a remote to control the temperature at check-in and it is included in the price. The metro is like a block away and brings you to the major places. WiFi was very slow and sometime not able to connect from the bedroom but other than that I would recommend it to my friends and use it in the future.

Room Tip: Away from via Tuscolana.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ballinoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your compliments, which are always nice and I give you thanks to have choose the Hotel Tuscolana for your holiday in Rome. All the staff always made the best to make you feel at home and we are available 24 h 24 h to give you all the information you need to live Rome in the correct way. The materials in the room are all made in Italy. Especially the bed has the special feature that stores the shape of the body for a proper rest. The Hotel Tuscolana is situated close to the metro that connect the city center and all the main tourist attractions, such as the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, Piazza del Popolo and the Vatican Museums.
The breakfast is complitely home made from our pastry chef and the coffies are served at the table upon the request.
Best Regards
Giovanni Argentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews