We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation with great service”
Review of Hotel Tuscolana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tuscolana
Ranked #260 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is very basic, not really nice looking, but is very clean and the personnel is very nice and helpful.

It is very easy to access from airport - straight train that leaves you next to the hotel. And the metro station is 5min walking from the hotel (on the red line from which you directly access most touristic sites).

The area is actually quite ugly looking, dirty and it doesn't seem totally safe (at night), but if you're not alone and you use the hotel only to sleep and shower, it should work just fine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndaCristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest.
First of all thank you very much to have been our guest having choose the Hotel Tuscolana for you stay in Rome. The Hotel Tuscolana is recently renovated and into the rooms there are all important amenities. The breakfast is always included and it is prepared with fresh and genuine product ever day from our pastry chef. The location is very good to visit the city, because nearby there is the train station and the underground that connect the city center in less than 10 minutes. In this area, that is not the city center of a big city like Rome, there are lots really good restaurant and shops. All the staff is always at your disposal to give to you all you need to live Rome in a god way. We always try to do our best . We hope that you can come back as soon as you can.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Argentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and had a great time. Rooms were clean and very quiet. Breakfast was very good and tasty. Very location is great with easy access to both the Metro for getting around and to a train station for arrivals from the airport. We're coming back for our next visit to Rome.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,
first of all thank you very much to have been our nice guest. The location of the Hotel Tuscolana is good to visit the city because with the close underground you can go in the city center in less than 10 minutes. Nearby there lots of good roman restaurant and all the staff is always at your disposal to give to you all the information and reservation to live Rome is a good way. The breakfast is homemade and the hot drinks are served always at the table and we prepare everything with fresh and genuine product. For the next time don’t hesitate to contact us directly.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Argentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed for 6 days at this Hotel in May. The Hotel is very accessible for Rome city centre Metro stop only 5 mins from Hotel. The main reason for writing review is the outstanding customer service we received whilst staying in the Hotel. We would like to say a big thanks to the team at Hotel (especially the two ladies on reception) nothing seem too much trouble especially when we asked to change to another room. We always seemed to be asking for things whether a train time, a place to eat, borrow a charger for the phone and more...all I can say is the service exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: ground floor room next to reception very noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,
first of all thank you very much to have been our nice guest. The location of the hotel Tuscolana is great because you can go to the city center with the near underground and also because is full of roman restaurant and nice shops . Thank you to understand that we work with passion and love every day and for us is a pleasure to help you to live Rome in a good way. Our Hotel is always open and it is part of our job suggest you. We hope that you can come back as soon as you can.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Argentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

we stayed in this hotel 4 nights in May. the main advantage of this hotel is the location, it's located 5 min walk from Punto Lungo Metro station which is 15 min from the city center, and 2 min walk from the train to the airport (cost 8 euro).
when we arrived there was some problem with our room, but the lady on the front desk was very nice, make as a great cappuccino and gave us some tips for the city.
the room was clean but small, but as budget hotel it was more then enough. the breakfast was ok - as i said before great cappuccino, with croissants and fruits salad.
one disadvantage was in our first night after getting stuck in a massive rain we arrived back at 01:00 AM to the room and wanted to shower but there wasn't hot water.
for conclusion we were enjoyed our stay in the hotel, the staff were nice and helpful, combined it with the location - we will defiently come back to this hotel in our next's visits

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear guest,
first of all thank you very much to have been our nice guest. The Hotel Tuscolana is always open 24 h and we always help you to live Rome in a good way for you need, thank you to understand it. The location is good because nearby there is the subway that connect the city center in few minutes, also the train station must be connect you with the airport in a few minutes. The breakfast is home made with genuine product every day and the hot drinks, such as cappuccino, espresso and something like that are served at the table upon request. We are really sorry about the inconvenient that you found during the night with the shower , we really apologies. However the morning after you had the hot water.
We hope that you can come back as soon as you can.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Argentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

The small hotel has 20 rooms. it is located near the metro station "ponte lungo" (7min to walk), which is ca.20 min away from the old town. The Train station Tuscolana is also very close, good for arrival from the airport, you don't have to change a train (ticket ?8.00, don't take the expensive express train).
The staff at the reception is really nice and helped us with our questions. The check-in was easy & fast, we got our room directly at 10.00 in the morning.
The breakfast was not as good as we hoped for. I know that the Italiens aren't used to eat a big breakfast, but the choice of food didn't change within 3 days. There were always just Mortadella and a normal cheese. The panini, croissants and other things were often empty and you always had to ask if there is some more. The staff was quite overtaxed even with just 6 people to serve.
But I have to say,that the coffee was great.
Our room was clean and on the first floor. I missed a closet or a cupboard for the clothes, but we had a safe and a mini fridge for free in the room. Like almost every hotel room, this was also badly soundproofed. you could here the party above in the appartement and when someone was singing or moving the table. This was disturbing when you want to sleep after 10 hours walking through the great city.
By the way: the area around the hotel wasn't really pretty.

1  Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Guest.
We are sorry if you have not been good at the Hotel Tuscolana. However we need to answer you about your the negative points you've noticed. All the staff is always at your disposal to give to you all you need to live Rome in a good way. We gave to you the room a 10.00 am instead that 2.00 pm, we gave to you the information about Rome and much more. The location is good to visit the city , because with the near subway you will be in the city center around ten minutes. At the breakfast time we are sorry about that, but you can find a good choice of Italian bakery and international staff. All is home made. The hot drinks are served at the table upon request and is hard to find a tree star hotel that do that. Nothing is too much weight for us, because the assistance to the guest is our strong point as the majority of guest have seen and written. The bar is open until 00.00 and if you need something during the afternoon you have to ask to the concierge or to the bar tender what do you like. About the noise in the rooms we are very sorry. Next time you should call the front desk also during the night and we can tell to the other guest to make silence. The location where we are situated is full of really good restaurant and shops, but is not the city center.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Argentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights. Hotel in a great location for trains & metro for all the sights & also direct train to & from airport. From minute we arrived all staff friendly & helpful. Gave us great advice on travel & where to eat including 2 excellent restaurants within 5 mins walk. Hotel great value considering high quality decor of hotel & rooms. Hotel & rooms very clean. Bathroom very nice & modern. Breakfast buffet good way to start the day. If returned to Rome would have no hesitation booking Hotel Tuscolana.

Room Tip: Our room was cheapest available & we weren't disappointed so confident any room would be ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest .
Thank you to have been our guest. Our professional welcome is a balanced mix between antique traditions and technology. All the staff is always at your disposal to give to you all the information that you need to live Rome. It is our job make you feel at home. Holidays are always amazing at the Hotel Manfredi near Spanish Steps and the most beautiful Roman monuments. The breakfast is home made from our pastry chef that prepares every day: tart, cookies, pam cake, cheese cake, yogurt and much more.
We hope that you can come back as soon as you can.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Argentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in April 2014. The hotel itself is lovely - fairly basic, but has everything you could possibly need in terms of facilities, not to mention free wifi.
It is fairly easy to find as it's only a couple of minutes away from a metro line which takes you directly to the centre.
By far the best part of this hotel though, is the wonderful staff who will do anything to help. Nothing is too much trouble and that is rare in today's society. We were very happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marissa1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear guest
We always put passion and love into our job for which we thank you for your compliments and I hope that you can come back soon. Hotel Tuscolana has been equipped with high quality amenities , such as showers, air conditioning , safety deposit box , room service and wi -fi. The breakfast is homemade with fresh, wholesome , and there is a wide choice. Hot drinks are served at the table by the bartender at the time of the request. In fact this is not the Hotel Tuscolana machine coffee vending machine . The location is very good as the proximity to the metro, about 100 meters , you can reach the center in an easy manner, in about 10 minutes. It is also very well connected to the airport from the nearby train station .
I hope that you can come back and visit us took
Sincerely
Giuseppe Argentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Re di Roma
#157 of 1,272 in Rome
1,337 reviews
Chroma Pente
#208 of 1,272 in Rome
246 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#255 of 1,272 in Rome
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#176 of 1,272 in Rome
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tuscolana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tuscolana

Address: Via Tuscolana 185, 00182 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £49 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tuscolana 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and familiar 3 star hotel, near Piazza San Giovanni in Laterano, is in a strategic location, near the Tuscolana Stations, only 100 meters, and Casilina train Stations and Fiumicino and Ciampino Airports. The hotel is an excellent and economic solution for your stay in Rome, thanks to comfortable and well accessorized rooms, Hotel ideal for short trips and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tuscolana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing