We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Rome”
Review of Hotel Tuscolana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tuscolana
Ranked #266 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value in Rome”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were very happy with our recent stay at the Hotel Tuscolana. It was very conveniently located near a subway and regional train station (<5 minute walk). It was an easy trip via regional train from Fuminci airport. The city center is also easily accessible via subway (and relatively inexpensive €1.50 a trip). The room was on the small side, but this was expected. There is so much to see in Rome that we weren't in the room very much anyway. The breakfast was very good and had a good selection. As others have mentioned, the area is very residential and didn't have a whole lot of restaurants, but the rest of Rome was very accessible, so this wasn't an issue. The price was much better than staying in the city center and was a very good value. It was also very quiet due to the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing us for your vacation in Rome and makes us so pleased that you have enjoyed it. The staff of Hotel Tuscolana is always at your disposal to help you live Rome in the best way possible and we always try to do our best to make you feel at home. The Hotel has been recently renovated and equipped with high quality amenities such as a shower bath and chromotherapy. Breakfast is always included and hot drinks such as cappuccino are served at the table by the bartender. Also the location is great, because the Appio Latino district is full of excellent restaurants serving Roman and below the line of the metro to the center in about 10 minutes.
I hope that you can come back soon.
Best regards
Giuseppe Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    183
    27
    4
    10
See reviews for
68
184
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

It was one of the best stays I have had. The staff is very cordial and soft. I had never visited Rome but the way Irene (the front desk manager there) guided me through a city map was perfect and had no problems in exploring the city.
The room is nice, clean and well attended. The location is good, just 300mts from a metro station.
All in all a great place to stay.
Thanks!!

Room Tip: I had asked for a small double room, but that was also very spacious for 2 people. A good budget opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Apoorv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you very much to have been our nice guest and thank you for the compliment to the staff. We always try to do our best to give to our guest an unforgettable stay in Rome and we are happy that you understood it. For us is very important the guest satisfaction. The Hotel Tuscolana is recently renovated and all the furnished are Made in Italy. The breakfast is home made with fresh and genuine product every day and the hot drinks such as cappuccino or espresso are served at the table upon request. The location is good to visit the city of Rome with the near Line A of subway.
We hope that you can come back as soon as you can.
Best regards
Giuseppe Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

What stands out about this Hotel is the breakfast and the friendliness of the staff. The room we
had was very small, would have liked more space so next time will make sure we book a larger
room at the extra cost. The rooms were very clean and towels changed regularly so no complaints here. Reception was more than helpful. The area not fantastic although our room was quiet and it's just a short walk to the underground so it's easy to get around Rome and see
all the attractions. Make sure you stay long enough though, we extended our stay by two nights
making it nine nights altogether and still did not manage to see all Rome.

Room Tip: Need a larger room. Some double rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J24OHJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your review and to have been our guest at Hotel Tuscolana for your holiday in Rome. All the staff is always at your disposal to make you feel at home and to make your trip unforgettable. All the rooms at Hotel Tuscolana have been recently renovated and equipped with high-quality comfort and a high level of courtesy. It is a family-run hotel where attention to detail, cleanliness and customer are definitely very important. The Hotel is open 24 hours and the location allows you to reach the city center in less than 10 minutes with the nearby subway line. For the next time don’t hesitate to contact us directly, we can help you about the size of the room.
I hope that you can come back as soon as you can.
Kind regards
Giuseppe Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prenton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Would highly recommend this hotel the room is reasonable size and very clean and towels are changed every day. The breakfast is excellent and the staff are more than helpful and friendly. The are itself leaves a bit to be desired as it is mainly residential and there is a lot of graffiti, although this seems the norm in Italy. There is not much in the way of restaurants around the immediate area except one recommended by staff called the Osteria Caveleria, which was excellent family run and very Italian we went twice during our 4 night stay. Also remember to get a local train from Fuminci airport that stops at Tuscolana station. The hotel is just across the road about 400 meters. This aves going to termini and then having to get back to hotel (some distance) and it is also cheaper ticket prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your compliments, which are always nice and thanks to have choose the Hotel Tuscolana for your holiday in Rome. All the staff always try to do the best to make you feel at home and we are open 24 h give you all the information that you need to live Rome in a good way. The materials in the room are all made in Italy. Especially the bed has the special feature that stores the shape of the body for a proper rest. The Hotel Tuscolana is situated close to the metro that connect the city center and all the main tourist attractions, such as the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, Piazza del Popolo and the Vatican Museums.
The breakfast is complitely home made from our pastry chef and the coffies are served at the table upon the request.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Good hotel with excellent breakfast.
The neighborhood it is in seemed a little rough and there was nothing there to speak of but we had no problems, and it did have good access to Tuscolana station, which goes straight to the airport, and to underground stations.
The bed was very soft and the pillows thin, but this is par for the course in Europe. The shower was a little odd- it had a hose attachment but water only came from the fixed mount up top. The staff changed the towels (which not all European hotels do), spoke English and were friendly and helpful.
There was a coin laundry (lavanderia in Italian) near the hotel, which was also helpful.
The best part about this hotel was the breakfast buffet, which was plentiful and delicious. This really fortified us for the heat of the day walking around the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guest
We are happy about your choice in Rome. We always try to do our best to give to you an unforgettable stay in Rome. The staff is always at our disposal to give to you all you need to live Rome in a good way. The breakfast is home made from our pastry chef and you can find : Hot bread, Cereals, Fresh fruit, Homemade fruit salad, muffin, plum cakes, pies, biscuits, cookies, cheese cake, Croissant and mini Croissant, Eggs, Bacon and hot dogs, ham, parma ham, salami, roasted turkey, Cheese, Salt cakes, Homemade yogurts, Fresh juice and Excellent Italian coffee served at the table upon request. Also he location is perfect to visit the city. In fact nearby you can find the underground that connect the city center in less 10 minutes.
We hope that you can come back as soon as you can.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, Zuid-Holland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

What a treat! This hotel is located next to train station Tuscolana, which is great because there's a direct connexion from and to airport Fiumicino. Within 45 minutes you're there. We arrived way before check-in time and asked the huge favour to check us in already so we could explore the beautiful city of Rome. The lady at the desk smiled and checked if there was a room ready. We were in luck! We even got an upgrade, because there weren't standard rooms ready. The room was clean with a safe, airco, tv (which normally wouldn't have been on, but friday Spain-the Netherlands #wk14 was on and we had to see that) and small fridge. Enough storage space for two people.

Breakfast was fresh with fruit, croissants, yoghurt and even pastry. Great cappuccino's! The juices weren't fresh but that is usually the case in 3 star hotels.

Travelling from and to the centre was easy. We took the metro to the major sites. It didn't take us longer than 20min.

Overall, I definitely recommand this lovely hotel with the best service I ever had. The reason that I "only" gave 4 stars is because of the location, but we knew that when we booked and so we knew what we where getting into. But it's good to realize that you need to include travelling time into your itinerary.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank stedentripsvansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest.
First of all thank you very much to have been our guest having choose the Hotel Tuscolana for you stay in Rome. The location is very good to visit the city, because nearby there is the train station and the underground that connect the city center in less than 10 minutes. In this area, that is not the city center of a big city like Rome, there are lots really good restaurant and shops. All the staff is always at your disposal to give to you all you need to live Rome in a good way, even if you need a bigger room, or reservations of restaurant, concert, cars and much more. The Hotel Tuscolana is recently renovated and into the rooms there are all important amenities: like A/C, safe box , free wi fi connection a courtesy line. The breakfast is always included and it is prepared with fresh and genuine product ever day from our pastry chef. The hot drinks such as cappuccino, espresso, te and caffe latte, are prepared upon request and are served at the table.. We always try to do our best . We hope that you can come back as soon as you can.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is very basic, not really nice looking, but is very clean and the personnel is very nice and helpful.

It is very easy to access from airport - straight train that leaves you next to the hotel. And the metro station is 5min walking from the hotel (on the red line from which you directly access most touristic sites).

The area is actually quite ugly looking, dirty and it doesn't seem totally safe (at night), but if you're not alone and you use the hotel only to sleep and shower, it should work just fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndaCristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe A, Direttore at Hotel Tuscolana, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest.
First of all thank you very much to have been our guest having choose the Hotel Tuscolana for you stay in Rome. The Hotel Tuscolana is recently renovated and into the rooms there are all important amenities. The breakfast is always included and it is prepared with fresh and genuine product ever day from our pastry chef. The location is very good to visit the city, because nearby there is the train station and the underground that connect the city center in less than 10 minutes. In this area, that is not the city center of a big city like Rome, there are lots really good restaurant and shops. All the staff is always at your disposal to give to you all you need to live Rome in a god way. We always try to do our best . We hope that you can come back as soon as you can.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#184 of 1,259 in Rome
258 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#220 of 1,259 in Rome
629 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#159 of 1,259 in Rome
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chroma Pente
#176 of 1,259 in Rome
234 reviews
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#185 of 1,259 in Rome
871 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurentia
Hotel Laurentia
#252 of 1,259 in Rome
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tuscolana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tuscolana

Property: Hotel Tuscolana
Address: Via Tuscolana 185, 00182 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tuscolana 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and familiar 3 star hotel, near Piazza San Giovanni in Laterano, is in a strategic location, near the Tuscolana Stations, only 100 meters, and Casilina train Stations and Fiumicino and Ciampino Airports. The hotel is an excellent and economic solution for your stay in Rome, thanks to comfortable and well accessorized rooms, Hotel ideal for short trips and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tuscolana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing