We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SCAM - This place is shocking !!”
Review of Ventura

Ventura
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ventura
Ranked #1,119 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We booked with Eurostar Hotel for 4 nights online for a 10% discount. When we arrived, we were taken across to this hotel and told they would take us as the other hotel has "maintenance issues", but they are both owned by the same person.

As normal, when we checked in they asked for our passports and then told us we need to pay first to get them back. Then we were told it's cash only. Then we were told the hotel tax which should have been 16 euros was 60 euros. Then we were told that we didn't get the 10% discount even though we had already pre-booked online and had all the paperwork with us. We stayed there one night because we had no choice at that time if night (11pm). The room was dirty and there was no internet.

The next day we eventually found the owner across the street and confronted him, he said he owned another hotel in the same building on the next floor up and would put us there. He told us to pay for the one night and get our passports back, we had to get him to call across the road to confirm that we would only pay what we had to. We went back to Ventura Hotel and asked to pay the bill, what a joke this turned into. It took 3 people for us to pay 63 euros for the night, we gave them 64 euros and it took them about 5 minutes of huffing and puffing before they came back to us with lots of small coins, they slapped the change in our hand and walked away.

This place is a complete and utter joke, nobody speaks a word of English and in my opinion, they're running an ongoing scam. You book through one hotel, they send you to another and then the scam begins. They put you in this place first to try and give you the worst service for your money and then if you start to complain they send you upstairs to a better hotel.

After all this messing around we went up stairs to Stargate Hotel, this place was much better and what we had originally expected. The room was clean, the guy at the desk was friendly, they had wifi even though they switch it off at night and it was secure.

Unless it's absolutely essential, I wouldn't recommend you stay here for one second, the staff leave you feeling very nervous about leaving your stuff there. If you have no choice,DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR PASSPORTS - we've never had a hotel keep our passports. Take a photocopy with you.

You have been warned, this is a tourist trap.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hoquester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

The hotel is a few minutes walk from Termini station, so very convenient to go around Rome, this being the biggest advantage, ans also its price.
The room is basic, the walls maybe needed repainting, bathroom was recently refurbished. We were there for New Year's Eve, and the heating was even too high in the room, as we opened the windows before going to sleep, so a big plus.
In the same building, at different floors, there are other hotels, which is a bit strange, but it didn't bother us.
The owner at the reception, an old guy in his 70s didn't speak anything else but Italian, it's good that their maid was from our country and we also had somebody in the group speaking Italian.
If I go back to Rome, I consider staying again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alina_Ursu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The building holds several hotels... Ventura is on the 3rd floor. Reception is on the 1st floor. I booked a single room with my own bathroom. The rooms was clean, very small but I didn't need more. The bathroom was clean though without shower curtain so every day the whole bathroom got totally wet! The location is great, a couple of block from Roma Termini and very near to Castro Pretorio (subway entrance - Line B).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IPERHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

I have just been on a tour of Rome with a group of Romanian pensioners and due to the world economic crisis. Our budget was a minimal looking our status. We all eleven persons, have only good words take in consideration our choice. Living conditions for us was the best for our choice. Hotel is clean offering good conditions and a good price. If personal I will be in future in situation to turn back in Rome, that’s 100% sure will be same choice. Situated in center of Rome city and offering a lot of possibilities, explain my choice.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
1  Thank geniceu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

I'm a big fan of cheap and cheerful and have stayed in some pretty inexpensive accommodation, this one i'm afraid is cheap and nasty.
The hotel present very misleading images of their accomodation and staff online. Friendly, clean images are provided and although the rooms were cleaned daily, the place was grotty and not even worthy of two stars.
The walls of our room looked as if there had been some kind of trek through the place!!? Dirty, scuffed, shoe prints everywhere, misplaced/ open holes where sockets should have been, a generally sub standard bathroom...just unpleasant in many many regards.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tharsaile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

I have just been on a tour of Italy with my girlfriend and due to the 'economic crisis' we were forced to seek out cheap budget accommodtaion - Hotel Ventura was our budget choice in Rome. We found the staff very helpful and friendly. The location was excellent - less than 15 minutes from the colosseum (at a brisk pace)! The rooms were not the best Ive ever slept in but the beds were new and clean, the tv worked and there was lots of hot water. For the price we paid we could have gotten much worse. Looking to save money but retain a certain level of comfort? Hotel Ventura is the place to go!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smickers98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2007

This accommodation falls under the budget category and at 55 euros a night, we did not expect much. The rooms are basic but very clean and the building itself was ancient, full of character and ideally located in the heart of Rome walking distance to the Termini Station. Yet it is quite shielded from any noise of traffic. Instead we were indulged with conversations in Italian from the shops below. We woke up each morning to the wonderful smells of coffee and pastries, which is supplied for free near the reception for guests each morning. The owner, Rafael, is very quiet and hardly speaks a word of English but he is a sweet man if you get to know him. It was a good value place to stay especially since we only ever used the room to shower and sleep. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank culturevulture9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#966 of 1,270 in Rome
431 reviews
B&B Gerbera Roma
#2,802 of 3,743 in Rome
85 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#456 of 1,270 in Rome
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,270 in Rome
6,968 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,270 in Rome
1,235 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#227 of 1,270 in Rome
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventura

Address: Via Palestro 88, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,119 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £40 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ventura 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing