We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good location and good value”
Review of Ripa145 B&B

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ripa145 B&B
Ranked #1,626 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Darlington UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place, good location and good value”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here for 5 days in May and found it to be comfortable and clean. The rooms were no smaller than most establishments of this type and were perfectly fine for what is rerquired, i.e. sleeping and getting ready to go out. The location is great, traastevere is the place to be on a night so you have loads of restaurants and bars close, and not too far to walk into the city centre for the tourist bit during the day. The breakfast was good and the owners and staff were excellent and could not do enough to help. I had previously stayed at Santa Maria in Trastevere and while it is not at that level it is good value for money and I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    19
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
43
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I booked this place last minute for our first anniversary and wasn't disappointed. The rooms were pretty, a good size for two people and felt romantic. I was worried that it might turn out to be a little cheap looking inside (you know how pictures on websites can be deceiving) but this one really is a very pretty hotel, nice rooms, nice people. They left us a small bottle of champagne in the room after I told them via e-mail we were there for our anniversary.

Like many places in Rome there's not much to distinguish it from the outside but it is on an attractive, lively street in Trastevere, close (a quarter mile) to Piazza Santa Maria in Trastevere. We were jetlagged and tired after touring the city, so went to sleep right after dinner, then woke up at midnight or 1 a.m. and stepped outside to experience some of the area's amazing nightlife. Just wandering around is a treat in this area after-hours -- it's an easy walk also across the river to Campo de' Fiori and Piazza Navona.

Despite the hotel's proximity to everything, we slept very well and didn't have any disturbances from outside. I'll definitely consider staying here again if we come back as a couple.

One note: I speak Italian pretty well and used it a lot here. I'm not sure the staff speaks English well. (One of the men speaks excellent Spanish, however). The hotel is definitely perfect for someone who has been to Italy before and knows the ropes and a few key phrases, but may put-off some first-timers who aren't used to traditional Italian buildings (i.e., small elevator, no big lobby). Still ,the rooms were excellent and exactly what I was looking for. And the location was great. Close to fun bars and nightlife while still having easy access to all the major tourist locales.

Room Tip: ask for queen bed specifically
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Okay, some folks here are raving about Your Nest, and others are slamming it. Let's get real.

Overall, we liked it. Our room was clean, freshly painted, comfortable. Modern, if cramped bathroom. Friendly staff. Decent breakfast. Location is super (more about that below); you cannot be more in the heart of Trastevere. And yes, you can walk to all sorts of sites, attractions, restaurants, bistros and such, both in Trastevere, and across the Tiber.

Now, understand that the 'B & B' is really a collection of rather small, but pleasant, apartments in an old (and I mean old) apartment building in Trastevere on a colorful, noisy (by most American standards), and bustling Trastevere street. It is indeed picturesque, but if you want quiet, or 'charm', I'd say in all honesty, this isn't it. This is old and real-life Trastevere. We happened to love Trastevere, and felt that staying there added much to our appreciation of Rome, and sense of seeing some 'real life' in Rome, so we loved this location. But if you want to be surrounded by other tourists, in the thick of the tourist scene, this is not for you. Nor is it for you if what you want is something American-ish in terms of quiet, freshness, and such.

The entrance to the building is dark and gloomy, and the doors on the outside are, like most in the area, marked with graffiti. The tiny elevator is a hoot, and we didn't trust it; walk the stairs and you'll burn off even more calories from your delicious meals (and Trastevere abounds in truly delicious cooking at every turn). Once we reached our floor (the fifth?) the hall was pleasant and sky-light lit. Ditto for our room, and the common breakfast room.

Oh, one thing that did irritate us was that there are not, as promised on the site, phones in the rooms. As we were meeting our son who was living in the area and planning on using his cell when needed, we did not get our own cell while in Italy. Hence the lack of a phone in the room was a hassle. However, the young woman manning the 'desk' was generous and lent us her cell on a couple of occasions.

Don't expect quiet evenings. We did not (having been told in advance by our son what night life was like in this area of Trastevere). Not only are the church bells duly ringing out the hours (and every quarter hours??), but plenty of people, especially students, are out and about until the wee hours, and in such narrow streets, their voices do indeed carry! Ditto for car tires, doors slamming, the occasional resident calling to another, and the lovely sound of those noisy, clattering metal doors that pull up and down over the entrances to small shops!

Would I go back? Certainly. But, as said above, we loved Trastevere, and wanted a sense of being in a colorful, lively, friendly Roman neighborhood. We also loved the convenience of being able to walk the fascinating streets of the neighborhood, and also to get to other areas of Rome on foot.

And that you will have at this locale!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Fantastic B and B in Trastevere, an authentic Roman neighbourhood. Cosy, comfortable and spacious rooms. Doesnt look like much from the outside but inside, a lovely place to stay! Trastevere is full of lovely restaurants making it a perfect base to stay. Explore Rome by day across the river and enjoy this charming part of the city at night. Highly recommended to anyone travelling to this amazing city.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

After looking at many, many hotels in Rome we decided on this place because it had great reviews and was good value. All hotels in Rome are ridiculously expensive, and had it been anywhere else £175/night would have been silly prices for this room. As it is I think we did very well.

The bnb is located in Travestre which is fun and buzzy, and it's only a 15 minute walk over The Tiber to a more central area. The room we stayed in was large, clean and bright with a balcony. The only problem was there was what might have been an emergency light and it made a high pitched electrical buzz all night. My roommate didn't notice it but it bothered me. Depends how sensitive to these type of things you are.

Breakfast was help yourself in a room on the 4th floor and of a pretty low standard

I'd recommend this place though.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2010

This is a very quaint B&B in Trastevere, and is situated on two separate floors in the building. The pictures make the rooms appear larger than they are, so we were a little dissapointed. But that's not to say the room was tiny -- it was adequate, and about the same size as some of the smaller hotel rooms in the States. The bed was comfortable, and once we figured out how to adjust the thermostat, the room temperature was comfortable as well. We did have trouble getting the free wi-fi to connect, and we had trouble getting the window/shutters to close all the way. There is a private bath, but there is absolutely no counter space in the bathroom for toiletries or to even set down a blow dryer. And be advised -- there is only one outlet in the bathroom. The "American" breakfast that is posted on their website is a basic continental breakfast. The dinning/breakfast room appears to be no larger than one of the guest rooms with five or six bistro tables crammed into it with a counter along one wall with food & coffee. The yogurt, OJ and milk were not kept cold in any way, so by the time we got there (9:30 or 10am), those items were room temperature. The staff, while very pleasant, spoke very little English. We actually had very little contact with them after we checked in; although they were helpful in arranging for a car (50 Euro) to the airport. The main reason we stayed here was the location. We wanted to be in a more "local" place rather than a tourist area, since we could walk to most all of the tourist attractions. Trastevere is within walking distance to everything -- if you are willing to walk. We walked along the Tiber River to the Vatican -- 20 minutes at best. There is a tram stop just a block away; the Piazza Santa Maria is just two blocks away; and around every corner there is a cafe/restuarant and shopping. The price was competitive with other lodging in the area at about 155 Euro (or $220) including all taxes. In this case, I think you get what you pay for -- it's budget B&B about the equivalent of Travelodge in the States.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I stayed in Your Nest in Rome with my mother for a week for New Year vacations. It was a great stay! Wonderful rooms, very clean, very helpfull staff. B&B is situated in the heart if Rome, in Trastevere. Charming views, beautiful churches, best restaurants,small shops...only few steps from your door. You can reach the historical center in 15-20 minutes and your route will be very pleasant. Looking forward to my next roman holidays! Of course, in your nest in Rome!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
La Civetta di Trastevere
La Civetta di Trastevere
#1,016 of 3,669 in Rome
71 reviews
Trastevere
Tamara's Suites
Tamara's Suites
#1,483 of 3,669 in Rome
57 reviews
Trastevere
Palazzo Velli Suites
Palazzo Velli Suites
#130 of 1,100 in Rome
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hip Suites
Hip Suites
#170 of 3,669 in Rome
260 reviews
Trastevere
WRH Trastevere
WRH Trastevere
#213 of 3,669 in Rome
421 reviews
Trastevere
B&B Lost in Trastevere
B&B Lost in Trastevere
#662 of 3,669 in Rome
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Ripa145 B&B

Property: Ripa145 B&B
Address: Via di San Francesco a Ripa 145, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,626 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RIPA 145 B&B in Trastevere, situated in the ancient and picturesque districts of the Eternal City, offer you the possibility to find in a few minutes the Colosseum, Maximus Circus,the beautiful church of Santa Maria in Trastevere, San Crisogono and San Francesco a Ripa. Walking through its Trasteverini streets you can breathe ancient air, you'll be curious about the artisans who still work in the same places owned to his father and before him to his grandfather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ripa145 B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing