We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff”
Review of Ripa145 B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ripa145 B&B
Ranked #1,440 of 3,735 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My friend and I stayed here for two nights after getting recommendations to stay in Trastevere, a lively area with lots of restaurants/bars and a short walk to Rome's attractions. The rooms are charming and clean and have a decent size. We got an OK continental breakfast with good coffee. It's family-owned and the staff were helpful with directions and so on. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonicaFromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

We LOVED this place! It is an absolute gem of a B&B in Trastavere which is just over the river in Rome. Gorgeous rooms, super friendly staff who cannot do enough for you. Clean, comfortable, swanky, special, just wonderful! If you upgrade to the suite, you even get a spa bath!! There is also a little balcony with a couple of chairs and a little table, perfect for enjoying your morning brew and a croissant.

The area is phenomenal; excellent restaurants down medieval alleyways with a surprise around every corner. Great coffee shops and even a stunning church tucked away in the corner of the square which is, in true Roman style, breathtakingly beautiful!

Access into the heart of Rome is simple, there's a tram stop about one minutes walk away, which takes you right into Rome. The tram also goes to the train station if you're going to/from Fiumicino airport.

We stayed here for five nights in the height of the summer season and did not want to leave. Such a charming place.

I will most certainly return to this part of the world and this B&B one day :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Obmaroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here for 5 days in May and found it to be comfortable and clean. The rooms were no smaller than most establishments of this type and were perfectly fine for what is rerquired, i.e. sleeping and getting ready to go out. The location is great, traastevere is the place to be on a night so you have loads of restaurants and bars close, and not too far to walk into the city centre for the tourist bit during the day. The breakfast was good and the owners and staff were excellent and could not do enough to help. I had previously stayed at Santa Maria in Trastevere and while it is not at that level it is good value for money and I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redwitchdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I booked this place last minute for our first anniversary and wasn't disappointed. The rooms were pretty, a good size for two people and felt romantic. I was worried that it might turn out to be a little cheap looking inside (you know how pictures on websites can be deceiving) but this one really is a very pretty hotel, nice rooms, nice people. They left us a small bottle of champagne in the room after I told them via e-mail we were there for our anniversary.

Like many places in Rome there's not much to distinguish it from the outside but it is on an attractive, lively street in Trastevere, close (a quarter mile) to Piazza Santa Maria in Trastevere. We were jetlagged and tired after touring the city, so went to sleep right after dinner, then woke up at midnight or 1 a.m. and stepped outside to experience some of the area's amazing nightlife. Just wandering around is a treat in this area after-hours -- it's an easy walk also across the river to Campo de' Fiori and Piazza Navona.

Despite the hotel's proximity to everything, we slept very well and didn't have any disturbances from outside. I'll definitely consider staying here again if we come back as a couple.

One note: I speak Italian pretty well and used it a lot here. I'm not sure the staff speaks English well. (One of the men speaks excellent Spanish, however). The hotel is definitely perfect for someone who has been to Italy before and knows the ropes and a few key phrases, but may put-off some first-timers who aren't used to traditional Italian buildings (i.e., small elevator, no big lobby). Still ,the rooms were excellent and exactly what I was looking for. And the location was great. Close to fun bars and nightlife while still having easy access to all the major tourist locales.

Room Tip: ask for queen bed specifically
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mkabuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Okay, some folks here are raving about Your Nest, and others are slamming it. Let's get real.

Overall, we liked it. Our room was clean, freshly painted, comfortable. Modern, if cramped bathroom. Friendly staff. Decent breakfast. Location is super (more about that below); you cannot be more in the heart of Trastevere. And yes, you can walk to all sorts of sites, attractions, restaurants, bistros and such, both in Trastevere, and across the Tiber.

Now, understand that the 'B & B' is really a collection of rather small, but pleasant, apartments in an old (and I mean old) apartment building in Trastevere on a colorful, noisy (by most American standards), and bustling Trastevere street. It is indeed picturesque, but if you want quiet, or 'charm', I'd say in all honesty, this isn't it. This is old and real-life Trastevere. We happened to love Trastevere, and felt that staying there added much to our appreciation of Rome, and sense of seeing some 'real life' in Rome, so we loved this location. But if you want to be surrounded by other tourists, in the thick of the tourist scene, this is not for you. Nor is it for you if what you want is something American-ish in terms of quiet, freshness, and such.

The entrance to the building is dark and gloomy, and the doors on the outside are, like most in the area, marked with graffiti. The tiny elevator is a hoot, and we didn't trust it; walk the stairs and you'll burn off even more calories from your delicious meals (and Trastevere abounds in truly delicious cooking at every turn). Once we reached our floor (the fifth?) the hall was pleasant and sky-light lit. Ditto for our room, and the common breakfast room.

Oh, one thing that did irritate us was that there are not, as promised on the site, phones in the rooms. As we were meeting our son who was living in the area and planning on using his cell when needed, we did not get our own cell while in Italy. Hence the lack of a phone in the room was a hassle. However, the young woman manning the 'desk' was generous and lent us her cell on a couple of occasions.

Don't expect quiet evenings. We did not (having been told in advance by our son what night life was like in this area of Trastevere). Not only are the church bells duly ringing out the hours (and every quarter hours??), but plenty of people, especially students, are out and about until the wee hours, and in such narrow streets, their voices do indeed carry! Ditto for car tires, doors slamming, the occasional resident calling to another, and the lovely sound of those noisy, clattering metal doors that pull up and down over the entrances to small shops!

Would I go back? Certainly. But, as said above, we loved Trastevere, and wanted a sense of being in a colorful, lively, friendly Roman neighborhood. We also loved the convenience of being able to walk the fascinating streets of the neighborhood, and also to get to other areas of Rome on foot.

And that you will have at this locale!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wellcraftedtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Fantastic B and B in Trastevere, an authentic Roman neighbourhood. Cosy, comfortable and spacious rooms. Doesnt look like much from the outside but inside, a lovely place to stay! Trastevere is full of lovely restaurants making it a perfect base to stay. Explore Rome by day across the river and enjoy this charming part of the city at night. Highly recommended to anyone travelling to this amazing city.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katieepsomuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

After looking at many, many hotels in Rome we decided on this place because it had great reviews and was good value. All hotels in Rome are ridiculously expensive, and had it been anywhere else £175/night would have been silly prices for this room. As it is I think we did very well.

The bnb is located in Travestre which is fun and buzzy, and it's only a 15 minute walk over The Tiber to a more central area. The room we stayed in was large, clean and bright with a balcony. The only problem was there was what might have been an emergency light and it made a high pitched electrical buzz all night. My roommate didn't notice it but it bothered me. Depends how sensitive to these type of things you are.

Breakfast was help yourself in a room on the 4th floor and of a pretty low standard

I'd recommend this place though.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Locanda Carmel
Hotel Locanda Carmel
#652 of 1,271 in Rome
172 reviews
Trastevere
B&B Lost in Trastevere
B&B Lost in Trastevere
#696 of 3,735 in Rome
70 reviews
Trastevere
Trastevere Colors
Trastevere Colors
#150 of 3,735 in Rome
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Tamara's Suites
Tamara's Suites
#1,508 of 3,735 in Rome
57 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#458 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ripa145 B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripa145 B&B

Address: Via di San Francesco a Ripa 145, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,440 of 3,735 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £49 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RIPA 145 B&B in Trastevere, situated in the ancient and picturesque districts of the Eternal City, offer you the possibility to find in a few minutes the Colosseum, Maximus Circus,the beautiful church of Santa Maria in Trastevere, San Crisogono and San Francesco a Ripa. Walking through its Trasteverini streets you can breathe ancient air, you'll be curious about the artisans who still work in the same places owned to his father and before him to his grandfather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ripa145 B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing