We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Apartment, Fantastic Location!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Aurora al Colosseo

Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Living room
main Bathroom
Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
savvytrav...
Chino, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment, Fantastic Location!”
Reviewed 4 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Stayed for 3 nights in this apartment in April with my Son. Roberta, the owner, is a fantastic host! She is on hand for any questions or issues you may have. We were there during a heat wave, and she came right away to turn on the air conditioning, which works great! She also came late to meet us upon our arrival. The apartment is lovely, with a great location right across from the Colosseum. There is a grocery store right across the street, and great restaurants nearby. I will definitely return to stay in this beautiful apartment.

Grazie Roberta!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon L
1 review
“Perfect - great location, homely and with everything you need”
Reviewed 13 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Roberta's house is wonderful. Well appointed, without being fussy, it is a lovely characterful apartment that we will definitely return to. If you wanted to own a flat in Rome, this would be it. Roberta's welcome is fabulous, and she makes you feel like family straight away. The beds are very comfortable, there is a library of books and DVDs, a kitchen with all you could desire (including space for eating if you don't want to use the dining table), and lovely warm, sociable living room. Across the road is a brilliant 24 hour shop which sells everything you need - fresh vegetables, pasta, wine, baker in the back - I wish we had shops like this at home.

The Colosseum is a minute's walk away at the end of the street, but the apartment is not noisy at all. Easy walking distance to ancient Rome, the Palatine and parks, and an enjoyable walk through this great city into the centre.

Local restaurants are good (family run and cheerful places.

All in all, a great place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmartinau...
Venice, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Immaculate Roman retreat across from Colosseum”
Reviewed 1 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Roberta was an outstanding host who looked after our every need while in Rome. The apartment was authentic in it's details with wooden ceiling beams and herringbone wood floor, but modern in its amenities with an updated kitchen and bathrooms. The entire apartment was immaculately clean, with antique details and stained glass!! The proximity to the Colosseum and metro made it very easy to maneuver around Rome, but the apartment was on the interior of the building so it was quiet enough to leave the windows open at night. The area surrounding the apartment building was also safe and clean. If we return to Rome, we'll contact Roberta for another stay in her apartment!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail R
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic and elegant apartment”
Reviewed 23 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is an amazing apartment.Elegant,tasteful,spacious and very peaceful.It is in a top location,you can see the Colisseum from the windows,it is very near restaurants, a large grocery store and transport.The flat was spotless and had absolutely everything you could wish for. .Roberta the owner was totally charming.A 5 star self- catering property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen O
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect location in Rome”
Reviewed 10 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This beautiful apartment is in the perfect location. The coliseum is in view from the front windows! The apartment is beautifully decorated and has everything one might need. A nice market is directly across the street. The home is a representation of the fabulous host - Roberta. She met us early and spent time to assure we were oriented to the city. Roberta checked in with us (via text) often during our stay. The city is of course amazing, but this apartment and mostly the host make this one of the best holidays I have enjoyed. I will definitely make sure I stay in this home during my next Roman holiday. Thank you Roberta!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil H
Hassocks
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment in Rome”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

WOW! what a fabulous family apartment in 18century building. Extremely comfortable with aircon throughout. Lovely polished wood floors and restored original tile ceiling. In perfect quiet location 10yrds from Colosseum and 50yrds from Forum. So nice to be able to come back to a cool comfy apartment after a long day sightseeing in Rome. Roberta(owner) is lovely and met us at the door with our keys and showed us around her fabulous family apartment, Roberta is extremely welcoming and friendly with helpful practical info and sightseeing advice. Plenty of cafe and restorante very close by and a small but well stocked supermarket across the road. Taxi and tram,Metro very close by for trips further afield, my son visited Ostia Antica on tram and train and we used a taxi to get us to the Vatican (20euros). We had a fabulous stay in Rome due partly to the lovely apartment and of course the historic sites, museums and renaissance churches. We highly recommend this apartment! Cant wait to visit again!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YbMonty
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfection........”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I'm not sure I want to tell you all about this place, I don't want it to become so popular that I can't book it in the future..........
This apartment is as good as it looks it the images - spacious, comfortable (very comfortable beds), spotlessly clean and beautifully maintained but the icing on the cake is the warm welcome you get from the owner Roberta. She was in contact with us before our trip and was there to welcome us with a cold drink when we arrived, she showed us around the apartment, how to work the air conditioning and had a map ready for us with the apartment already marked so we could start navigating our way around this city. Roberta also set up a WhatsApp group with me so that she could stay in contact with us during our stay.
We made use of the washing machine whilst we were there (which is out on the balcony) but did not use the cooking facilities, although my husband was very pleased to see the Nespresso machine! Roberta left us water in the fridge, coffee and tea, and told us to make use of anything and everything that had been left in the apartment.
There is a 24 hour supermarket directly opposite the front door of the building so there is no hassle if you are going to do full self catering.
There are restaurants in the street too and Roberta has details of those in the neighbourhood on the kitchen noticeboard - including those that do take out.
There is an official taxi rank around the corner but if you are travelling light it is probably only a 15 minutes walk from Roma Termini.
The location of the apartment is perfect for exploring Rome on foot - should you need public transport there is a tram stop around the corner, a bus stop also around the corner and a metro stop near the Colosseum - we walked everywhere despite the heat (do not be afraid to top up your water bottles near the Colosseum, the water comes directly from the mountains, Roberta says is the cleanest water in Italy!).
The only thing I will advise potential travellers to think about is that this apartment is on the top floor with no lift - there are six flights of stairs to climb, be sure you are prepared and able to make the climb before you book - it will not put us off booking this apartment again.
Our deposit was returned promptly after our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;