We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Aran Mantegna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barcelo Aran Mantegna
Ranked #296 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights for a conference. The hotel is in the Southeast part of Rome about 45 minutes from Rome's main attractions. However, the hotel is in the middle of an upscale residential and business area. Walking around, we got the true feeling of living in Rome. We have used the public bus transportation from near the hotel to Piazza Venezza, which is the hub for most attractions. It is 1.5 Euros each way (exact change or need to buy a ticket from neighborhood stores). The hotel itself is modern and comfortable. Room size is very good and the prices are unbeatable compared to Rome's center. The breakfast buffet is very good. We tried the couple of neighborhood restaurants and they were very good and inexpensive. Front desk staff is very helpful (particularly Claudia and Hyatt). The gym is very small and inadequate with no cardiovascular equipment. If you are willing to spend some time in transportation but save a great deal of money, you need to consider this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasMte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    568
    250
    109
    82
See reviews for
199
334
46
577
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel was the start of our Trafalgar tour. Looked impressive when we arrived. That quickly changed. This hotel is way out of town. It wouldn't be a choice I would make personally and after staying there, I recommend others not stay there.

Italy has a no air conditioning rule before 1st May, so since it was early April, we had no air con. But there was a window that could open, but not without asking maintenance to come up and do it.

The guy arrived, reeking of stale smoke and unable to speak english. At first when we looked at the window we thought it was a feature window but on closer inspection the window was actually shattered. Someone previously had tried to push the window open and broke it. When the maintenance guy noticed this he rang down to reception. I told reception I wanted to change rooms, since we had already unpacked I didn't want to move to another floor and if possible just across the hallway.

Within about 5 minutes the porter had arrived to move us 2 floors down. We then had to pack up everything all over again, get dressed and move. when we moved into the next room again we had to get the maintenance guy back up and open that window.

The next morning I noticed from the outside of the building that there was several shattered windows. There was even a window that was completely gone and never been fixed.

The breakfast was horrible. A yoghurt was green but not out of date. This had to be because it had been moved from the fridge to the display each day. The toaster was broken one morning and they didn't get another one. The staff were unfriendly and rude.

Keep away from this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenandkerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Makati
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in early April 2014 .... We missed the welcome reception of our group tour because of wrong information provided by this hotel. We arrived 20 mins after the rest of the group had left for the reception venue but could have easily caught up in a cab. Instead, the reception told us at first that the reception was supposedly being held inside the hotel when it was in fact being held at a local resto outside the hotel. Despite the tour guide having left her mobile number and the venue for the reception, the hotel - for some unknown reasons and partly out of indolence - could not contact or reach the guide. All kinds of excuses were given. Ordering water into the room took almost an hour. Rooms were very hot because Aircon was off till June 2014. Excuse given was this was the practice in Rome - another lie! We spent 3 days at another hotel before moving to this hotel and that other hotel had air conditioning. A tour mate had to change rooms twice because of the heat inside her room. This hotel is also poorly located in Rome ... Very inconvenient location! It should be avoided!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Domingo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We needed assistance with this kind of things:

- had to call someone to open the window as a special key needed to it
- had to ask for butter, milk, croissants, pastries, salami at bfast as the staff did not notice the plates were running low...
- public transport is very bad in the area
- there are no nice restaurants around the hotel

These small things all add up as I would expect more from a 4 star hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatrix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adapazari, Turkey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The hotel itself is Great. That makes you feel special. An excellent location. Those who want to make a preferred place of Rome. I'm telling them as one of the many hotels hiked. The best you can find the best quality service in the Six Inn Barcelo Aran Mantegna.The door opens to a historic city say no exaggeration.Thank You Very Much.
Hüseyin Sami VELİ
TÜRKİYE

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hüseyin Sami V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I was in this hotel last week for work.
when I entered I was greeted by the girls at the front desk with a beautiful smile. check in quickly and efficiently. some of my requests were met immediately.
the rooms have a modern style and are clean.
you get to the center by bus and the bus stop is near the hotel.
good impression, would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Front desk Staff seems disinterested. Getting any type of information is like pulling teeth. Information about hotel services, the surrounding area or even attempting to visit sights is nonexistant. The room was hot and stuffy. No clock in the room (I think this is supposed to be an energy saving tactic). Your key card activates the power. The food was average, however the food staff was very pleasant and approachable. The maid service kept the room clean. Bed comfortable. Only drawback to the room was it being warm.

Room Tip: get room in the front of hotel -- it is away from the street and very quiet. You can ask the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missbedish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Barcelo Aran Park
#404 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Ostiense
Oly Hotel
Oly Hotel
#389 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#130 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Styles Roma Eur
#243 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Hotel Rome Pisana
#636 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Ostiense
Barcelo Aran Blu
Barcelo Aran Blu
#417 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Aran Mantegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Aran Mantegna

Property: Barcelo Aran Mantegna
Address: Via Andrea Mantegna, 130, 00147 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#218 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Aran Mantegna 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a quiet residential area of the EUR district in Rome.The hotel has 323 spacious rooms. All the rooms have natural light and free Wi-Fi. In addition, the hotel offers free covered parking, and a scheduled service shuttle from/to the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Barcelo Aran Mantegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Aran Mantegna Hotel Rome
Aran Mantegna Rome
Hotel Aran Mantegna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing