We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mirabilia Urbis Tours
Review Highlights
Essential private tour of the Roman Forum

Daniella Hunt's Forum tour was exceptional. She was very responsive prior to the tour, and let us... read more

Reviewed 20 June 2023
H7693IPsarahg
Daniella Hunt is THE BEST!

Daniella is THE BEST!! Two great days touring the Forums, Palatine Hill, and Villa Farnesina with... read more

Reviewed 3 January 2023
Mandy S
Read all 32 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
32
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
32
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa farnesina roman forum private tour wonderful guide palatine hill daniella context knowledge overview history vatican church highlights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2015

We are a family of three (Mom, Dad & teenage son) from Ontario Canada.
We travel often, and are very interested in learning about the history of the places we visit. For this reason we like to hire private guides whenever possible.
We had the good fortune to be able to hire Daniella Hunt for two days as our guide on our recent trip to Rome.
From beginning to end it was a really positive experience. We contacted Daniella by e-mail and she promptly replied. Communication was excellent! We had a tight schedule, and many questions. Daniella worked with us to determine our interests, and to figure out what the best itinerary for our trip would be. Her emails were always quickly replied to in a friendly, informative, and helpful manner.
On our first day we decided on a Campus Martius tour. Daniella met us right on time at the top of the Spanish Steps. Immediately we enjoyed her enthusiastic manner and sense of humour. She was VERY knowledgeable about Roman history, but also clearly enjoyed her job as well. We loved her interactive questions and interesting story telling.
The following day Daniella took us on a tour of the Vatican. Again she was right on schedule where we agreed to meet. We walked past the HUGE line for tickets and right into the Vatican Museum. Again her knowledge and enthusiasm was outstanding. We really felt that she took the time to listen to what we were interested in seeing and tailored the tour specifically for us.
I would highly recommend Daniella to anyone travelling to Rome. We learned so many things we never would have otherwise, and in such a fun way.

Date of experience: July 2015
2  Thank tagor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2015

Best Thing we did in Rome was tour with Daniella ! Shes such an energetic enthusiastic person and she has a great sense of humor! We thoroughly enjoyed our tour with her. She brought the roman forum ruins to life for us and we were remembering her on the rest of our Italy Trip. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank Puneet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Daniella was a fabulous guide through the Forum and Colosseum, able to put history and archeology in context for both adults and our 11 year old boy. Her method is conversational and participatory and she was able to draw our frequently reticent child deeply into the conversation by making connections and asking questions. We learned a lot, our son had fun, and we had fun watching our son have fun. When we're next in Rome, we'll explore with Daniella again.

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank MapHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2015

My family and I have used Daniela Hunt of Mirabilia Urbis Tours (www.Rome-tours.com) about 10 or 12 times over the last 6 years and she is absolutely superb.

Daniella is an American ex-pat who is married to a Roman. She is very good and very knowledgeable. Her bio is impressive and she does a great job of being approachable, funny and educational. She is funny, smart, accommodating and courteous. My entire family loved the way she brings Rome to life. She doesn't just lecture. Her style is more to turn it into Q&A and games so that everyone stays engaged. She has that knack for making everything come to life whether that be for ruins (which a good tour guide is essential to fully understand everything in front of you despite how well read or studied you are) or for other sites which are more well preserved but have such a deep history that you don't want to miss all of the connections.

Daniella also incorporates the writings of the contemporaries at the time so that you get first hand views and insights instead of boring book recitations. She knows the food and restaurants of Rome (has hilarious insights into everyday Roman life right now ... and even back then), her Italian is impeccable and, obviously, her English is also. Her breadth and depth of knowledge of all things Roman is amazing whether that be regarding architecture, history, art, religion, language, culture or food is amazing.

You will be very happy with her whether you have all adults in your party or children as well (she is great at pulling kids in and challenging them to critically think about what they are seeing .... turning it into a bit of a game and capturing their attention). Her website lists her prices so you get full transparency.

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank ATLTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2015

My son and I had the pleasure of Daniella's company while we investigated the Roman Forum and surrounding area- superb guide, very knowledgeable, entertaining and amazingly good at humouring a rather jetlagged 8 year old. Thank you for a perfect morning in Rome and for sharing your immense knowledge with such generosity!!!. As my son said as you disappeared into the sunlit distance - IT WAS BRILLIANT!!!!!!

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank Sarmite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews