We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely old roman building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Romanico Palace
Ranked #298 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely old roman building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The staff at this hotel are extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are as you would expect in this age of the property, there are upgrades going on to the hotel but don't cause any disruption to the guests, breakfast on the seventh floor is excellent in both the offering and view, my only issue is that we are just a touch too far from the centre of Rome, but i would stay here again, good value for your money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Kevin,

THANK YOU for taking the time to write about us, your feedback is important and we greatly appreciate your support in telling others about the Romanico Palace.

It was a pleasure to have you stay and I am thrilled you had such a positive experience.

I am delighted you were impressed with our breakfast , we are very proud to be one of the few hotels in the City centre which allows you to make the most important meal in a roof garden on the seventh floor, with incredible views of Rome.

Our location is superb for exploring this wonderful City, the area is quant and charming yet incredibly close to the main arteries of Via Veneto. We in the heart of Rome is indeed well placed for tourism being a stone’s throw away from many major sights and fashionable shopping area.

Relaxing walks along the green colors of Villa Borghese, exciting emotions looking Spanish Steps, a masterpiece of the baroque art style, the unprecedented beauty of Trevi Fountain, inspired by Roman triumphal arches..

Maybe we were not so clear with the instructions we gave you during your stay, the location is one of our best qualities.

It is always incredibly motivating when we receive such great feedback regarding our service and our people and even more rewarding when a particular employee really stood out for the service they delivered.

The small little touches and details we believe are so important and genuinely add to the overall experience. The Hotel was indeed recently fully renovated, from our public spaces down to all our guest bedrooms and the vision was to create a uniqueness feel.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to what I hope will now be your “home away from home”.

Best wishes
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    573
    328
    153
    67
See reviews for
227
926
35
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Romantico Palace was a fabulous base to explore Rome which my partner and I did on foot so we didn't miss anything. We were able to navigate the city really well from our hotel. Beautiful hotel, great decor to give it the traditional roman feel, lovely clean double room with ensuite bathroom, continental breakfast on the rooftop overlooking Rome on a lovely sunny morning. Cocktails in the bar in the evening. What's not to enjoy. Staff were extremely helpful helping us to book our dream trip to Venice, borrowing us a continental plug as we forgot ours, giving us morning calls, recommending various places to eat. Should we come back to Rome we will definitely stay here again as we had a wonderful time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Cazolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so muchf or taking the time to give us your feedback. It’s always a pleasure for us to share the experiences and the comments of our guests.

One of our boast is certainly the hotel's central location, in few minutes you can reach the most important point of interest such as Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain, Villa Borghese with the gardens, Pantheon, Piazza del Popolo, Via del Corso and much more to see around.

I am truly delighted you felt really well and comfortable in the room that our Reception has assigned you. Indeed, the décor and furniture of every room has been carefully chosen and the ambiences really do reflect Baroque style in its most elegant period.

Our Architect has aimed to offer his personal guests amazing settings in which to let them enjoy his own extraordinary passion for art, history and the good life.

I really appreciate your comments about our staff “helpful”. Our entire service philosophy revolves around delivering unparalleled personalized service experiences where no detail is too small and it is very encouraging when our guests comment so positively on their time with us.

Front Desk Reception is always ready to suggest to our guest the restaurants where to eat and overall by planning and customize your stay with tours and private guides.
The most relaxing thing is to sit down on our lobby bar and take a drink, sipping it in a really cool fashioned and overall characteristic “atmosphera”.

We are very fortunate to have such a dedicated and passionate team that work tirelessly to ensure that our customers’ expectations are exceeded during each visit, we have people of different nationalities trained to be courteous and efficient, aware of the need to pay attention to the cultural background of the different needs of our clients.

Last but not least…Our panoramic Roof Garden Fulvius with a breathtaking view on the majesty of Rome is the right response for a sweet awakening: quality food and a large variety of products (homemade cakes, fresh seasonal fruit, organic jams, stuffed croissants, salty foods, products for people with gluten allergy).

Thank you one more time for taking time to write such a lovely review. I am pleased you had a brilliant stay with us and hope to welcome you back whenever you will be in Rome.

Grazie

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chita, Japan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

日本からのツアーで2泊しました。
このホテル以前にフィレンツェなどで泊まってきましたが、
どのホテルもスタッフが気さくで楽しい旅行になりました。

部屋は少し狭いですが、二人で泊まるには十分。
朝食も屋上のテラスで街並みを眺めながら食べられるのは最高ですね。
内容はオーソドックスですが、年齢問わず食べられる感じでした。

余談ですが、「サンタマリアデッラヴィットーリア教会」に近かったのも良かったです。


Of the tour from Japan.
It became the good travel that staff is friendly and fun.

The rooms are a little narrow, but enough to stay with us.(2 people)
When we have breakfast, we overlooking the city on the rooftop terrace is good.
Breakfast content is orthodox, but it was best to eat regardless of age.

Thanks to this HOTEL.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tosinosuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

THANK YOU for posting a review following your recent stay, your feedback is crucial to our learning and ultimately our continued improvement.

We hang our hats on delivering exceptional service experiences through people who genuinely care about our customers so your feedback regarding our staff and the service you received throughout your stay is very motivating and encouraging for us as a team.

We will always strive to ensure that you leave Rome with a face full of smiles, and a heart full of memories.
In terms of bedroom space I would welcome the opportunity to talk through the various room categories we have here at the Romanico Palace.

We have over 5 room categories ranging from different square meters so I am very confident we will be able to find a room that ticks all the boxes that are important for you, in spades!

Please reach out to us on info@hotelromanico.com prior to you next visit, it would be our pleasure to assist you.

Our panoramic roof garden with a breathtaking view on the majesty of Rome is the right response for a sweet awakening: quality food and a large variety of products (homemade cakes, fresh seasonal fruit, organic jams, stuffed croissants, salty foods, products for people with gluten allergy).

A nutrient breakfast with a touch of Italian goodness… :-)

I am very grateful for your feedback, it helps me and our team to focus on the areas we need to improve and I hope that when you return you will have noticed that the service gaps you mentioned have been addressed.

Best wishes
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is located in a quite area just few steps from Via Veneto. It is also centrally located in Rome. Most major cites are within walking distance (Piazza Barberini, Piazza Spagna, Fontana Trevi, Pantheon, Piazza Popolo and Via del Corso) and 4 metro stops away from the Vatican. The rooms were spacious. However we had a problem with the Air Conditioning as it was down and they didn't fix it. Also, the minibar was down and they didnt fix it. Breakfast was ok. Overall, I recommend this hotel because of its location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicken I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review us following your recent stay.

Hotel Romanico Palace**** is located in a safe and quiet central area which has a lot of amenities and attractions, indeed without using any form of transportation you can reach in 10 minutes by walking Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain, Villa Borghese with the gardens, Pantheon, Piazza del Popolo, Via del Corso and much more to see around.

As you mentioned above the Vatican is really close to us, just 4 metro stops and you can reach the vibrant heart of this such magnificent City.

You may also be interested to learn that just this week we have started a full refurbishment of our guest rooms, especially the air conditioning system with new and powerful conditioning systems, very quiet, centralized with intelligent power on and off.
As you could imagine doing all these renovations in a big building it takes time, as well our staff is very finicky and busy by checking that every room will be perfect with all the amenities working properly.

Concerning the rooms, they have been recently renovated, they are spacious, with a very comfortable bathroom, new mini bar with new section revisited, with a variety of cold drinks, they also have Jacuzzi or hydromassage shower.

Naturally I am happy you enjoyed the continental breakfast on our Roof Top Garden “Fulvius”, really the palce to be with an amazing panorama at 360° over the Eternal City.

We all look forward welcoming you back the next time you will visit Rome.

Yours faithfully,

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I managed to book this hotel at a fairly low price and wow did I do well. What a lovely hotel, lots of character and lovely, friendly staff. As I was travelling with a female friend I emailed ahead to ensure we had a twin room rather than double and received a very prompt email back to say this was all in hand. The room we got was wonderful, two double beds and enough space between to allow you privacy. The rooms were very clean, beds super comfortable and the shower was amazing, just what you need after a busy day seeing the sights. Breakfast was the usual fare, cold meats, cheeses, bread products etc., but ample and very fresh. The hotel is quite a walk from main attractions but as long as you are aware of this then it will not spoil your experience. Well don Hotel Romanico Palace and staff, I highly recommend this hotel and would return should I ever be lucky enough to come back to Rome.

Room Tip: Email ahead if you have any special requirements, I did and received a very prompt response.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kariow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and I am incredibly grateful you took the time to write your personal experience.

We always recommend to our guests to have a Direct Contact with us, it means that everything will go in the right way with only a word to say at the end, the perfection exists nowadays .

Our service revolves around sincerity, generosity and personalizing everything we do and it is so encouraging that these values were so well reflected in your stay.
I am truly blessed to be surrounded by passionate, people’s people who love nothing more than caring for our guests.

Furthermore we really appreciate your positive comments regarding our Staff, very helpful and professional during all your stay as well the others concerning the breakfast will be reported to our Chefs and Restaurant Staff – they always try to improve the service with the goal to obtain a sense of satisfaction from our guests.

Our interior decoration and furnitures have been beautifully chosen and the ambiences really do reflect “Baroque Style” in its most elegant period.

The rooms boast antiques, the halls proudly display their 17th century paintings and the panoramic suites give onto the timeless beauty of the Vittoriano Monument.

I’m thrilled you enjoyed as well our location, Romanico Palace is a veritable jewel of Baroque elegance, within walking distance from the Borghese Art Gallery and Gardens and the heart of the city shopping district, Spanish Steps and Via Condotti where all the major houses of fashion have their ateliers.

Thank you very much for recommending our Hotel, we are looking forward welcoming you one more time in our Hotel and deserving you a special treatment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked this hotel knowing that it was a good 20 minute walk to Trevi and 30 minutes to Piazza Navona and the Pantheon (even further from the Vatican and Coliseum). We were enticed by the images on the website that showed evening views of the Eternal City lit up in the evening. The website shows couples dining in the open air overlooking the brilliantly-lit city at night. Instead, we discovered that the rooftop restaurant is only used at night for organized events. Guests don’t have access to the views in the PM otherwise. Once we discovered that we couldn’t see the city from the roof deck as the website photos show, we decided to retire to our room to enjoy the sights from there.

We opened our drapes to discover our view was restricted to large buildings on all three sides mostly covered with scaffolding. While it may have been interesting for some folks to stare into bedrooms across the courtyard and be greeted by construction noise in the morning, it wasn’t quite the image of Rome that we wanted to come home with.

To be fair, the hotel does say on its website that the rooftop restaurant is only open for breakfast. But I still thought we could see the views shown on the site from the roof as we did at another hotel in the same city. Not so. Another disappointment was the fact that the rooftop is mostly enclosed by fogged up windows that erode the view even in the AM. There is a small outside area that does allow unobstructed views, but that area was occupied shoulder to shoulder with chain smokers the entire time we were at breakfast.

The hotel otherwise was fairly nice and did reflect Rome thought its décor. The staff was not pleasant on our arrival day, but was otherwise very responsive and helpful the rest of the time. We did get there at checkout time, so perhaps it was a stressful period for the desk and porter team.

Bottom line: we went to Rome because of the beauty of the city. We would have stayed closer to the action if we had known that our hotel would not add to the ambience in a meaningful way.

Room Tip: We had a horrible view overlooking a courtyard of sorts. While I am not sure of the views from other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerJLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,

THANKS for your review and for choosing Hotel Romanico Palace!

We are very disappointed to read that your general experience was not perfect and in this instance we failed to exceed your expectations.

Starting from posted on our website, impossible to agree your review title and we are delighted that the rest of the feedback you've been able to correct these “strong words”.

The clarity and precision is our strength , while about the structural/service we must always improve.

The property occupies a building 's 800 and logically is characterized by both houses overlooking the inner courtyard, which with fantastic views of the skyline.

I am sorry that you found your room view to be disappointing, we do have over 5 different room categories which vary significantly in size and view and I am very confident we have a room that will tick both the landscape and value box for all of our guests.

For this reason we always recommend to book a room directly from our official website, where the accommodation, the choice of rooms are guaranteed by our word and not by various intermediaries.

As you can see from our website, the panoramic roof garden is open only from the breakfast from 07 am to 10 am, from the large terrace overlooking the city you can enjoy a splendid 360° panorama of Rome, tasting the flavors of the best culinary tradition.

The terrace is open during the evening only for special events, anniversaries or meetings gala that we often plan with the most important international brands.

We are also pleased that you've had a rethink about our staff, guests tell us that one of the main reasons they return is for our kindness and helpful, I firmly believe in this factor.

We hope this will not detract from visiting the Hotel again, as we would very much welcome the opportunity to restore your faith at the Romanico Palace!

Kind regards
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Our twin share room was very comfortable with the two beds well separated, unlike many other supposed "twin bed" rooms. Four huge fluffy towels, hand towels and toiletries provided but sadly no box of tissues. The hotel is in a good position, easy walking to many tourists sites. Staff were friendly, and they recommended a restaurant which we found to be excellent value just round the corner. Tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy-Stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Stewart,

THANK YOU for posting a nice review of your stay at Romanico Palace Hotel!

We are pleased that you appreciated the beautifully appointed room, and experienced great customer service.

All of our beautifully-appointed rooms are larger than average for central Rome hotels, and come complete with many complimentary amenities, such as toiletries, free Wi-Fi, toiletries, fluffy towels, whereas box of tissues is available by request.

We have selected only the finest fixtures and fittings throughout the hotel, working with a leading art curator in choosing unique artworks throughout, and establishing signature pieces and themes.

The breakfast is the most important meal of the day and so I am pleased that you felt it was tasty. We are very proud of our sumptuous buffet and the location, a panoramic Roof Garden with an amazing view of Rome.

We very much appreciate your kind compliments regarding the team. Our service revolves around sincerity, generosity and personalizing everything we do and it is so encouraging that these values were so well reflected in your stay.

We will enjoy your wonderful review together, THANK YOU so much for taking the time to write about us!

Kind regards
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#173 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Marcella Royal Hotel
Marcella Royal Hotel
#99 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#101 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#312 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romanico Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romanico Palace

Property: Hotel Romanico Palace
Address: Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Rome
#158 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#333 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romanico Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romanico Palace Hotel, situated in the heart of the Eternal City, is the ideal starting point for discovering the historic, artistic, cultural and gastronomic wonders of Rome. A few steps from Via Veneto, Galleria Borghese, Via Condotti and Piazza di Spagna. Walking around you can enjoy the most important monuments: the Coliseum, Piazza Navona, the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon.Each room is different and stands out due to its unique personality. The sense of beauty, the frescoes and attention to detail are testified by the Italian furniture made with an elegant combination of designs and colours. All the marble bathrooms have been renovated to be modern and functional.Entering the Roof Garden, you are greeted by a magnificent 360° view of Rome. We also offer a wellness area, an oasis where you can find harmony between body and soul, dedicated to all those who wish to have a wellbeing experience. The Fitness Centre offers various equipment for daily training, from the latest Technogym cardio machines to weights.The Romanico Palace Hotel is perfect for those seeking an exclusive atmosphere, and values its ability to combine warmth and discretion, courtesy and the utmost respect for privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Romanico Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romanico Palace Rome
Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing