We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Comfortable and Nice”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Romanico Palace
Ranked #286 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
NY, NY
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Location, Comfortable and Nice”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Check in was quick, friendly and professional. Our room was on the 6th floor, facing the street and we had a good view of the city from our windows and small terrace. Room was fairly large and very comfortable with a King bed and great air conditioning. I think it was 602. Bathroom was not new but very clean, tub/shower worked well but water temp fluctuated wildly for early AM shower... not a big deal.

Here you are a couple blocks from the Via Veneto (& American Embassy - a beautiful building!), and walking distance to Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Triton Fountain and Spanish Steps! A few blocks in another direction takes you to the old Roman city wall and the Borghese Gardens. Taxi stand nearby if you're ranging farther afield. Staff overall was friendly. Only negative really was the breakfast - meh. Ask for Espresso and don't even try to drink the 'American' coffee (ugh).

Thanks to a review I had seen here, I emailed the hotel before leaving NYC to request a room on a high floor facing the street. This is key, as the elevators are tiny and slow, and you could waste valuable time just waiting to get up to the 7th floor dining room every morning - and then back down! We had 1 flight to walk instead and saved much time and agita!

All in all, we enjoyed this hotel. Not the best but certainly FAR from the worst and I would return there.

Room Tip: High floor facing the street! Great view and you can walk up to breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Buongiorno Daves,

I would like to THANK YOU for having spent some of your time to leave your precious comment on our hotel, that will allow us to verify the quality of our services and to approach more and more to your expectations.

Our Hotel offers a different variety of rooms, each one with a unique layout and design that recalls the Imperial Style, spacious bathrooms with marble and hydro massage Shower or Bathtub. All finished with a particular attention to every details.

DIRECT CONTACT allows us to assign the room of your dreams, thanks for pointing out that you contacted us before arrival, as in your case that you have contacted us via email before arrival.

Your comments that check in was quick, friendly and professional is most appreciated. We invest heavily in training our staff to provide first class customer care to make sure that our guests leave us feeling that they have received exceptional service. When these efforts are acknowledged it makes all our hard work worthwhile.

Our apologies for for the long wait every morning have 2 elevators for guest use, which is normally sufficient for guest traffic and I can only deduct that we must have had an elevator out for a short period of time or that there was an unusually high guest demand.

We are really sorry for the breakfast, anyway not only positive comments but also negative ones are necessary for us in order to improve our daily service whose priority is always looking after our guests’ needs. You can contact us by email, we will welcome with much excitement your suggestion.

Once again, thank you for posting your feedback and for staying with us. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our lovely hotel!

Yours faithfully
Alessandro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    592
    340
    157
    70
See reviews for
243
976
37
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

First impression was tragic. We were dumped out of the cab on the side of the road. There was no porter or other signs that this was a decent hotel. We thought we had been booked into a backpackers hotel, not a supposed 4 star hotel. The foyer is very small and certainly nowhere to sit and wait. When we we're show to our room, we were horrified. It was no bigger than a shoe box. There was no storage and no chair to sit on. We looked out the window and were disgusted to see a filthy back ally. We complained to the reception staff, who consented to offering us another room, this one was not much better. There is no tea/coffee facilities in the room nor is this available free of charge else where in the hotel. Insight tours should reconsider their selection of hotels. This certainly does not meet with expectations of an quality holiday!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Kerrie from Rome,

Thank you for your feedback, we place enormous value on what our customers are saying about us . We can only improve if we truly listen and take genuine action, but sincerely your feedback is not very clear.

There are “pretty imaginative” things: from a distance you can admire the grandeur and elegance of the hotel, it is a historic building of the eighteen century, impossible to miss. The baroque architecture of our e property was entrusted to one of the greatest Italian artists, it would be nice for us to respond with photos.

About the room assignment, our whole property is composed of more than 100 rooms, every one of them has a detail or some particular that make it different from the others,

On the other hand, I am sorry that you were disappointed with the size of your room and I fully take your comments on board. Our Classic Room Category is one of our entry level room categories and one of 5 room categories we have available which different range and details.

We can accept every type of criticism, but not for our clean, we are proud of the level of this service, as you can see from the ranking, it is the first facility with high score. It is generally rated by all of our customers between 4 and 5 (out of five), it seems an unfair criticism.

We are a little bit hesitant about your judgments respect the Italian service, there are laws that regulate the safety warnings which must be accepted by the hotel. Starting from the tea/coffee facilities, it is not possible to have in the room, as well as the iron for example.

We are very disappointed that in this instance we failed to exceed your expectations, and apologise for any confusion caused by tourist laws.

Anyway your review seems very vague, we reported the fact to Tripadivisor to verify your real stay with us. The fact is that on this website you always have some bad review from one unsatisfied client and a lot of fake client (competitors) that review the Hotel, is a kind of war, but this is another story…

Best regards
Alessandro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I went in this hotel last summer.
The service is really good. Receptionists were all nice, kind and availables.
The room are spacious, a little old style but comfortable.
The location is really good, 15 minutes by foot from the Fontana di Trevi.
The only negative point would be the breakfast, which wasn't really good.
I'd definetely go back there :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I am happy to hear you will definitely be retuning again following your recent stay with us!

We want to build long term relationships with our customers and ultimately measure our success on whether we have become a home away from home for our guests.
Your feedback is therefore incredibly encouraging and motivating for the team, THANK YOU for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

We get so many great comments about our location, it is simply incredible and I can totally understand why guests would fall in love with an area right in the centre of Rome brimming with great bars, restaurants and independent little shops.

A real pleasure to read that you loved our room, where the past blends seamlessly into the present. Baroque mirrors reflect Luxury paneling and the finest of fabrics highlight the understated elegance of designer tables.

Our Architect has aimed to offer his personal guests amazing settings in which to let them enjoy his own extraordinary passion for art, history and the good life.

Please accept our sincere apologies that in this instance we failed to exceed your expectations, and be assured your review has been forwarded to the Food & Beverage Director, to be used as an opportunity for training and improvement.

Anyway, your experience is dated summer 2013, today there are several changes: you will find an assortment of croissants, cakes, bakery products, freshly baked bread, yogurt, cereals and fruits, biologic jam, organic and salty foods..

The location is the same: a fantastic terrace that offers 360° panoramic views on the majesty of Rome, unbelievable way to start the day literally looking over a paradise.

We are always most pleased with great comments regarding the team, we are delighted your experienced friendly service throughout your stay, and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Rome!

Kind regards
Alessandro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is situated in a decent location close to many of the attractions you come to Rome to see. However the area is not very lively and the restaurants are very average. The hotel decor is very cheap and obviously very fake when you enter which was a huge disappointment. Of all the hotels in surrounding roads the romanico looked the poorest. The service provided was the bare minimum. We checked out at 11am and our flight was at 9pm.we spent the day in the city and returned to the hotel in the evening and were denied the use of a shower before our flight. We booked through last minute.com and were told that we would be in the main hotel but found ourselves in an old, dirty building next door. The continental, rooftop breakfast was spoilt by dirty windows and a selection of packet meats. Unfortunately it seems every expense was spared in this dated hotel. The cherry ontop was a double room with two single beds pushed together and a broken Jacuzzi bath. Don't waste your time here, pick another hotel, closer to the trevi fountain where it's more lively in the evenings. The hotel is also tiny with no other guests to mingle with when in the bar, which is also un staffed, leaving you standing around until a porter walks past. Not a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Steve,

THANK YOU for your feedback, however disappointing it is an incredibly valuable tool for us as we strive for continual improvement and ultimately flawless guest experiences.

We respect your thinking about our style, but I regret to inform you that the hotel occupies an historical building of the eighteen century. The baroque architecture of our e property was entrusted to one of the greatest Italian artists, I'm sorry that his aesthetic criteria do not agree with yours.

Taste is subjective and that we understand, the largest number of compliments we receive the uniqueness and style of our house, we have an identity and we are proud of that we are not "one of the many "...

Of all the hotels in surrounding roads are with modern architecture, for us the history and the tradition still represent an absolute value.

Thank you for bringing your issue with breakfast to my attention. Your experience, however unfortunate, is most certainly not indicative of the high levels of service we strive to achieve and quality of product we maintain

Regarding your reservation, you booked the Annex Building - our basic product, I am very sorry that the site where you booked is not allowed you to understand this thing, the room category of your choice. I realize that after you left disappointed because you expect more. Separated beds pushed together are commons standard adopted in the main luxury hotel situated in Rome.

Our central location in the heart of Rome, just next to the famous Via Veneto, short distances from Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountian, make Romanico Hotel a wonderful and convenient place of residence.

“ Pick another hotel where it's more lively in the evenings”, as you have wrote, the extreme security and tranquility of our neighborhood is a crucial issue in a chaotic city like Rome, the hotel is in a privileged position because we are just a short walk from the U.S. Embassy and other embassies in Europe, so there is a continuous police surveillance makes form day to night.

DIRECT CONTACT it is the best way to avoid unpleasant surprises, "intermediaries" sites have poor clarity (This has happened with Lastminute). I invite you to read the good reviews, 90% of these are derived from customers who have booked directly with us. Our booking office is open 24h to provide a customize assistance.

Perhaps if you do consider us again we could speak prior to your arrival so I can understand exactly what is important for you, I am confidant that we can meet and exceed your expectations should you choose to return.

Yours faithfully
Alessandro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean but the room had very little storage and no hanging space for shirts/dresses. Reception staff great but couldn't find anyone to serve us in the bar. In the end we gave up and walked around the back of the hotel to a cafe- drinks were less than a third of the price there and we had great service so it was a good move. Breakfast was ok and views from the roof terrace amazing but here the staff let the hotel down - very unfriendly to the point of being surly. Although it was ok I wouldn't rush back there

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Buongiorno Steffy,

THANK YOU for your feedback, we are always learning from our guests’ experiences and know our future success depends on our ability to truly listen and respond to what our customers are saying about us.

Whilst I am happy that you enjoyed our cleanliness, I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room size and the attitude of our breakfast staff.

At the Romanico Palace we pride ourselves in excellent service and " couldn't find anyone to serve us in the bar” for us is not acceptable. So I have personally shared this with the staff and the management that they can look into the situation so that it does not happen again.

The Poeticus Bar is open 24 h, the relaxing atmosphere and the the inspiration of our barman Luca with his aperitifs and cocktails make our local a comfortable place, ideal in every moment of the day.

Our menu would envy to the best wine-cellar in Italy, the quality of these products has a price but we have also a wide choice of all other drinks, these a great price compared to the tourist traps that there are in the city center.

Anyway, from a pricing perspective I fully take your feedback on board and can assure you that we will take your comments into consideration, whilst we review our prices regularly to ensure we remain competitive and in line with the local market we would never want any of our guests to feel that we do not deliver on value.

Regarding the breakfast, we are delighted that you enjoyed the “amazing” Roof Terrace, but your service experience was unacceptable and inexcusable.

Please accept my personal apology and assurance that I will be taking this up with our Service and Kitchen Team, we want to offer exceptional experiences across the board and have to learn from our mistakes to achieve this goal consistently.

Despite the issues you experienced I do hope to hear from you and perhaps we can discuss a potential return visit.

I can assure you that the inconsistencies you highlighted are most certainly not indicative of our usual high levels of service and hope you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in the Romanico Palace!

Best regards
Alessandro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. Returned home 26/7/14. The hotel itself is spotless however the decor is needing updated. It is central and very close to the Spanish steps, metro and bus stop for city tour bus. The room we shared was an excellent size with plenty of room for storage. The beds are comfortable. Clean sheets and towels supplied everyday. Breakfast at the hotel was excellent with stunning views of Rome as we ate on the rooftop! The bar was not always manned. Happy hour is stated between 6.30-8.30pm everyday in the information welcome pack in the rooms however when we queried prices of our drinks during this time we were told "it depends, not happen every day." The staff very kind and friendly. The receptionists were very helpful with directions and advising us on deals for city sightseeing tickets.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Lauren,

THANK YOU for your feedback, we know it is crucial that we truly listen to what our guests are saying about us if we are to continually improve and enhance our service and our product.

I totally take your comment regarding maintenance to be done and will definitely look at what we need to do to increase the elegance of the hotel, we make every day different interventions, such as the one on the carpet (it was completely renovated) or new lifts.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our location in the City Centre and happy that our service and the friendliness of our staff stood out as a real positive.

“The room we shared was an excellent size with plenty of room for storage. The beds are comfortable. The exclusive mattress is custom designed to create the perfect foundation for deep, calming sleep, while plush pillows, crisp sheets and a fluffy duvet wrap you in comfort.

“Breakfast at the hotel was excellent with stunning views of Rome”. Here, the breakfast really gets the most important meal of the day: a delicious buffet tempting you with sweet and savory courses. You will find an assortment of croissants (directly from the best roman pastry), bakery products, freshly baked bread, yogurt, cereals and fruit…

The location is fantastic: a terrace that offers 360° panoramic views, unbelievable way to start the day literally looking over a paradise.

We are very sorry that you had a disappointing experience at the bar, I hope you can accept my personal assurance that the issues you highlighted.

You were not 100% happy with your stay but I do hope you will consider us again and get in touch with me if and when you decide to do so.
I know we can be home away from home for you with the warmth of hospitality to meet and exceed your expectations and sincerely hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back!

With kind regards
Alessandro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

we stayed here for 12 nights, returing home on 25.7.14, room was a bit smaller than expected but was clean and comfortable with a brilliant shower although the shower leaked. After showering the bathroom floor was wet through and we has to mop up with a towel. Bed was comfortable and bed linen and towels were changed everyday. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace is adequate if you like the continental breakfast but being british we like to have the option of bacon and some sort of eggs which we have had before when hotel has stated buffet continental breakfast. Saying that we only made it to breakfast a few mornings as our days were full and exhausting so we slept in a few times. This hotel is in a fab location within walking distance for most of the attractions and a taxi is only a few eueros if you don't want to walk. Staff are very polite and helpful with any queries. On the whole a very good hotel. One tip is wear good strong comfortable footwear as the cobbled streets play havoc with your feet, I ended up with terrible blisters on my feet as I only wore flipflops which is all I usually wear but I had to by something more comfortable. Overall we really enjoyed our stay in Rome and if we ever go back would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much to share your feedback and your experience at the Hotel Romanico Palace****.

It is very important for us the criticisms and the imperfections mentioned on your review because they fournish us a good basis and input to improve our services and amenities.

As I can see your original reservation was for a double standard room with the shower and concerning the room assignment, our whole property is composed of more than 100 rooms, every one of them has a detail or some particular that make it different from the others; that is why often some guest is impressed by a room that anyway is not the one that is booked.

For this reason we always recommend to book a room directly from our official website, where the accommodation, the choice of rooms are guaranteed by our word and not by various intermediaries.

On the other hand, I am sorry that you were disappointed with the size of your room and I fully take your comments on board. Our Classic Room Category is one of our entry level room categories and one of 5 room categories we have available which different range and details.
As you may understand the Hotel was born in a big old building, with a large variety of rooms which is in the average size of the rooms in the European standard Hotel’s context.

Hotel Romanico Palace**** is located in a safe and quiet central area which has a lot of amenities and attractions, indeed without using any form of transportation you can reach in 10 minutes by walking Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain, Villa Borghese with the gardens, Pantheon, Piazza del Popolo, Via del Corso and much more to see around.
All this beauty surrounded by great breakfast with breathtaking views of Rome on our Roof Top Garden Fulvius.

Thank you one more time for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one!

Kind Regards

Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,258 in Rome
2,331 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#167 of 1,258 in Rome
1,300 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#98 of 1,258 in Rome
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#299 of 1,258 in Rome
763 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Marcella Royal Hotel
Marcella Royal Hotel
#102 of 1,258 in Rome
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Romanico Palace

Property: Hotel Romanico Palace
Address: Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Rome
#156 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#333 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romanico Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romanico Palace Hotel, situated in the heart of the Eternal City, is the ideal starting point for discovering the historic, artistic, cultural and gastronomic wonders of Rome. A few steps from Via Veneto, Galleria Borghese, Via Condotti and Piazza di Spagna. Walking around you can enjoy the most important monuments: the Coliseum, Piazza Navona, the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon.Each room is different and stands out due to its unique personality. The sense of beauty, the frescoes and attention to detail are testified by the Italian furniture made with an elegant combination of designs and colours. All the marble bathrooms have been renovated to be modern and functional.Entering the Roof Garden, you are greeted by a magnificent 360° view of Rome. We also offer a wellness area, an oasis where you can find harmony between body and soul, dedicated to all those who wish to have a wellbeing experience. The Fitness Centre offers various equipment for daily training, from the latest Technogym cardio machines to weights.The Romanico Palace Hotel is perfect for those seeking an exclusive atmosphere, and values its ability to combine warmth and discretion, courtesy and the utmost respect for privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Romanico Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romanico Palace Rome
Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing