We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Romanico Palace
Ranked #286 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend, the hotel has an excellent location, only a couple of blocks from Via Veneto. The staff were generally extremely helpful, the evening staff in particular went out of their way to make our experience perfect. To the extent that the night reception staff member called a restaurant to keep it open for us after their closing time.
Our room was perfect for a short break, although small it included all amenities needed. I would recommend staying here for a short break.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Becca,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the Community of TripAdvisor.
I’m thrilled you enjoyed our location, Romanico Palace is a veritable jewel of Baroque elegance, within walking distance from the Borghese Art Gallery and Gardens and the heart of the city shopping district, Spanish Steps and Via Condotti where all the major houses of fashion have their ateliers.

Front Desk Reception is always ready to suggest to our guest the restaurants where to eat and overall by planning and customize your stay with tours and private guides. The most relaxing thing is to sit down on our lobby bar and take a drink, sipping it in a really cool fashioned and overall characteristic “atmosphera”.

We are very fortunate to have such a dedicated and passionate team that work tirelessly to ensure that our customers’ expectations are exceeded during each visit, we have people of different nationalities trained to be courteous and efficient, aware of the need to pay attention to the cultural background of the different needs of our clients.

We are happy to read that your room was cleaned and we are sure to share your comments about how clean you found your room with our housekeeping team – they do work very hard indeed to provide all our guests with the cleanest of hotels.

Thank you one more time for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I am pleased you had a brilliant stay with us and I hope to welcome you back whenever you will be in Rome.

Warm Regards

Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    592
    340
    157
    70
See reviews for
243
976
37
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is lovely and in a great location for central rome.
Our first room was very small and dingy and could hear traffic from the window though which was disappointing. But the hotel kindly upgraded our room for us.
The rooftop breakfast area was lovely
However prices were ridiculous. We had a jacuzzi bath but they wanted to charge us €18 just to turn it on when it was already in our room....
The Oj in the bar was €8 for a glass. Too many extra charges.
But as a hotel room it was lovely.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

It is very important for us the criticisms and the imperfections mentioned on your review because they fournish us a good basis and input to improve our services and amenities.

Regarding the first type of the room that has been assigned to you it was a Double Standard Room as per youroriginal reservation. We are happy to read that with the upgrade your room was suited to your needs.

By the way our whole property is composed of more than 80 rooms, every one of them has a detail or some particular that make it different from the others; that is why often some guest is impressed by a room that anyway is not the one that is booked.

For this reason we always recommend to book a room directly from our official website or to call directly us where the accommodation, the choice of rooms are guaranteed by our word and not by various intermediaries.

On the other hand, I am sorry that you were disappointed with the original size of your room and I fully take your comments on board. Our Classic Room Category is one of our entry level room categories and one of 5 room categories we have available which different range and details.

As you may understand the Hotel was born in a big old building, with a large variety of rooms which is in the average size of the rooms in the European standard Hotel’s context.
Concerning the rooms, they have been recently renovated, they are spacious, with a very comfortable bathroom, new mini bar with new section revisited, with a variety of cold drinks, they also have Jacuzzi or hydromassage shower.

Obviously the services are efficient and recently renovated and they have extra supplements, you should take in consideration as well that our front desk reception upgraded your original reservation with really a small extra fee that was a pittance respect than the normal fares for the upgrades.

Finally we are privileged to offer for a sweet awakening the most exclusive terrace of Via Veneto. From our roof top garden, the sun warms you and gives you its good morning, lighting up the breathtaking view of the Eternal City.

We are looking forward welcoming you back at the Hotel Romanico Palace****

Kind Regards

Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We booked the Romanico Palace hotel via British Airways holidays. As always when you book a hotel abroad you worry when you read negative reviews, I should not have worried.

When we arrived we were greeted by friendly reception staff. Check in was quick and easy. We were taken to our room by a polite and helpful porter. The room was clean, cool (good air conditioning) and functional.

We wanted somewhere to get a good night's sleep after a full day travelling around Rome and that is exactly what we got. Every evening we came home to a clean room with new fresh sheets and towels and got three good sleeps on a comfortable bed.

The hotel bar is not always manned but all you need do is ask at reception. If you want a buzzy bar to spend your evenings in this is not the hotel for you, but we were pleased with being able to get one last quiet night cap before bed. The night porter who serves you is a delightful man who was eager to be helpful.

The location is great. We were able to get to the Via Veneto in minutes. The Spanish Steps are a short walk and if, like us, you are no good at following maps, fear not there is a cab rank at the end of the road which always has plenty of taxis ready to take you where you please.

The local area feels extremely safe. You are right near a police station and American embassy.

Check out was easy and efficient. We did not wait long and they said nothing of us being 20 minutes late for check out. The receptionist kindly booked us a private car to the airport for €50, brilliant considering it cost us €60 from the airport. As expected you pay the city tax on departure (remember this, it is €3 per person, per night).

Overall, we had an extremely enjoyable stay. We would definitely stay again.

Thank you Romanico Palace Hotel! :) Great stay!

Stayed August 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent feedback and taking the time to write such a lovely review.

I’m thrilled you enjoyed as well our location, Hotel Romanico Palace is located in a safe and quiet central area which has a lot of amenities and attractions, indeed without using any form of transportation you can reach in 10 minutes by walking Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain, Villa Borghese with the gardens and much more to see around.

Regarding the type of the room you that has been you assigned it was a lovely nice Room with comfortable beds with Jacuzzi amenities.

We are happy to read that your room was suited to your needs and we are sure to share your comments about how clean you found your room with our housekeeping team – they do work very hard indeed to provide all our guests with the cleanest of hotels.

Our interior decoration and furnitures have been beautifully chosen and the ambiences really do reflect “Baroque Style” in its most elegant period.m The rooms boast antiques, the halls proudly display their 17th century paintings and the panoramic suites give onto the timeless beauty of the Vittoriano Monument.

Furthermore we really appreciate your positive comments regarding our Staff, very helpful and professional during all your stay as well the others concerning the breakfast will be reported to our Chefs and Restaurant Staff – they always try to improve the service with the goal to obtain a sense of satisfaction from our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one!

Your Sincerely,

Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Beautiful hotel, grandly decorated, very helpful and efficient staff, much needed air con was nice and quiet, very clean rooms with bedding and towels changed daily. The breakfast is continental style and was very nice.
,
There is a handy Spar supermarket 50 meters around the corner where we bought picnic lunch from the Deli counter

The bus stop is a 2 minute walk away, which takes you to the Termini for changes to destinations all over Rome or the Barberini metro is 5-8 mins at the bottom of the famous Via Veneto

Would definitely recommend

Tip: For a light evening meal at very low cost look for the Italian Heart (Quore Italiano ) gorgeous homemade pizza and salads

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so muchf or taking the time to give us your feedback. It’s always a pleasure for us to share the experiences and the comments of our guests.

I really appreciate your comments about our staff “helpful”. Our entire service philosophy revolves around delivering unparalleled personalized service experiences where no detail is too small and it is very encouraging when our guests comment so positively on their time with us. I am truly delighted as well you appreciated the extreme cleanliness of the room like at “maniac level” with the entire staff extremely attentive to small details.

I am pleased you felt really well and comfortable in the room that our Reception has assigned you and overall in all our structure. Indeed, the décor and furniture of every room has been carefully chosen and the ambiences really do reflect Baroque style in its most elegant period. Our interior decoration and furnitures have been beautifully chosen and the ambiences really do reflect “Baroque Style” in its most elegant period.

You may also be interested to learn that we have started a full refurbishment of our guest rooms, especially the air conditioning system with new and powerful conditioning systems, very quiet, centralized with intelligent power on and off.

Concerning the rooms, they have been recently renovated, they are spacious, with a very comfortable bathroom, new mini bar with new section revisited, with a variety of cold drinks, they also have Jacuzzi or hydromassage shower.

Last but not least.. I’m thrilled you enjoyed our location, Romanico Palace is a veritable jewel of Baroque elegance, within walking distance from the Borghese Art Gallery and Gardens and the heart of the city shopping district, Spanish Steps and Via Condotti where all the major houses of fashion have their ateliers.

I am truly delighted that you enjoyed as well another point of strength, the breakfast served on the amazing Roof Top Garden on the 7°Floor with 360° Panorama view over the Eternal City.

Thank you one more time for taking the time to write such a lovely detailed review.
I am pleased you had a brilliant stay with us and I hope to welcome you back whenever you will be in Rome.

Yours Faithfully

Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed with the hotel in late May and booked two triple rooms for my family of six. We were located in the Annex building which is not in the main building. The elevator in the annex building was a very old one and took quite awhile each time we wanted to utilize it. Being housed in the annex building was quite inconvenient as we had to walk out and head back into the main building for breakfast each morning. It rained on one day and it was a hassle getting back and forth from the breakfast place to the annex building. Breakfast was very simple and a little disappointing to be honest, there was not much variety.

The rooms we had were very pretty spacious and I appreciated the space for 3 adults in a room. The rooms though pretty nice looked pretty dated and could use some updating. In the immediate neighborhood of the hotel there isn't much, but if you walk out you could reach various attractions though they were quite a distance on foot.

All in all, a pretty adequate stay but I would have enjoyed it better if I were housed in the main building.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Joantham,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your important feedback and share your experience.

We accept the criticisms and the imperfections, especially if they are constructive but “Direct Contact” is the key to the success of your unique stay; our whole property is composed of more than 100 rooms, every one of them has a detail or some particular that make it different from the others and we personally take care of all the booking process with passion and professionalism with one unique aim: to let you feel at home and make it all perfect.
I can see your reservation came from an intermediary and it was specific for the annex building so you had what you have bought.

As you may understand the Hotel was born in a big old building, the rooms boast antiques, the halls proudly display their 17th century paintings and the panoramic suites give onto the timeless beauty of the Vittoriano Monument.
Our interior decoration and furnitures have been beautifully chosen and the ambiences really do reflect “Baroque Style” in its most elegant period.

About the room assignment, our whole property is composed of more than 80 rooms, every one of them has a detail or some particular that make it different from the others.

I’m thrilled you enjoyed our location, Hotel Romanico Palace**** is located in a safe and quiet central area which has a lot of amenities and attractions, indeed without using any form of transportation you can reach in 10 minutes by walking Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain, Villa Borghese with the gardens, Pantheon, Piazza del Popolo, Via del Corso and much more to see around. All this beauty surrounded by a variety selection of fresh food for breakfast with breathtaking views of Rome on our Roof Top Garden Fulvius.

I do look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Small foyer was promising - in EVERY other way NOT four star - hence poor rating.
Reception service unwelcoming, robotic. Restaurant service minimal. Breakfast disappointing. Bar area no atmosphere......
Always a matter of opinion but bedroom decor was a dark and a miserable attempt at stuccato/ gilt - being small this felt oppressive and not somewhere we wanted to spend any time in at all.
We booked through Secret Escapes; we've always had lovely, great value hotels with them - with this hotel, the only secret is to escape elsewhere!

Hotel NOT central - a good bus ride to anywhere of note.
The only poor review we've ever given......

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Buongiorno Iana,

THANK YOU for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay, although I am sorry to read that we did not fully meet your expectations.

Being an older style historical building, I was surprised to learn that you felt the décor “dark and and miserable. We also carry out regular soft refurbishments and change the room fabric every month. The decor is in line with what we believe to be a traditional baroque hotel which is what we market ourselves as. We do get great comments regarding how traditionally italian our decor is.

We are not a chain hotel with standardized rooms, but a structure with a a real identity , as you wrote, this factor is denoted from our rooms. Question of taste, but it should be considered before booking a structure.

We consistently receive brilliant feedback regarding our staff. However, I apologise if you felt a bad the reception service . Here, we pride ourselves in excellent customer care and service and clearly we have failed on this occasion.

Responding to the comments of guests nost we never tire, it's nice to see the different point of view:there are those who say that we are in a privileged position, someone like you who says it is not central, the only thing that we invite you to do and go on sites with geolocation and check what 'is the truth

I am equally sorry that you did not take the opportunity to sample our breakfast. We only use fresh and local produce from reputable suppliers to ensure that our guests get the best quality. To consider also the privilege of having a sweet awakening from the most exclusive terrace of City..

As always, the DIRECT CONTACT remains the best way to have the most advantageous price and the least risk of being disappointed. The best "good deal" is always to book on our site directly, or still better contact us directly via email, our booking office is open 24 hours to provide a customize assistance.

I was sorry that Romanico Palace did not meet your expectations and I hope that this did not detract too much from your stay in Rome.

Yours sincerely,
Alessandro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I dont understand the rating of 64% on trip adviser, this hotel merits at least 75 to 80%.
If your looking for a couple of days in Rome for great food and great visiting this is an excellent hotel. The rooms are confortable, clean and pleasant to be in. The staff is extremly helpful with no attitude. The breakfast on top overlooking a bit of Rome is delightful. You are about 10 to 15 min away by bus to every sight seing venue you can think of. Restaurants are plentiful around the hotel so you will never ask yourself where to eat at night. All around decent stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Buongiorno MIch,

Words can not describe how thankful we are for your comments, THANK YOU very much for sharing your impressions following your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

Your brilliant feedback is not only very encouraging for us, but it is a further proof that there are people who criticize our hotel for economic and dishonest interests that unfortunately have polluted this website.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our décor, design, rooms are with frescoes and decorations on the walls, carved headboards, paintings, created to impress our guest. They are treated every day with passion and represent the symbol of style and welcome of the Romanico Palace Hotel.

We are very proud of our staff and it is always pleasing to receive such kind comments as yours. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service so it is satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

On the top floor the Roof Garden, a large terrace overlooking the city where you can enjoy a splendid 360° panorama of Rome whilst having breakfast.
Our pastries are produced from the best bakery in Rome, it uses only quality products following the best recipes of Italian cuisine, we believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and should be done in a certain way, our way…

Around the Romanico Palace there are numerous restaurants and bars at reasonable prices, suitable for every kind of taste, our Receptionists know the best place to eat for an unforgettable experience to discover the Italian culinary tradition, we have an excellent staff , but also great food lovers.. :-D

We cannot wait for you to return again and very much look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards
Alessandro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,258 in Rome
2,331 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#167 of 1,258 in Rome
1,300 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#98 of 1,258 in Rome
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#299 of 1,258 in Rome
763 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Marcella Royal Hotel
Marcella Royal Hotel
#102 of 1,258 in Rome
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Romanico Palace

Property: Hotel Romanico Palace
Address: Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Rome
#156 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#333 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romanico Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romanico Palace Hotel, situated in the heart of the Eternal City, is the ideal starting point for discovering the historic, artistic, cultural and gastronomic wonders of Rome. A few steps from Via Veneto, Galleria Borghese, Via Condotti and Piazza di Spagna. Walking around you can enjoy the most important monuments: the Coliseum, Piazza Navona, the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon.Each room is different and stands out due to its unique personality. The sense of beauty, the frescoes and attention to detail are testified by the Italian furniture made with an elegant combination of designs and colours. All the marble bathrooms have been renovated to be modern and functional.Entering the Roof Garden, you are greeted by a magnificent 360° view of Rome. We also offer a wellness area, an oasis where you can find harmony between body and soul, dedicated to all those who wish to have a wellbeing experience. The Fitness Centre offers various equipment for daily training, from the latest Technogym cardio machines to weights.The Romanico Palace Hotel is perfect for those seeking an exclusive atmosphere, and values its ability to combine warmth and discretion, courtesy and the utmost respect for privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Romanico Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romanico Palace Rome
Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing