We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but poor value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eurostars Saint John Hotel
Ranked #372 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Eurostars Saint John hotel over the New Year period. We paid a premium price for what we thought would be a premium hotel. Unfortunately it is not, more of a 3* hotel.

PROS
Clean and tidy.
Room Decor is modern and fresh.
Comfortable bed.
Close walking distance to metro, the Coliseum and restaurants.
Very helpful Reception staff.
Safe area.


CONS
Room is tiny, just enough space to walk around the bed to get into the bath room.
Can hear neighbouring guests through the wall.
Services not as advertised (no satellite TV, no bathtub)
Air Con/heating is controlled centrally by Reception. Our room was very very warm. Informed that nothing could be done to address, as all the rooms were set to ''heating during the winter months", I.e. No individual climate control. This was far from ideal, due to the warm weather experienced. We left the window open all the time, favouring the breeze and noisy road to a warm room.

I would recommend this hotel, if you can get a cheap deal and are happy with 3* quality.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Pink_Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (829)
There are newer reviews for Eurostars Saint John Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 829 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

We booked a quadruple room and stayed over the Christmas holiday for 4 nights. Room was small, not as per described in their homepage "The best solution for 4 people. Room comfortable and quiet ..... ideal for families with children. Large spacious, bright, elegant room,...". 2 extra beds were set up and 1 of them actually blocked the wardrobe, leaving only a half opened door. Would be great if they could provide coat hangers on walls cause no space at all in wardrobe. No hangers in toilet too for towels and clothing. Lights in the room are insufficient, especially at the entrance and dresser. Power point for fridge and need to share with kettle too.
The housekeeping service was poor. On our 2nd day, we told the chambermaid to provide extra bath/shower gel cause that tiny bottles are for both hair & body. Not only no extras were given, they did not replenish what were used too. Toiletries, tea bags are not being refilled and cups are not washed. Worst of all, on the 3rd day, we found our soil towels which we left in the sink were hanging in our shower cubicle.
Strongly agreed with itisjaye regarding " the breakfast rooms is run by a young gestapo agent who would not allow us to sit with our family and instructed us to "sit there". The first thing he greets us is "room number" instead of "buongiorno". He even ignore us when we ask him to clear our plates.
The only person who makes our stay pleasant is Ms Mirta, who works at the front desk. She was the only true professional whom contributed to the 4 stars of the hotel.
The location was okay. Although not far from train station but the walk from train station to hotel was rather quiet at night. No shops around hence very dark and quiet, with occasional "strangers" staring and drunk singing.

Room Tip: Will not recommend to travelers without male companion and family with older kids
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexus327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hotel is located very close to Coloseum at quiet street and close to metro station, that makes this well designed hotel perfect for those who wants to get by walk to the most popular destinations. The Trevi fountain, Parthenon and the most popular ,touristic restaurants are only 30-40 minutes away from Prime hotel Saint John. If you like to take a dinner at not so popular places, where the tourist don't make a lot of noisy, you could enjoy of some of the small and cozy italian restaurants, located around the main street ,close to the hotel
If you would like to make a romantic trip whit your beloved, Prime hotel Saint John is perfect place, too. The interior is boutique designed, whit spacious doublebed and elegant bathroom. Only the space ot the rooms is a little bit small, but what you need when you are a couple instead of big bad.
The breakfast is great, and is suitable as well for meat lovers and for vegetarians.
I really liked this hote, because of the perfect location, designed interior and reasonable prices.
Thank you, Prime hotel Saint John!
I'll be back!:)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katerinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The room was small but comfortable but the bath tub was great! After walking all over Rome, it was nice to come back to a jacuzzi tub! Breakfast was really good and the staff was nice. Overall, it was a nice place.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Kmsatty12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The staff at this hotel could not be bothered with us. Our inquiries were met with curt answers. The computer in the lobby never worked right and the desk staff was inpatient with any requests for help with it. The breakfast room is run by a young gestapo agent who would not allow us to sit with our family and instructed us to "sit there".
The breakfast however was very good. The beds were uncomfortable and the hotel is in general disrepair. The first two days, there was only one operational elevator. The location is perfect, as you can walk to the Coliseum to catch the Hop On Hop Off bus to visit any of the attractions; and we were in walking distance to a few fine restaurants. I would NOT stay here again, nor woulf I recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank itisjaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in September. The rooms are tiny, compared to other hotels i have stayed at, but i hardly spent any time there. The rooms were clean and had everything you needed. The breakfast was amazing and had a variety of food to suit all.
I was particularly impressed with the reception staff, Mirta. She was very friendly and helped me out with anything i needed. I should note that they really need two staff at the front desk. She was so busy, and worked so hard to attend to everyone.
There should also be a porter at the front door at all times, which there wasn't. There was a guy who occasionally was at the front door, but he was always having a smoke or kept disappearing.
Location was great. 10 minute walk to Colosseum, and 5 minute walk to metro station.
There is free wifi, but it had the worse reception in the foyer area, something that should be looked at.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anipsed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

After arriving at the hotel at 2pm, the official checking in time, we were told our room was not ready and we would have to wait as they were then changing us to another room. After waiting for an hour in the hotel lobby we finally got called over by the receptionist (who was wearing jeans) and were given our room key. Upon arriving in our room I thought it was a joke. It was the smallest box room I had even seen, complete with a sectioned off area with a small shower and toilet. We paid 711 euros for four nights and it was not worth it. The shower ran hot and cold, the rooms thermostat did not work, the staff were rude and unhelpful, we could hear the guests in the room above us using the toilet (you can use your imagination) when you swipe your card to get into your room it makes a loud buzzing noise, so all night and all morning all you can hear is people entering their rooms.
The shower doesn't drain properly, leaving a puddle on the floor every time it was used. The only power outlets were the two bedside table lamps, and one right by the entrance door of the room. Our view was a school playground and it was lovely to be woken up at 7am by screaming children, when booking.com advertised this room as being soundproof and blackout. Both incorrect.
The breakfast wasn't half bad, cut up hot dogs, bacon, scrambled egg in water, cheese, meats, croissants etc.
The location of the hotel is good, at the end of the road turn left and walk straight for 10 - 15 minutes and you are right at the Colusseam.
I have been to a lot of bad restaurants and places but have never felt the need to write a bad review until now. I wouldn't want people to get mugged off like we have and have a very disappointing start to their holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CassieK251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Eurostars International Palace
Eurostars Roma Aeterna
#258 of 1,267 in Rome
1,235 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#115 of 1,267 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Saint John Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Saint John Hotel

Address: Via Matteo Boiardo 30, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Prime Hotel Saint John)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#203 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £78 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Saint John Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Saint John has a great location in the center of Rome, between the Coliseum and San Giovanni Laterano. Among a wide range of great services, the client can enjoy Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, complimentary newspapers and a bar service, plus a covered pay parking. The 4 star hotel Eurostars Saint John is also the perfect place for business events in the centre of Rome, as it offers a large conference room that accommodates 100 people and a small meeting room for 10 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Eurostars, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eurostars Saint John Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Saint John Rome Hotel Rome
Prime Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing