We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to leave!”
Review of Settembre95

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Settembre95
Ranked #2,494 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happy to leave!”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My friend and I booked this b&b as a part of our Tour of Italy vacation. Thus far it has been our worst accommodation in terms of hospitality, service and quality. We arrived at Settembre 95 at about 6 pm on Monday, July 23. No one answered when we rang the bell, so after 15 minutes of waiting with all our luggage on the corner we went to the pharmacy next door to use the phone. The proprietor answered and came down stairs to let us in.

Check-in was probably the most courteous she was with us during our entire 3 night stay. She spoke no English except for maybe the word payment, which she used often while hounding us for money two of the three nights. We had established, in broken Italian, that we'd be paying the morning of our check-out when we arrived. And we payed the city tax upfront. But the proprietor was persistent and rude. She hovered over us while we had our coffee in the morning. She approached us well after midnight as we were coming back from a long day of sightseeing. She called out to us as we were leaving in the morning... It was relentless!

Beyond that, there were multiple issues with the room. First, it was cramped even for two people, though we hadn't expected too much from an inexpensive place in Rome. Second, the light in our bathroom broke our first night there. We brought it to the proprietor's attention. She stormed in, fidgeted with the switch, threw her hands up and stormed back out. So without a resolution, the bathroom light remained on for the duration of our stay. Third, our air conditioning read 17 degrees Celsius, but was never colder that 76 degrees (Fahrenheit), leaving us to suffocate in the summer heat. When we did open the windows, we were "gently" rocked to sleep by the sound of Vespas, buses and every other noise one could imagine on the street below.

Also, the proprietor breezed in and out of our room as she pleased while we were out, (she moved things around and took the money we paid for mini bar use), but never once did we get clean linens, towels or any attempt at tidying the room.

Finally, the proprietor insisted we check out at 10, though it was clearly stated on the back of our door that check out was at 11, she yelled at us.... YELLED... When we took her the sign to show her it read 11. All in all, I would not recommend this hotel unless you like poor service, broken utilities and to be rushed out after paying 70 euro a night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    49
    18
    21
    48
See reviews for
45
110
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Room was fine. And breakfast was small and receptionist didn't speak english. But only for night and sleep it was fine, only street was noisy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Lukas_Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Breakfast was extremely poor. Room was not cleaned neither soap and shampoo replaced from one day to the other. The place is not expensive, but the quality-price ratio was not what I expected, based on the reviews I´ve previously saw. In a word, disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My husband and I had a horrible experience here. First, we arrived at the address to find a condominium building with no sign and no indication that there was a hotel there. We called the provided phone number and were told to buzz a certain floor, but when we did there was still no answer. We called back and were told that someone would be sent down to meet us. We then proceeded to wait for almost 10 minutes until a woman (wearing sweatpants and a t-shirt) finally opened the door and pointed at the elevator without a word. No apology about the wait or the trouble we had finding the place we were paying 120 euro a night for! We followed her upstairs and showed her our confirmation email, after which she gave us the key and walked out again without a word, leaving us alone in what appeared to be the floor of an apartment building and with no one at the "front desk." No mention of the breakfast that was supposed to be included or any other info about the place. She didn't even collect our passports to register us with the local police as is required by law in Italy. We went into our room to find something resembling a subpar hostel ... dirty, scuffed walls, no telephone, and a window opening onto a sketchy alleyway. It basically looked like someone attempted to turn a tiny apartment bedroom into a "hotel room". We decided right away that we were not going to stay and left, but not before being refused a full refund of the city tax we had already paid. Thank goodness there was a REAL hotel right next door (Leon's Place) with great service and lovely, clean, modern rooms where we were able to stay for only about 50 euro more a night ... totally worth it after our horrible experience at Settembre 95!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LF_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Small comfortable room with A/C. Decent continental breakfast. Good services (restaurants, bank) in area.
10 min walk from Metro.
Hard to find - 4th floor B&B No Sign.
Elevator available.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRBPhiladelphiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

we stayed there for 3 nights. great place to stay, walking distance to the termini station, very friendly staff, nice and clean room, think it was recently refurbished, we walked to all the attractions. would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eastendgooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

I was there for 3 nights. It,s greate place for stay if you like to visit ancient Rome, Coloseo, Vatican. t is close to Termini railway station and metro stattion. If you like you can walk centre because it is about 15 minutes from centre.
Rooms and bathrooms are very nice, and well designed with all equipement - tv, fridge, hairdryer. Breakfast are traditional italian, with small cakes, jam, coffee with milk and jogurt. But you can also bring your meal.
The value for money of this hostel is very good.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank knyps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Baltic
#1,075 of 1,261 in Rome
372 reviews
Hotel Delle Vittorie
#293 of 1,261 in Rome
696 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Gialel B&B
Gialel B&B
#331 of 3,692 in Rome
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
La Luna Romana
La Luna Romana
#1,878 of 3,692 in Rome
304 reviews
Rome & Suites
#2,446 of 3,692 in Rome
132 reviews
Cesar Palace Guesthouse
#2,740 of 3,692 in Rome
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settembre95? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settembre95

Property: Settembre95
Address: Via XX Settembre, 95, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,494 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Settembre95 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Settembre95 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settembre 95 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing