We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great locaiton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza Navona First
Ranked #1,298 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Thetford, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great locaiton”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The best part about this hotel was the location. It was a little scare for facilities but the room was clean and the few interactions we had with the staff were great. I recommend this to travelers looking to stay right in the heart of the city. If you are looking for a full service hotel or onsite parking you should look at other options. The value was good for our family and the room was clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    60
    21
    11
    14
See reviews for
37
96
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
langenhoe england
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

A great location is the only good thing i can say about this place.

There was water dripping through the bathroom ceiling above the toilet and bathroom door. We came back at the end of every day wondering if the ceiling would have collapsed. There is no reception in the building to complain to as this is basically just rooms in a shared building, We did call at the building a couple of streets away that houses reception and buzzed the door but there was no reply so we gave up, we did mention it as we checked out but nobody was interested.

The toilet seat was broken and the shower head bracket was broken so the shower head was at waist height. The bedroom was ok although the sheets were so thin my husband moved his elbow and it went through the sheet. The sheets also had some dubious looking stains on them as did the towels. My husband also claimed to be itchy in bed although he may just have been paranoid as there were lots of little flying things in the room that kept landing on us. The wifi was poor unless you sat on the floor just inside the door.

The 'hotel' -i use the word loosely' - has 2 seperate locations - and reception is housed in a third building - all are closed doors with buzzers. We arrived at the address we were staying at -piazza cancelleria (closest to campo fiori) and buzzed the door - - and there was no one there. We went to the other address and buzzed the door - there was no one there. Luckily a friend of the receptionist happened to be passing and directed us to the building which houses reception. We buzzed the door and the receptionist came down and led us back to the original building - not the ideal start when you are carrying luggage and the weather is warm.

We had booked BB Residenza Navona First and where we actually stayed was San Pantaleo rooms which was basically a hostel with an ensuite. We paid 95 euros cash a night. I am not fussy and don't expect 5 star luxury at this price but this was definately the worst place I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catlangenhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Like some of the other reviews, we found the place going by several different names (first waning sign). It's also B&B Campo de' Fiore. Although a great location with double-paned windows to keep out some of sounds from the piazza, this cannot compensate for the small cramped rooms (not like the photos posted), non-working TV, non-working mini-fridge, awful beds, and a strong sewer smell permeating everything. When I mentioned the smell to person in charge, she replied "This Rome, it's an old city."

Otherwise, Gerri's Bar was not good or friendly (but full of tourists) and was closed for a couple of days.

In sum, great location, no breakfast, awful room (very cramped, not like the photos), incredibly uncomfortable beds, no tv or mini-fridge, and an inescapable sewer-smell that makes your eyes water. Your vacation time is too precious to stay here,

Room Tip: definitely not room #2, but I wouldn't risk it with the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We booked with Residenza Navona First based on the pictures and reviews on tripadvisor, along with the price and location. We were not disappointed. The address booking.com gave us was the address near Campo di Fiori. I believe it holds the office. We were taken to our room across the street right near Piazza Navona. We had to go up some pretty steep steps but once you're in the landing, you are in a dining room/kitchen area with is shared by the guests. Our room was number 3 on Viccolo della Cancelleria. We had our own private terrace and our room was very spacious with a private bath. It was like living in a little studio apartment instead of a room. The location was excellent. This bed and breakfast isn't americanized, but lovely because you actually feel submersed in the Roman culture. If you are looking for a typical American hotel, this is not it. If you are looking for a cozy, Italian stay that is literally within walking distance of Piazza Navona, the Pantheon, and the Vatican(opposite direction), this is the place for you. The only negative thing I can think of to say about this place is that the walls are quite thin, so it can get a bit noisy, but that didn't bother us too much since we were out most of the day and night enjoying Rome. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 3 on Viccolo della Cancelleria
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyA671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We chose this hotel based on the location and reviews. I must say that this is the first time I felt let down by my fellow travellers. The only conclusion I can draw is that there are two locations- one on Piazza Navona and another closer to Campo di Fiori. This review is for the Campo- It was a hostel with a private bath. For the price paid it was noisy, poor beds, buggy, and generally a lousy stay. Sorry.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TumbleweedSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I picked that location mostly based on their rating (4.3) on TripAdvisor. Clearly, people who gave them that score dod not go to the same place we went. I'll have to be more careful with TripAdvisor in the future ;-)

Worst place I've ever stayed. Dirty, dark, and way too expensive, at 140 Euros per night (they even have the nerve to charge more on week-ends). It started on a very wrong foot when I showed up at the address on the venere.com confirmation eMail, only to find a closed door. Fortunately, they had left their phone number on the door AND I was smart enough to buy a Vodafone Italy SIM card previously. I called them, and had to walk yet a few nore blocks with all the luggage to get to our rooms, up to the 3rd floor a steep stairway.

The only redeeimng value of the place, besides very good Internet connectivity, is its location. But there is only so much I would be willing to pay for that.

The other good news is: rooms are furnished with towels with holes in them... but they don't charge for the holes :-)

If, on the other hand, you enjoy showering with a showerhead below your waistline, go for it!

Ricardo Talbot
Québec, Québec
Canada

Room Tip: Play it safe... Stay away from Residenza Navona First!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We booked here because the web pictures looked promising, and it was close to Campo dei Fiori and Piazza Navona, our favourite area in the beautiful city. We arrived at the address and were greeted by a scruffy staircase and a lady saying "No, don't come up!" She then came down, and with a curt "Follow me," headed around the corner, a couple of hundred metres on, across the Corso Vittoria Emanuele and into another doorway in the Piazza San Pataleo, up an old elevator to the fourth floor. In a tiny foyer we were asked for "Passports!" and then "You pay now!" After a long and stressful journey, we were not ready to be rude or ask where we actually were. Credit card done, we were led down the passage to a very small room with an even smaller bathroom. The lady gave us some keys and left, never to be seen again. In fact, apart from two other guests, we did not see anyone else. We discovered by a card in the foyer that this was the Residenza San Pantaleo.
OK. So the room was very small. If you happened to drop the soap in the shower, you certainly would not be able to pick it up; and if you were the slightest bit portly, you wouldn't actually fit in the shower.
The redeeming features were clean sheets, reasonably quiet (because this room faced onto a courtyard as opposed to the Corso), and you are literally a couple of hundred metres from Piazza Navona. Another nice thing was that in place of breakfast, you get a voucher for a cafe and a cornetto at Gerri's Bar around the corner which is a genuine little place used by locals and not tourists.
I think you could do a lot better in Bella Roma.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Damaso
Hotel Damaso
#449 of 1,261 in Rome
20 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
#489 of 1,261 in Rome
318 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Rooms
Navona Rooms
#168 of 3,692 in Rome
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Four Rivers Suites
Four Rivers Suites
#305 of 3,692 in Rome
211 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Campo de' Fiori 27 Suites
Campo de' Fiori 27 Suites
#2,051 of 3,692 in Rome
10 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza San Pantaleo
Residenza San Pantaleo
#1,485 of 3,692 in Rome
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Navona First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Navona First

Property: Residenza Navona First
Address: Piazza della Cancelleria 77, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,298 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Residenza Navona First 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Navona First is a newly-refurbished B&B. All rooms are finely decorated and furnished, and are equipped with en-suite facilities. The B&B is located in the heart of the medieval district, in a 13th-century-building only 50 meters away from Piazza Navona, and 30 meters away from Campo de' Fiori and Piazza Farnese. Navona First is on the second floor of the three-storey-building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residenza Navona First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Navona First Hotel Rome
Residenza Navona 1st

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing