We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Through Eternity tours of Rome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Through Eternity Cultural Association

Through Eternity Cultural Association
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.14*
and up
In-Depth Colosseum Tour with Roman Forum and Palatine Hill
Ranked #10 of 755 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Through Eternity is a tour company in Italy that provides insightful guidance and commentary on historical and artistic sights, both well known and off the beaten track. The company has been providing exceptionally high quality cultural tourism since 1999. Our guides are all highly educated, fluent English-speaking professionals who bring history alive and provide deep cultural context. The company provides tours and excursions in Rome, Florence, Pompeii, Naples, Siena, Tivoli and San Gimigano. All Through Eternity's back-office staff are native English speakers.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Through Eternity tours of Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had an excellent experience with a 5-day Forum, palatine and coliseum tour with Caterina which was a small group of us and one other couple and the next day the Vatican with Adriana. This group had the max of 13 but was equally as exceptional. No lines, extensive interesting historical facts and present day context. Would encourage anyone planning to visit Rome, especially for the first time, to book tours with this organization. The best tour guides anywhere!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Through_Eternity, Manager at Through Eternity Cultural Association, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Pamela G.,

Hope that you are having a fantastic summer, and I wanted to say thank you for the kind review of our recent tours with us. All of our guides are chosen not only for their scholastic background, but also for their innate sense of customer service, whether that be steering a group through the busy halls of the Vatican, or crafting a sophisticated yet entertaining tour.  We’re happy that you found your tours with Caterina and Adriana to be a good mix of historical information and time to truly absorb all that Rome has to offer.

If you find yourself in Rome in the future, please let us know, as we would be thrilled to show you some of our other favorite sites in Rome.

Best,
The Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,769
    75
    20
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nicely done tour, great guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We did the Vatican tour with Through Eternity in early June. It was very hot, so not the best day to be walking about the Vatican. Getting to the meeting spot wasn't as easy as I'd hoped, more of our fault for not more closely scrutinizing where it was before we left from our hotel.

Once the tour got going everything was relatively good. With the heat,iIt could have been pretty bad, but our guide, Ximena, kept it together and made it a very enjoyable tour. Ximena was funny, sarcastic, and imminently knowledgeable and made dealing with the chaos of the crowds and the heat much easier than it otherwise might have been. My kids, 9 and 12 found her to be very entertaining and definitely soaked in much of what she was saying.

St. Peter's was the highlight of the tour, although sadly it came at the end, by which point we were pretty tired. The Sistine Chapel, sadly, was a letdown. Too many people, too many guards saying "shhhh" every few minutes. Really put a damper on that part of the tour.

Overall a very nice experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CBFilippelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Through_Eternity, Manager at Through Eternity Cultural Association, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear CBFilippelli,

Thank you for the kind review of your tour of the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter’s Basilica with Ximena. Through Eternity has many wonderful guides who are both vastly knowledgeable but also able to impart that knowledge in a manner that is engaging to tourists of all ages, and I am glad that both you and your children found Ximena to be an ideal guide for a hot June day. I will pass your kind words along to her.

I am however, sorry to hear that you had some difficulty reaching the meeting point, and that the experience in the Sistine Chapel was a let down because of the summer crowds and the shushing by the Vatican Museum staff. I hope that we have future opportunities to show you some less chaotic sites in Rome.

Sincerely,
The Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I booked two tours with them while I was in Rome. Their staff is incredibly responsive and kind. They worked with me to get me on others and were really great. I highly recommend their special tour of the forum and Colliseum. It was 51/2 hours that flew by. The it guides are fantastic and I learned so much. Their guides all speak fluent English and are incredibly knowledgable. I appreciate English only tours by experienced, interesting guides and clearly this company choose its guides well. I would highly recommend them. Lastly, if you do take the Colliseum tour please leave fashion behind and wear sneakers or rubber shoes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PickyTravelerFromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Through_Eternity, Manager at Through Eternity Cultural Association, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear PickyTravelerFromNYC,

Many thanks for the wonderful review and kind words about our staff. I am so happy to hear that your two tours with Through Eternity were exactly what you had wanted, and that our guides fluent command of English and their knowledge made the experience pleasant and enlightening.

Also, thank you for your comment about comfortable footwear choices for the Colosseum, as you are correct, it can be daunting on the feet if you are not used to the terrain.

I hope we may see you again in the future.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Through eternity Rome tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We booked two tours with this company.The first tour covered the Vatican and the second ancient Rome. Both tours were excellent and exceeded my expectations.The tour guides spoke excellent English and their knowledge of art history and ancient Rome was outstanding.I felt privileged to have spent the day with them.(Eugenia led the Vatican tour and Giovanni the tour of ancient Rome)Both tour guides arrived promptly at our apartment and took great care of us throughout the day.Anyone seriously interested in history should use this company.It's a pity this company doesn't cover all the major European cities!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Through_Eternity, Manager at Through Eternity Cultural Association, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Janet S.,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your private tours with Eugenia and Giovanni, and I am so happy to hear that both exceeded your expectations. All of our guides are chosen not only for their scholastic background, but also for their innate sense of customer service, whether that be finding shade on a hot July day, or crafting a sophisticated yet entertaining tour.  We’re happy that you found your time with Eugenia and Giovanni to be a good mix of historical information and time to truly absorb all that Rome has to offer.

I hope that this is the first of many touring opportunities that we will have with you, and have a fantastic summer.

Best,
The Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Scholar-Led Walking Tours in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We signed up for two Through Eternity Tours in June 2014 and they were beyond doubt the best tours of our 19 day visit to Rome, Southern Italy, Sicily, Malta, and Croatia. In fact, these two tours made our visit to Rome much more enjoyable than anytime we have been to Rome previously. The two scholar-led walking tours (6-12 people) booked with Through Eternity were: the Colosseum, Roman Forum, & Palatine Hill and then the Vatican Museums & St. Peter’s Basilica. Another couple did the same tour set and none of us were disappointed.

Our guides were superb. Both spoke English very well, had very pleasant personalities, and were very knowledgeable about the subject matter. Headsets are used so that you hear everything the guide has to say. Plenty of time is allowed for photography. The pace of walking was just right, even for one of us with a walking difficulty.

The Roman Forum and surrounding areas consisting of broken columns, portions of brick walls, and fragments of old buildings incorporated into Catholic churches are not much to look at or make sense of. But the history and meaning of these sites came alive when Frederica, a professional historian and archaeologist, explained the significance of the various structures, including showing 3D reconstructions of the temples using an iPad tablet. The Colosseum is mobbed with tourists and con artists and it is important to have a guide like Frederica if you wish to truly see both the exterior and interior and appreciate the structure and what occurred there in the first century AD.

Likewise, the crowds are so huge in the Vatican Museum that a guide is essential to manage the maze of corridors. Otherwise you will be frustrated as you are pushed along corridors like cattle towards the Sistine Chapel and then out the door. Instead Eugenia, our Through Eternity guide who is a trained art historian, led us through one of the greatest museums in the world, pointing out and explaining major works of art and sculpture along the way. She craftly
avoided large tour groups and nicely prepped us for what to look for in advance of taking us to the Sistine Chapel and Raphael paintings. The St. Peter Basilica visit was a bit short, we thought.

Both tours are extensive, more than 5 hours in duration. Our group had a pleasant lunch break and discussion with the guide during the Roman Forum tour; the Vatican cafeteria sells the worst food in all of Europe so bring along a sandwich or fruit for lunch in that tour. These tours are not inexpensive, but we and the other couple agreed, well worth the cost. Your enjoyment and memories of Rome will be greatly amplified with Through Eternity tours. We were only sorry we did not sign up for the Galleria Borghese tour as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SFinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Through_Eternity, Manager at Through Eternity Cultural Association, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear SFinSC,

As returning visitors to Rome, your insight and thoughts about your tours to the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter’s Basilica, and Colosseum, Roman Forum, & Palatine Hill are invaluable to us. I am beyond thrilled to hear that these tours were the best you had during your recent travels.

Additionally, I wanted to let you know that I have passed your review on to both Eugenia and Federica, as I know they will be so happy to hear from you. Our management team goes to great lengths to seek out guides with extensive backgrounds in history and art history, and who are also passionate about their city.  Its always a pleasure for the guides to have the chance to go in-depth when clients are eager to hear more about the art collections and monuments they are visiting and I am glad that you learned so much from the tour.

As you were not able to visit the Borghese Gallery this trip, I hope that next time you are in Rome, we will see you again.

Sincerely,

The Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Through Eternity Cultural Association also viewed

 

Been to Through Eternity Cultural Association? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing