We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizarre, noisy, hidden fees.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residenza Risorgimento
Ranked #1,626 of 3,780 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 October 2013

So the location is good, if you want to be near the Vatican (though you're not actually all that close to the entrance to the museums or to St. Peter's Square, as the busy, noisy piazza Risorgimento is pretty much exactly in between the two). Room was very cramped, walls entirely covered in giant reproductions of loud pre-Raphaelite paintings. If you want giant nude men flexing over your headboard, this is the place for you. TV did not work till my last day, despite repeated requests for a fix. Had to ask for wifi password (there was nothing to indicate there even *was* wifi). Breakfast is a coupon for a caffe and cornetto at the bar in the next block. Which was actually quite good, and run by friendly proprietors, but you pretty much have to be out of the building and on your way before you can have anything to eat. Walls were paper thin; I had to move the bed to the middle of the room and download a white noise app (thank goodness for wifi!) to make it through one night because I could hear the guy in the next room snoring at top volume. Oh, and the bed was not three feet from the incredible MACERATING TOILET, which makes an insane din as it chews up your waste after every flush and also turns on to do some extra chewing at random moments in the middle of the night. I mean at top volume. Kind of gross if you begin to think about it. But worst of all was the shiftiness of the guy on the desk -- I booked via an Italian booking service and paid the deposit by credit card, but there's a little sign at the desk saying they impose a FIVE PERCENT fee if you want to pay the rest of your bill by credit card! I had made up my mind to swallow the fee when, on top of that, he insisted on having the 2 euro per night room tax and mini bar fees paid in cash. And when I handed him 20 euros, he didn't have change! Insisted on coming down to the bar with me to break the bill and get his money. And even then he gave me a messed up receipt that didn't reflect what I'd paid. Idiotic. Made checkout stressful and frankly, a bit stalkerish.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mshcmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

The room was very nice with interesting classic portraits on the walls. The receptionist was very helpful in providing transportation to the airport (especially during the rough city's traffic jams). The breakfast is ok (nothing special). The biggest standout: the hotel is adjacent to Vatican City wall. You will be able to walk about five miles to Vatican City entrance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeus6662013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This small hotel is just outside the northeast corner of the Vatican city. It is a five-minute walk to St Peter's, the Vatican Museums, and a Metro station. The rooms feature large prints of beautiful, famous paintings. The quaint cage lift was a treat. While there is no breakfast room on site, the friendly staff either provide a voucher for a nearby cafe, or provide a nice breakfast on site. Free wi-fi and/or wired internet access is included in each room. Great value, location and service!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and our two daughters stayed here last weekend for a 4 night vacation in Rome. We stayed in the family room and enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. My daughters enjoyed looking out the windows and watching the vendors across the street. The restaurants right outside were very good and the gelato shop was excellent. The only thing we didn't enjoy was the no eating in the room rule.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Airyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Three of us stayed at this pleasant little hotel next to the northeast wall of the Vatican. It is on the fifth floor of the building and reached by a quaint little cage elevator. Our double room was spacious and very comfortable, and our traveling companion had an equally-comfortable single. There is no breakfast room on site, but a voucher provided us breakfast at a little cafe around the corner- sufficient for a cappuccino and a pastry or croissant. An easy 5-10 minute walk to St Peter's square.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobandwinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for good value clean accommodation close to Vatican City stay here. Close to public transport. Many resturants and bars within a short walk.

Staff are help ful and a phone number is in room if they are not around.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My olfactory senses learned more than they wanted to know about "electric macerators" during my stay here. Macerators are a part of a sewage system; they are noisy (they make noise even when you're not using the toilet) and smelly. The room was permeated with a sickeningly sweet smell, the kind one finds in buildings outfitted with septic systems. During my four night stay there I grew accustomed to it but it was not the most pleasant environment. However, the location is great for people like me who are interested in spending a lot of time in Vatican City. It is a bare bones bed and breakfast; as a matter of fact, breakfast is simply one croissant and coffee at the American Bar. The American Bar is in the same building as theB&B but customers have to leave the B&B and walk about 50 meters to the opposite side of the building to get to it. I used this place because that's what the USO Rome booked for me. It was an interesting experience, one that I will not undertake again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 50Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,109 reviews
Abemus in San Pietro
#1,547 of 3,780 in Rome
16 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#226 of 1,272 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#72 of 1,272 in Rome
1,483 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#463 of 1,272 in Rome
303 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#101 of 1,272 in Rome
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Risorgimento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Risorgimento

Address: Piazza del Risorgimento 59, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,626 of 3,780 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £48 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Risorgimento 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residenza Risorgimento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing