We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good base to explore Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa La Salle - Casa per Ferie
Ranked #434 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a good base to explore Rome”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at Casa LaSalle for four days at the end of April. It's nicely clean and safe - the complex is gated and feels very peaceful after the madness that is Rome! It's a few minutes walk from the Metro so, although it is a fair way out of the centre, it is very easy to reach all the sights. The rooms are small and the decor is, well, a bit dated but all clean and the beds, although 2 singles pushed together, were perfectly comfy. The bathroom was much newer and pretty nice (although the shower curtain didn't really fit which resulted in a bit of a flood on occasion). Breakfast was perfectly OK, rolls, cold meat, cereal and so on. Staff were very helpful and friendly. There is no bar although there is an area with sofas where you can get a coffee from the machine. It's part of a sort of religious conference centre and there are priests wandering around which adds to the special Rome atmosphere! I would definitely recommend this as excellent budget accommodation, although if you are looking for luxury it won't be for you. In any case there is so much to see in Rome you won't spend much time there!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suzybythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    239
    106
    31
    30
See reviews for
117
204
64
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Casa La Salle is a religious guest house with other buildings around and a big garden. Even though it’s close to a busy avenue is very quiet. The Cornelia subway station & bus stop are just few minutes away. The sign with ‘Casa La Salle’ is a bit small and our taxi driver had some problems finding it.
The room was not very big but enough to fit all the furniture needed. But we were on a city trip and just went back to the hotel to sleep/take a quick shower so the size was not a problem for us at all. The bed was comfortable and the room & bathroom were clean. The bathroom’s furniture looked a bit old though. The shower box door was broken and they used a curtain to replace it.
The heating in the room just worked during the night. During the day and evening the room was pretty cold. I asked the receptionist and he said they were just allowed (by the law) to turn the heat on for a couple of hours during the night. The corridors and the breakfast restaurant were also cold.
Breakfast buffet was just ok. In our first morning there were no cold meat and the scramble eggs were gone. They replaced the eggs after a while but after 2-3 people served themselves the eggs were gone again and were not replace, at least not until we left. In the other days there were always enough eggs and cold meat though.
There is free Wi-Fi but the signal is quite weak. In the room the signal always just lasted for a couple of minutes. Maybe in a room closer to the reception the Wi-Fi would work better. Our room was a little far from there. If we wanted/needed to stay more time connected we had to go down to the reception. But even there sometimes we lost connection.
The guest house is simple but (as said) clean and comfortable. For someone in a city trip it is a good hotel to stay. The reception and housekeep staff were friendly and nice and all in all we had a good experience.

Room Tip: Maybe a room closer to the reception hasbetter internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andreia Vivi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here beginning March 2014 for 5 nights. All staff were excellent , helpful and friendly, they spoke good English. The grounds around the complex were tranquil and beautiful a real antidote to the hustle and bustle of Rome. It is less than 5 mins from metro and there is a MacDonalds on the corner.There is also an excellent restaurant/wine bar by the traffic lights called Ferro & Ghisa but it is very popular with Romans so think about booking.
It takes about 3/4 of an hour to walk to St Peters if you like walking and its all down hill.
Casa de Salle was clean and simple, breakfast is continental style. Go to breakfast early or later to miss the queues.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelaonhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I recently stay in this hotel with my friend .Hotel is nice close to everywhere,feel safe is huge gate ,parrots around church and park. Fracesca check us in the hotel very friendly and helpful.We cant say about another one Daniella was very unfriendly not polite -was a problem to borrow 2 plates from kichen she offer plasic we refuse .How she talk was not really nice and also argue with us so she must have proper trainning for customer service .I travel a lot never in 3* hotel they offer me plasic plate.Breakfast also very poor! scramble egg arive very very cold with cold water under was really suprise I dont know how they cook?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaLaSalle, Direttore at Casa La Salle - Casa per Ferie, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Client,
We hereby thank you for your feedback about our Guest House, which is not a 3-star hotel.
We will try to improve ourselves. However, we feel compelled to point out that in our house there is a Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, but there are no plates or glasses in the rooms because guests are not allowed to eat food in the bedrooms. Therefore our colleague has tried to meet the customers’ special needs (with the plastic plates) despite it was not possible to provide a further service.
We apologize for the cold eggs, but maybe the warmer was off and ask the waiter was the simplest solution.
Hoping to see you again in our Guest House
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend while visiting Rome. We arrived late at night and was a bit sceptical when i first walked through the gates. However once inside i was pleasantly surprised. The room is basic but this was not an issue as we were rarely in. The whole hotel was clean and staff were friendly. The breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. The location of the hotel is good, nice and quiet and near to a metro station which is always handy. All in all, great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AlfieMoon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Casa La Salle is a cheap, but clean and chill place. I strongly recommend it to those who cannot afford an expensive holiday. Rome is a famous city and once you get there you will not want to stay in the hotel. There are plenty of things to visit and to enjoy! :) The hotel is clean, situated in a quiet place, the staff speaks an excellent English. Breakfast is not very rich, but u get cheese, juice, coffee, yoghurt, sweets, fruits... butter and jam, different types of bread... water, milk and cereals.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights here in December 2013. The hotel is within a religious compound, so you need to be buzzed in and out and we did get a little bit lost when trying to find it as we weren't expecting a walled compound!

However, these are the only negatives. The hotel is close to a metro station so easy to get around and there are excellent directions to the hotel on their website. Our bags were lost on the way to Rome, and the staff here were extremely helpful and understanding about our needs because of this. Most spoke quite good English. There were maps to be taken to help get around Rome.

The room was clean and functional, and cleaned everyday. The bed was comfortable and bathroom very clean and large for the size of the room.

Breakfast was good, so long as you got in early as things started to run out quickly. But the bread, cakes and pastry were all really good. They also had cereal, some ham and cheese and scrambled eggs. We also paid for dinner one night which was very large and good quality for only €15.

Would definitely recommend and would stay again myself.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bethlouise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Marc'Aurelio Hotel
#518 of 1,261 in Rome
396 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cressy
Hotel Cressy
#824 of 1,261 in Rome
124 reviews
Romoli Hotel
#379 of 1,261 in Rome
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Artis
#391 of 1,261 in Rome
649 reviews
Smooth Hotel Rome West
#742 of 1,261 in Rome
339 reviews
Resort la Rocchetta
#247 of 1,261 in Rome
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa La Salle - Casa per Ferie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Salle - Casa per Ferie

Property: Casa La Salle - Casa per Ferie
Address: Via Aurelia 472, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#310 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa La Salle - Casa per Ferie 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa La Salle - Casa per Ferie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa La Salle Hotel Rome
Casa La Salle Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing