We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hotel in a great neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Ranked #26 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cozy hotel in a great neighborhood”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I stayed at the Residenza Santa Maria while visiting Rome for my first time. I chose this hotel based on its location and otherwise positive reviews, and I was not disappointed.

The neighborhood really is a charmer. A great location to explore Rome. The hotel itself is modest, my room was roomy, with a window looking onto the interior courtyard, so there wasn't a lot of 'privacy', but that was not a big issue for me.

The breakfast was pretty basic, but nice and sufficient to get you through the day. There is a computer in the lobby to keep up on e-mail, but otherwise this property is free of frills. I never bothered to check out the cocktail hour at the other property, I knew it existed based on other reviews, but the staff never mentioned it, and it just seemed a bit awkward, so I didn't pursue it.

Overall, the neighborhood is the star, the hotel is basic - but cozy.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Airmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    208
    21
    3
    6
See reviews for
214
414
43
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dallas, tx
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

This was a nice but average hotel. The staff was very helpful but the rooms were just mediocre. The breakfast was not as good as many others I have had in Italy. I thought for the price the value was just okay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iloveitaly1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Residenz Santa Maria was a delight, Staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Giovanna is especially charming! Their restaurant recommendations were very welcome and rewarding. A very generous breakfast included in room price. My room was large and had a gorgeous deep bath. The interior courtyard tranquil and a pleasant place to sit and read or recover from a hectic day out on the cobblestones. Well located in relation to bars, resturants and public transport. .

Room Tip: The dble room looking into the internal courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosebrook_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Loved this hidden gem. Breakfast was great, the neighborhood is full of fun places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Rooms very clean and warmand plenty of room, central position in Trastevere, great district for restaurants, suitable for all budgets, excellant choice.Easy to get to all areas of Rome from Trastevere.Very helpful staff, nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

The Residenza Santa Maria was a wonderful place to stay. This was our first time in Rome and after reading the wonderful reviews, we decided to stay in the Trastevere neighborhood. I am so glad that we made the right decision.

I was very surprised at the size of our room and bathroom - it even came equipped with a rain shower. The exposed beamed ceilings and exposed brick walls added to the charm, definatley and old world feeling. The included breakfast was wonderful with great local products and the best coffee we had ever tasted.

The neighborhood is the best of all of Rome, it is not overly crowded and doesn't feel touristy. The are several restaurants and great wine bars. We thought it would be easier to take taxis into the city center for sightseeing, so if you do this, expect to pay roughly 7 Euros per one way trip - which is very inexpensive.

I can't wait to return to Rome, and when I do, I will definatley stay at the Residenza.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NZele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

The staff is very welcoming. The hotel is a delight -- airy, bright and clean. They gave us good tips on sites to visit in Rome. We loved the neighborhood -- its twisty, narrow streets, the shops and restaurants, getting lost and finding our way "home."

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaMom04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,261 in Rome
2,924 reviews
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#10 of 1,261 in Rome
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#18 of 1,261 in Rome
1,166 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,261 in Rome
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residenza San Calisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residenza San Calisto

Property: Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Address: Via Dell'Arco di San Calisto 19/20, 00153 Rome, Italy (Formerly Residenza Santa Maria)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Rome
#61 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#173 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residenza San Calisto 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza San Calisto ( previously know Residenza Santa Maria), is a small exclusive Hotel de charme, located I the heart of Rome, just a stone's from the magnificent and picturesque square of Santa Maria in Trastevere. This boutique Hotel is the result of the skilful restoration of a 17th century building. The whole house is dominated by brick arches, wooden ceilings, artistic hand painted frescos and wall decorations which give to the Residenza Santa Maria an atmosphere of refined elegance. With only 6 rooms, the Residenza Santa Maria is somewhat smaller than its namesake which allows for even greater atmosphere, notwithstanding the fact that having only recently opened it is also equipped with high tech environment. The large and quite, no smoking, rooms, some of which family rooms, are fully equipped with private bathroom with tub and shower, A/C, telephone, mini-bar, safe, satellite flat panel TVs, free internet connection, boiler for tea/coffee and other amenities. In the breakfast room, once a Roman cistern of the II cen. BC, decorated by original ancient Roman artifacts found on site during restoration of the building, guests can enjoy a rich and delicious buffet breakfast, (scramble or boiled eggs, ham, cheese, salami, fresh bread, assortment of biscuits, cakes, fresh fruits, yogurt, fresh croissants, selection of fruit juices etc.). Thanks to great location, from the Residenza Santa Maria, guests can easily reach the main tourist sites like Campo de' Fiori, Navona Square, the Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Trevi's fountain, the Roman Forum and Coliseum with just a relaxing stroll through a maze of fascinating medieval streets. The Vatican Museum/Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Square are a few minutes away. Furthermore Trastevere, apart from the beauty of its mediaeval narrow little streets, is filled with typical restaurants, markets, pubs and cafes.The Residenza Santa Maria also offers services like transfer to and from the airport, private guided tours, laundry service, shiatsu massage, beauty centre, baby sitting service and car and scooter hire, as well as offering free use of bikes to its personal guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Residenza San Calisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Santa Maria Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing