We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Ranked #24 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at Residenza pre and post travelling from Rome to Croatia, Venice and Florence. The location is perfect - we only stay in Trastevere when in Rome because we love to be within walking distance of the main sights but away from the crawling hordes of tourists across the river. We love the vibe of Trastevere, the cafes, the winding alleys and this beautiful, quiet, comfortable hotel. The showers are the best we had on the trip. Last time in Rome we stayed at their sister hotel and loved it - Residenza was just as lovely with bigger rooms. On our return to Rome we let ourselves in using the door code and it truly felt like coming home. Staff are friendly and helpful, airport transfers arranged by the hotel were excellent and we will definitely stay here next time we're in Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ethu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 855 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2013

A small hotel, with only 6 rooms. A very friendly crew. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast is more than complete and served with a personal touch. The hotel is perfectly located in a quiet little street in the middle of Trastevere.

Room Tip: room 6 is the biggest one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NterH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

On our return from Tuscany to Rome we stayed in the Residenza for two days. This is the sister inn to Santa Maria.
The location was perfect. We could easily walk everywhere, to all the sites we wanted to visit. At night we could step out the door and find great restaurants within a five minute, or less, walk.
The Residenza is attractive, very fresh and new looking with a lot of charm. The employees were warm and helpful. We were pleased with our choice. Thank you all!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mainehatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Perfect location for sight seeing and sidewalk dining. Sidewalk cafes abound around this nice, quiet hotel. Staff was very helpful is directing us to all the sights with easy walking directions. 30 minute or less walk to all the major sights including Vatican, Trevi Fountain and the Colleseum. Very nice outdoor market within 15 minutes walk is worth a visit as well. We had a small problem with a taxi fare and Giovanna was quick to help us resolve - thank you Giovanna!

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This hotel is absolutely worth visiting. The location is splendid in a quite street just behind the fantastic main square in Trastevere (at the church Santa Maria in Trastevere). Breakfast is fine and includes good, handmade coffee, delicious bread from a local producer and a good selection of cereals/youghurt/meat etc.
The staff is very nice and helpful.
Only drawback for us was that the room we had didn't include a bathtub (the homepage states, that all rooms are equiped with bath and shower) and that the WIFI wasn't really working - and did absolutely not work in our room.

Room Tip: Room no 4 has no bathtub and wifi is not working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mibier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Nice room, nothing fancy but very clean and comfortable. It is indeed a "residenzia" - closer to a B&B than a hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful, GREAT location in Trastevere near lots of nice bars, restaurants, shops, while being very quiet and cozy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Charming, clean hotel, beautifully tiled and painted. Can't say enough good things about staff, especially the woman working during the week, named Giovanna I believe. But all staff were kind, smiling, and helpful. Great breakfasts with coffee made to order. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Siena-Descendant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,271 in Rome
3,005 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,271 in Rome
2,826 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#10 of 1,271 in Rome
426 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,271 in Rome
1,215 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residenza San Calisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residenza San Calisto

Address: Via Dell'Arco di San Calisto 19/20, 00153 Rome, Italy (Formerly Residenza Santa Maria)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Rome
#61 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#173 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £66 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residenza San Calisto 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza San Calisto ( previously know Residenza Santa Maria), is a small exclusive Hotel de charme, located I the heart of Rome, just a stone's from the magnificent and picturesque square of Santa Maria in Trastevere. This boutique Hotel is the result of the skilful restoration of a 17th century building. The whole house is dominated by brick arches, wooden ceilings, artistic hand painted frescos and wall decorations which give to the Residenza Santa Maria an atmosphere of refined elegance. With only 6 rooms, the Residenza Santa Maria is somewhat smaller than its namesake which allows for even greater atmosphere, notwithstanding the fact that having only recently opened it is also equipped with high tech environment. The large and quite, no smoking, rooms, some of which family rooms, are fully equipped with private bathroom with tub and shower, A/C, telephone, mini-bar, safe, satellite flat panel TVs, free internet connection, boiler for tea/coffee and other amenities. In the breakfast room, once a Roman cistern of the II cen. BC, decorated by original ancient Roman artifacts found on site during restoration of the building, guests can enjoy a rich and delicious buffet breakfast, (scramble or boiled eggs, ham, cheese, salami, fresh bread, assortment of biscuits, cakes, fresh fruits, yogurt, fresh croissants, selection of fruit juices etc.). Thanks to great location, from the Residenza Santa Maria, guests can easily reach the main tourist sites like Campo de' Fiori, Navona Square, the Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Trevi's fountain, the Roman Forum and Coliseum with just a relaxing stroll through a maze of fascinating medieval streets. The Vatican Museum/Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Square are a few minutes away. Furthermore Trastevere, apart from the beauty of its mediaeval narrow little streets, is filled with typical restaurants, markets, pubs and cafes.The Residenza Santa Maria also offers services like transfer to and from the airport, private guided tours, laundry service, shiatsu massage, beauty centre, baby sitting service and car and scooter hire, as well as offering free use of bikes to its personal guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Residenza San Calisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Santa Maria Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing