We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rome at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Ranked #26 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Rome at its best”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A truly splendid place to be to explore all of Rome. I just loved the quiet and simple elegance of this residenza. The staff are more like friends who are looking forward to your stay. If you are wanting to have a magical time in Rome then Trastevere is the place to be. We did not want to leave. 5 wonderful nights. Divine! We will not stay anywhere else in rome from now. This was our 7th time to Rome. 1st time here. Just lovely. Many thanks to the kind and caring staff. See you next year

Room Tip: We had room 1 downstairs. Very quiet. Big window triple glazed. Does not open The biggest room we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Jackief1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    203
    21
    3
    6
See reviews for
208
404
42
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Residenza Santa Maria is a great small hotel. Our family of four stayed in their quadruple room. Our room was completely comfortable and clean. The bathroom and shower was clean and up-to-date. The shower was very good. The television worked. The air conditioning worked, even in over 40-degree-C heat. The breakfast every morning was perfect. Housekeeping every day was perfect. The staff was completely accommodating. Trastevere is well situated for seeing so much of Rome. While it was busy with tourists at night our room was completely quiet. I think this was a great hotel, especially for the price.

Room Tip: We had the quad on the first floor. The windows opened out onto an indoor courtyard, but our room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Patty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This hotel was recommended by a couple I was paired with on the golf course in the USA. Very small hotel/B&B in Rome. Walking distance to everything. Hotel staff was terrific. Very accommodating and eager to provide assistance when needed. Room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Will most definitely stay here on all future trips to Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for better pillows :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Room, staff and area matched the 4.5 rating by Tripadvisor. In fact I would rate it closer to 5. The room was modern with enough space for myself, my wife and our 2 teenaged sons - and the cleaning staff kept the room spotless each day. The location was easily within walking distance of all major attractions. The added breakfast got us off to a great start each morning and the numerous restaurants in the area (most of which were very reasonably priced) kept us well fed the rest of the day. Loved every minute of it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dolomiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Terrific staff, fabulous location, and very nice rooms - close to all in Trastevere! Really felt like home (only nicer :) ). Breakfast spread was great, nice walking streets all around with outdoor dining options. There were four of us in a family room, and it was comfortable for all. Hotel and street were quiet at night. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed at Residenza Santa Maria for 3 nights and it was really wonderful. They service is excellent, the breakfast is very good and it is served in a very cozy atmosphere. We will definitely go back. Plus the location is perfect, close to everything. I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

If you are looking for a small hotel where you are treated like one of the family, where all of Rome is at your doorstep, with great restaurants and a bustling nightlife, then stay here! Giovanna and all the people at Residenza Santa Maria will make sure you are well taken care of, offering great advice on any question you ask. I stayed with my four older children (15-20) in two rooms (#3 & 4) for 5 nights. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful and the coffee great--always a perfect start to the day. We are world travelers but this was our first trip to Rome so being in Trastevere with guidance from the staff made finding our way around easy and also helped us prioritize our activities. We enjoyed the small hotel feeling and environment and will stay here again in future trips to Rome.

Room Tip: We thought both rooms (3 & 4) were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#12 of 1,256 in Rome
2,880 reviews
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#19 of 1,256 in Rome
2,631 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Hotel Pensione Barrett
#17 of 1,256 in Rome
768 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residenza San Calisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residenza San Calisto

Property: Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Address: Via Dell'Arco di San Calisto 19/20, 00153 Rome, Italy (Formerly Residenza Santa Maria)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Rome
#61 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#173 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residenza San Calisto 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza San Calisto ( previously know Residenza Santa Maria), is a small exclusive Hotel de charme, located I the heart of Rome, just a stone's from the magnificent and picturesque square of Santa Maria in Trastevere. This boutique Hotel is the result of the skilful restoration of a 17th century building. The whole house is dominated by brick arches, wooden ceilings, artistic hand painted frescos and wall decorations which give to the Residenza Santa Maria an atmosphere of refined elegance. With only 6 rooms, the Residenza Santa Maria is somewhat smaller than its namesake which allows for even greater atmosphere, notwithstanding the fact that having only recently opened it is also equipped with high tech environment. The large and quite, no smoking, rooms, some of which family rooms, are fully equipped with private bathroom with tub and shower, A/C, telephone, mini-bar, safe, satellite flat panel TVs, free internet connection, boiler for tea/coffee and other amenities. In the breakfast room, once a Roman cistern of the II cen. BC, decorated by original ancient Roman artifacts found on site during restoration of the building, guests can enjoy a rich and delicious buffet breakfast, (scramble or boiled eggs, ham, cheese, salami, fresh bread, assortment of biscuits, cakes, fresh fruits, yogurt, fresh croissants, selection of fruit juices etc.). Thanks to great location, from the Residenza Santa Maria, guests can easily reach the main tourist sites like Campo de' Fiori, Navona Square, the Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Trevi's fountain, the Roman Forum and Coliseum with just a relaxing stroll through a maze of fascinating medieval streets. The Vatican Museum/Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Square are a few minutes away. Furthermore Trastevere, apart from the beauty of its mediaeval narrow little streets, is filled with typical restaurants, markets, pubs and cafes.The Residenza Santa Maria also offers services like transfer to and from the airport, private guided tours, laundry service, shiatsu massage, beauty centre, baby sitting service and car and scooter hire, as well as offering free use of bikes to its personal guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Residenza San Calisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Santa Maria Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing