We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Ranked #24 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Nice, cozy hotel in Trastevere section of Rome, located 1 minute from the plaza where the Santa Maria de Trastevere church is located. Don't miss out on visiting the church.

Hotel room was quiet, even when there was lots of activity right outside the hotel.
The hotel is not staffed 7x24, but there is a parent hotel a couple of minutes away if you need help when the hotel does not have staff on duty.

Breakfast was good.

Room was deceptively big - there is a main bedroom plus a second area where there are two bunk beds, a closet and fridge/safe. Bathroom was fine except the hair dryer did not work very well.

Trastevere is indeed a good section of town to stay in, and this is a good location in Trastevere. Make sure you have a good map when wandering around, as the streets twist around and change names. From here, we walked everywhere in the city, although not everyone would want to walk from here to the Vatican or Borghese gallery.

Staff was helpful at all times except once when they suggested that we would not need a dinner reservation at 7:30 anywhere, and we couldn't get in to a restaurant that we really wanted to go to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bill_from_Winfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 855 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

I booked a triple room at the hotel because of the positive reviews here on Tripadvisor. But few days before our arrival I got e-mail that there were some problems with the room and it had to be reparated. They offered us to stay at an apartment for the same price instead. The apartment was 10 mins walk from the hotel and we could have our breakfast at the hotel.
So I have nothing to say about hotel rooms. Breakfast was very good for an italian 3*** hotel. Unfortunately too little food left couple of days when we came at 9.30. But I guess it was because the majority of hotel guests were from English-speaking countries these days - like us preferring to begin their day with decent breakfast. No problem other days.
Very friendly staff.
I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank zincis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was the perfect stay for my family of four. I have 2 teenage boys and the room had plenty of space for us. We had one queen bed and the boys slept in bunk beds. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The bathroom was spacious and clean as well. The air conditioning worked well. Breakfast was full of choices and filling - yogurt, croissants, cereal, eggs, cheese, fruit and juices. The staff was helpful and friendly. At night the residenza is locked at the entrance, and not staffed.One evening I had locked my key in our room, and I phoned the sister hotel, Hotel Santa Maria, and they sent one of their staff members over to help me get in within minutes. We could not have had friendlier and more helpful service. The location was perfect for us. We loved exploring the streets in the neighbourhood and walking down to the river at night. The restaurants in the area are excellent and reasonably priced. We stayed in the old part of Rome as well, but for us, Trastavere was a better choice. We thought the prices were better for food and accommodation, and the atmosphere and little shops were fun in the evenings. It was simple to get to all the tourist sites from this location too. I will definitely come back to this hotel if in Rome again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toothfairy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Couldn't recommend this place highly enough. The location is fantastic, just moments away from the busy streets of Trastevere but very peaceful. The staff were very helpful, particularly Hussain. The room was large and spotlessly clean each day and the breakfast was lovely.
great value for money. The room we had wasn't very bright but to be honest that didn't matter to us as we were out most of the day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackpud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A truly splendid place to be to explore all of Rome. I just loved the quiet and simple elegance of this residenza. The staff are more like friends who are looking forward to your stay. If you are wanting to have a magical time in Rome then Trastevere is the place to be. We did not want to leave. 5 wonderful nights. Divine! We will not stay anywhere else in rome from now. This was our 7th time to Rome. 1st time here. Just lovely. Many thanks to the kind and caring staff. See you next year

Room Tip: We had room 1 downstairs. Very quiet. Big window triple glazed. Does not open The biggest room we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Jackief1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Residenza Santa Maria is a great small hotel. Our family of four stayed in their quadruple room. Our room was completely comfortable and clean. The bathroom and shower was clean and up-to-date. The shower was very good. The television worked. The air conditioning worked, even in over 40-degree-C heat. The breakfast every morning was perfect. Housekeeping every day was perfect. The staff was completely accommodating. Trastevere is well situated for seeing so much of Rome. While it was busy with tourists at night our room was completely quiet. I think this was a great hotel, especially for the price.

Room Tip: We had the quad on the first floor. The windows opened out onto an indoor courtyard, but our room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Patty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This hotel was recommended by a couple I was paired with on the golf course in the USA. Very small hotel/B&B in Rome. Walking distance to everything. Hotel staff was terrific. Very accommodating and eager to provide assistance when needed. Room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Will most definitely stay here on all future trips to Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for better pillows :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,271 in Rome
3,005 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,271 in Rome
2,826 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#10 of 1,271 in Rome
426 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,271 in Rome
1,215 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residenza San Calisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residenza San Calisto

Address: Via Dell'Arco di San Calisto 19/20, 00153 Rome, Italy (Formerly Residenza Santa Maria)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Rome
#61 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#173 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £66 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residenza San Calisto 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza San Calisto ( previously know Residenza Santa Maria), is a small exclusive Hotel de charme, located I the heart of Rome, just a stone's from the magnificent and picturesque square of Santa Maria in Trastevere. This boutique Hotel is the result of the skilful restoration of a 17th century building. The whole house is dominated by brick arches, wooden ceilings, artistic hand painted frescos and wall decorations which give to the Residenza Santa Maria an atmosphere of refined elegance. With only 6 rooms, the Residenza Santa Maria is somewhat smaller than its namesake which allows for even greater atmosphere, notwithstanding the fact that having only recently opened it is also equipped with high tech environment. The large and quite, no smoking, rooms, some of which family rooms, are fully equipped with private bathroom with tub and shower, A/C, telephone, mini-bar, safe, satellite flat panel TVs, free internet connection, boiler for tea/coffee and other amenities. In the breakfast room, once a Roman cistern of the II cen. BC, decorated by original ancient Roman artifacts found on site during restoration of the building, guests can enjoy a rich and delicious buffet breakfast, (scramble or boiled eggs, ham, cheese, salami, fresh bread, assortment of biscuits, cakes, fresh fruits, yogurt, fresh croissants, selection of fruit juices etc.). Thanks to great location, from the Residenza Santa Maria, guests can easily reach the main tourist sites like Campo de' Fiori, Navona Square, the Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Trevi's fountain, the Roman Forum and Coliseum with just a relaxing stroll through a maze of fascinating medieval streets. The Vatican Museum/Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Square are a few minutes away. Furthermore Trastevere, apart from the beauty of its mediaeval narrow little streets, is filled with typical restaurants, markets, pubs and cafes.The Residenza Santa Maria also offers services like transfer to and from the airport, private guided tours, laundry service, shiatsu massage, beauty centre, baby sitting service and car and scooter hire, as well as offering free use of bikes to its personal guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Residenza San Calisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Santa Maria Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing