We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Ranked #24 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Nice, romantic, splendid service, perfect location, lovely breakfast services. Some small cute ants were fancy in our swedish chocolate but hotel staff acted promptly. The beds were nice, well above general Italian stiff standard. I think I return indeed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svensulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    199
    21
    3
    6
See reviews for
203
399
42
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was my third stay, and I have loved it every time. Perfectly situated, very quiet and wonderful staff. Great restaurants close by, and we walked everywhere. I can't wait to return on my next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weinheim, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were so pleasantly surprised at the beauty and uniqueness of this bed and breakfast in Trastevere, Rome. Our Roman friends who picked us up at the airport had a hard time getting close to the hotel to park, but that wasn't a big problem -- just be prepared for it, or take a taxi. We arrived on a Sunday evening, and with our e-mailed entry instructions we got into our room using the code provided. (I like the fact that a hotel trusts you enough to let you pick up your keys yourself; this made us feel like regulars or family.) The location is PERFECT -- you can walk all around Trastevere and access all the highlights of Rome across the Tiber by foot, discovering hidden treasures such as restaurants and ruins. Our room was beautifully appointed, with mini-refrigerator stocked with drinks (not at a costly mini-bar price), a bidet in the bathroom, plenty of hot water for a luxurious bath (I indulged myself and felt like a Roman goddess), and other lovely touches. The breakfast room has niches with mini-sculptures, lots of delicious food to choose from, and the most attentive barista, Adelina, who makes the croissants herself! She'll probably remember your coffee order after your first breakfast there. The front desk clerk was so friendly, and she recommended in her sing-songy Italian a route we could take on our first day. The only problem I had was with the hard bed, but my male counterpart likes them that way. We hope to go back soon, and we will return to Residenza Santa Maria as our Roman home.

Room Tip: Room 1 was right off the main lobby and had a great wifi connection, within the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ramblassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We chose this hotel from Trip Adviser recommendations for our first visit to Rome and it lived up to expectations. It was quiet but conveniently located on the Trastevere where we could wander around the bars, cafes and restaurants without fighting traffic, but close enough to cross the Tiber to the historical centre. We explored a good number of Rome attractions on foot.

The staff were all friendly, polite and helpful, with a particular thanks to Adelina who worked hard on our breakfasts and cleaning the rooms. Also to the lady on reception who was most helpful.

The rooms have a simple elegance, with a comfortable bed, plenty of storage and surfaces and a good shower/bath. Breakfast was included with cereal, juices, croissants, fruit, yoghurt, scrambled eggs - all that we needed.

The only negative aspect was that the free wifi only worked in the lobby or very close to it, not in our room.

We enjoyed visiting the happy hour at the Hotel Santa Maria and can also recommend the same at the Via Allegro wine bar, which provides an extensive range of snacks to accompany a glass of wine.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackcat2york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for four nights in March and were very satisfied - the location really takes the prize here; lots of great restaurants around the corner and within walking distance of every major attraction Nice staff and breakfast - a disappointment was the lack of wi-fi in our room, though. For many people this may be a minor issue, but as I needed to work while being there and had decidedly been looking for a hotel with wi-fi in room, it was quite annoying - the hotel should make it clear on their website that there's only wi-fi access from the lobby.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank MereteJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Very friendly, helpful and well informed staff. Scrambled eggs with the continental breakfast were definitely a welcome and thoughtful touch and the coffee is out of this world.
A short jaunt to the cheapest bar in Rome, where the locals hang out surrounded by bespoke eateries, other bars and street entertainment.
I can thoroughly recommend this whole area of Rome and particularly The Hotel Residenza Santa Maria. But don't tell everyone because i want to return sometime and with just 6 intimate rooms available it would be no surprise to find it constantly fully booked.
A real Gem and the whole experience made for a perfect City Break.

Room Tip: As the Hotel is just off the busy area any room would be good, as we couldn't notice any noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank phillippinches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great little hotel in a very good location for bars and restaurants which most are reasonably priced. Staff are not at the hotel all the time but this is not a problem as you let yourself in and out.
When staff are working they are polite and very helpful.So do not miss out on this little gem.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul2951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#19 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residenza San Calisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residenza San Calisto

Property: Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Address: Via Dell'Arco di San Calisto 19/20, 00153 Rome, Italy (Formerly Residenza Santa Maria)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Rome
#61 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#173 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residenza San Calisto 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza San Calisto ( previously know Residenza Santa Maria), is a small exclusive Hotel de charme, located I the heart of Rome, just a stone's from the magnificent and picturesque square of Santa Maria in Trastevere. This boutique Hotel is the result of the skilful restoration of a 17th century building. The whole house is dominated by brick arches, wooden ceilings, artistic hand painted frescos and wall decorations which give to the Residenza Santa Maria an atmosphere of refined elegance. With only 6 rooms, the Residenza Santa Maria is somewhat smaller than its namesake which allows for even greater atmosphere, notwithstanding the fact that having only recently opened it is also equipped with high tech environment. The large and quite, no smoking, rooms, some of which family rooms, are fully equipped with private bathroom with tub and shower, A/C, telephone, mini-bar, safe, satellite flat panel TVs, free internet connection, boiler for tea/coffee and other amenities. In the breakfast room, once a Roman cistern of the II cen. BC, decorated by original ancient Roman artifacts found on site during restoration of the building, guests can enjoy a rich and delicious buffet breakfast, (scramble or boiled eggs, ham, cheese, salami, fresh bread, assortment of biscuits, cakes, fresh fruits, yogurt, fresh croissants, selection of fruit juices etc.). Thanks to great location, from the Residenza Santa Maria, guests can easily reach the main tourist sites like Campo de' Fiori, Navona Square, the Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Trevi's fountain, the Roman Forum and Coliseum with just a relaxing stroll through a maze of fascinating medieval streets. The Vatican Museum/Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Square are a few minutes away. Furthermore Trastevere, apart from the beauty of its mediaeval narrow little streets, is filled with typical restaurants, markets, pubs and cafes.The Residenza Santa Maria also offers services like transfer to and from the airport, private guided tours, laundry service, shiatsu massage, beauty centre, baby sitting service and car and scooter hire, as well as offering free use of bikes to its personal guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Residenza San Calisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Santa Maria Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing