We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$326
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$345
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$396
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$385
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$937
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$494
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
628
222
23
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
222
23
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanta mariatrastevere areasmall hoteljewish ghettogreat neighborhoodperfect locationbars and restaurantswalking distancequiet streetaround the cornerenjoyed our stayhome away from homemajor sightspastriesthe hotel staffboutique hotelwonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 883 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

As a family of four (including two 6ft teenage sons) we had a very enjoyable stay in this hotel. Not much to see from the outside, but has everything you need on the inside! The staff were very welcoming, and couldn't have been more helpful, despite remaining unobtrusive. Our quadruple room was very comfortable, had good air conditioning (which was very welcome after a hot day out in Rome!), and great shower and bath facilities. Wifi was good. Breakfasts were great - but make sure you get there early! The plus of being in the more relaxed and bohemian Trastavere district does mean that you have a bit of a trek on foot to get to the main attractions and/or public transport, but it was all good healthy exercise! Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The Quadruple room is great to accommodate a family of four - but be aware that there is no direct daylight in this room.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob196211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Small boutique hotel in Trastevere. Everything was just perfect. The beds are comfortable, the showers are very good with great water pressure. The breakfast is included and consists of fresh fruit, freshly baked pastries and bread, cooked eggs, cereals, juices and coffee made by a barrista! The staff are warm and inviting and will direct you wherever you want to go. The windows are double glazed so you have no outside noise. The internet works well. The television has some cable stations with English channels. We walked to all the sites and we are usually a taxi kind of family!
Third trip to Rome and found this hotel to be our best experience so far.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank annab2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

For the price, this was a nice place to stay. It was not the Ritz, but much nicer than many hotels I have paid much more to stay at! I would definitely stay here again if I wanted the Trastevere area, which was much more charming that the main city itself.

LOCATION: Once we found the hotel, we liked the location. On a back street tucked away from all the noise. There were many nice restaurants and pubs within a few minute walk. Also a 20 min walk from the Colosseum.
We were recommended to the Trastevere area as opposed to being IN Rome. We were very glad for this! Charming to say the least.

SERVICE; Very good. The front desk gave us a map, and explained everything about the sites to see, and mapped it out for us. Maid service was top notch.

SECURITY: Great. Not that it needed it, as we never once felt the least bit unsafe, but Iron door at the front, with coded entry. Street was lit enough.

ROOM: Walls were a bit thin. (Average for Europe)
Very comfortable bed.
Roomy shower with rainfall head and great water pressure. (Unusual for Europe in this price range)
Wi-Fi was sketchy like mentioned in many other posts, but I asked desk about it. They re-set the modem (Which was in room 2), and it was good the rest of the trip.
Plenty of cabinet space to hang clothes.
Safe-Deposit box, free, was easy to use.
Soap and shampoo each day.

BREAKFAST: OK. Plenty of veggies (Cukes and Tomatoes), meat choices, boiled and scrambled eggs, toast and jams, cereal, yogurt (Not fresh but in carton like USA), and pastries each morning. Coffee and European Juice (Tang, haha. Very typical in Europe)

DIRECTIONS: Don't waste $75 (50e) on a cab. Train was easy. In the airport (FCO) there were machines to buy a train ticket to Trastevere Station. Once there cross the street, and take Tram/Bus #8 towards Venezia. Get off at Trastevere/Mastia.

Here is link for 5 min walk from bus to hotel. The forst time, I didn't have a map, and we were lost. If you print this map, it will be simple for you.
https://www.google.com/maps?t=m&ll=42.89637,-85.7117055&z=13&output=classic&dg=opt

The pic of the fireworks was a block down the street while we were eating dinner outside. WAY cool!

BEER: If you are into beer, the best beer bar in Italy was only a few minute walk from the hotel.
Was loaded with craft beers from all over Europe. I had a few IPA's that were awesome. One of them, AFTER I ordered it, the bartender told me I was standing next to the brewer.
My wife had a nice stout from Belgium, and a brown from the same Italian brewer as my IPA>
www.football-pub.com

Room Tip: Room 4 was the farthest in the back, so no noise. With only 6 rooms, was not far from main area either for convenience. I would ask for room 4 if returning.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank dansoldit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Residenza Santa Maria for 3 nights. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated and the staff was very polite and friendly. Breakfast was included and very pleasant in the downstairs dining area. The location was also great. Surrounding the hotel is a very charming neighborhood with cobble-stone streets and filled with lovely restaurants where locals hang out. This was a really nice break from all of the tourist-filled areas near the main attractions. The hotel is about a 25 minute walk to the Colosseum and Palatine Hill as well as the main shopping area. The Vatican is also a short bus ride away. Overall, our stay here was was very enjoyable and we highly recommend it to anyone wishing to discover the charm in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Insky31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This small hotel is a hidden gem in Trastevere. It is quiet, well situated and has a helpful staff.
Although Trastevere is a bit off the beaten path for the average tourist who wants to be closer to the major sites, we love the variety of restaurants and the quaintness of being in a "local" neighborhood. We will definitely stay at the Santa Maria again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PVPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews