We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, Clean, Friendly Staff.”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auditorium di Mecenate
Ranked #364 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Basic, Clean, Friendly Staff.”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We found it tough to find affordable lodging in central Rome so we stayed here. It was conveniently located near a train station and found getting around relatively easy. It is a small family-run business with 5-6 rooms, all of which are very tight with minimal space. The walls are paper thin so whenever someone was in the reception talking it sounded like they were standing over me...The window also looked into a courtyard so other people could see in the room.
However, it was all we needed. It was very clean, had nice bathrooms with reliable hot water and very friendly staff.
I will give one heads up that the staff has a list of recommended restaurants. We only tried one and unfortunately it was my least favorite restaurant throughout our entire trip to Italy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    190
    62
    11
    9
See reviews for
72
314
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Auditorium Di Mecenate. The staff were so knowledgable about all the things to do and see in Rome. When we arrived the lady on Reception used a map to show us and talk us through all the attractions. We were made to feel very welcome. The staff could not do enough for us - one morning when it was raining the male receptionist even gave us his umbrella!
The rooms were clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable. The hotel is situated in the centre of Rome very close to many metro stations, cosy bars and wonderful restaurants. A great base to see all the sights!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were one of the first guests in the hotel after reopening. The service was excellent. The rooms were good size for Rome. The AC could have worked a little better. The breakfast was brought to your room every morning and was typical European breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is a good place to stay if you are not going to spend a lot of time in the room and your plan is to stay most of the day out enjoying the attractions.
Rooms: they are clean and adequate, but the bathroom (at least the one in our room) was unacceptably small.
Location: very good. Close to public transport and you can walk to the Colosseum, although it could be a little bit dodgy in the night.
Service was very good: welcoming staff always willing to help you. Breakfast is average, but ok.
Now, in the value for money equation I found it on the expensive side, considering that this is maximum 2 star accommodation.
Overall, this is a good option.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a friendly, clean and cheap place to rest, Auditorium di Mecenate is a good option. This is located near Termini Station (train station), where you are close to The Coliseum and the forums. The Trevi Fountain is also near. To go to these places you can just walk from the hotel. The hotel is inside a medium building, and is located in the third floor, but of course there is a small lift, but pretty useful and the reception is 24 hours open. The rooms are very organized and decorated. The towels, the sheets and the covertlet were almost news in my stay. The hotel offers wifi, tv, air conditioner and the breakfast is serving in rooms.

The principals features that i can mention are:
1. Friendly service: The treat is excelent. They give you a map and explain to you, the main atractions you can visit. They also give some recomendations about the best timetable and transport you can take to the places.
2. Cleanliness: it was perfect clean and with dayly cleany service.
3. Cheap price: the relation quality price is good. For instance, the room was comfortable, clean and friendly.

There is juat one thing I don't like so much. First, the hotel is good placed, but the nearest sorroundings are lonely. There are good lights and I think is secure because of my personal experience. I were with 3 people more and the first day of our stay was a Saturday an we walked until 12:30 pm and everything was ok. Another important thing is there wasn't a canteen, so we had to call for the breakfast in room, thing we knew from our arrived. In this point, they have a problem, if you don't call at 7:30 am, your breakfast will be late... so, I recommend do it at first.

If I had the opportunity of travel again I would considerer this hotel between my options because of the advantages I have mentioned. Although, I would like looking for another location.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

As others have commented - this is an excellent place to stay for several reasons. It is quite close to the main train/bus station, and not far from the Colosseum and Palatine area. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and present 24/7. The rooms are modern and clean, plus there is free WiFi. Breakfast is good - served in the bedroom, which might bother some - but not us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Walking distance from Termini train station and Metro. Just around the corner from Santa Maria Maggiore church. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The gem of this hotel are all the friendly and helpful staff members. They will go out of their way to recommend restaurants or to show you on a map how to travel to the different tourist sights.

Room Tip: Just email the hotel itch ny request you may have
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#339 of 1,258 in Rome
411 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#100 of 1,258 in Rome
276 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#180 of 1,258 in Rome
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#137 of 1,258 in Rome
1,273 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#236 of 1,258 in Rome
655 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#357 of 1,258 in Rome
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Auditorium di Mecenate

Property: Auditorium di Mecenate
Address: Via Dello Statuto 44, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#166 Family Hotel in Rome
#202 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Auditorium di Mecenate 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auditorium di Mecenate is a modern Hotel , which aims to capture the traditional spirit of Roman's hospitality and traditions. Located in an old building in a unique Umbertino style Area (King Umberto II), ideally positioned for those who wants being able to have quick access to principal areas of historical and tourist interest that only Rome can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auditorium di Mecenate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auditorium Di Mecenate Rome
Auditorium Di Mecenate Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing