We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and friendly”
Review of Il Romitello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Romitello
Ranked #1,465 of 3,743 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I stayed at the Romitello as part of a group of pilgrims for a canonisation ceremony in Rome. We were very well taken care of during our weeklong stay, and José, the house manager, went to great lengths to see that all our needs were taken care of, even driving me to the local hospital during the night with a sick fellow traveller! On the night of the canonisation ceremony, the Romitello staff put on a special cocktail hour in the gardens, all lit by candlelight. The rooms were comfortable and we enjoyed the freedom to roam the grounds after dark, safe from the bustling streets beyond the walls. Breakfasts were simple, as is the Italian custom, but there was a good variety available. The evening meal was very welcome after a long day of visiting in the Holy City, both abundant and delicious. I surely gained a few pounds on this trip! Try the local white wine with your meal, as you will both please your hosts and discover the rich flavours of the Roman hillsides' vintages!
Although the Romitello is not geographically close to the city centre, the trip into town is not long and can easily be managed by public transport. They also have a parking area within the compound should you have your own vehicle.
A small internet room is available to guests just off the dining room, and for those who need to thank God for another beautiful day in Rome, the Sisters' chapel is not far away.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Romitello and have since recommended it to all my friends and family planning a stay in Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

For someone who have never set foot in Rome before, finding the place was nothing short of miraculous as it is far away from the train station or the ancient Rome site. We finally learn how to get there through help from the tour operators near the train station.

The place was situated in the suburban outskirts of Rome. From Colosseum, for instance, you will have to take the train all the way to its end at Battistini and then take bus 998 or 997 for another 9 stops, then walk for another 5 min to reach the place. Location was terrible.

The first impression I got when I arrived there was that the place is more like a service apartment rather than a hotel. The room is not big, but generally acceptable. Toilet was a bit old fashioned but adequate. For the price we are paying, I suppose I cannot complain.

The staff were helpful and excellent. in fact. They even assisted me to check-out at 4am, and arrange for transportation to airport with another guest.

They have wifi on public areas. But the router obviously cannot reach to our room, so you see some guests in the lobby just to get to the internet.

If you are budget-conscious and looking for cheap place to crash at night, this place is worth considering. But if you can spare more for accommodation, try look for some place closer to the attractions such as Colosseum, The Vatican or shopping district such as Via Del Corso.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arifeign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We were at romitello for 3 nights in january. Our room was acceptably clean and quiet, but it had a strong smell of cigarettes, even if they say it's a no-smoking hotel. The heating was on only few hours in the evening and so it wasn't very warm. Breakfast was ok, simple but enough. The staff was really friendly and helpful and the parking was free - great!!
At the beginning it was not so easy to reach the bus stop from the hotel because the map they gave us didn't show correctly where and which bus to take for the city center. We "learnt" it by ourselves, after different trials and errors :-))
Anyway, in our opinion the price/quality ratio is extremely good for rome.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The school group sent as some feedback about the accommodation:

Overall accommodation - Good
Check in - Excellent
Room quality - Good
Staff service - Excellent
Food - Good
Location - Not bad; the are was not very conducive to exploration.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelandSport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel is in a quiet area, with a beautiful garden where you can see a hedgehog in the evening if you are lucky (we were in one night). The rooms are basic, but they are very clean.

Breakfast is also simple, food is the same each day. Still, there are enough things so you don't get bored in 4-5 days. And the old lady taking care of the food and plates is so careful, it seemed like she was in her own home, checking all the time that everything was in order.

A plus is the large private parking, perfect for people coming with cars or motorcycles. Gates are closed at night, so you can sleep without worries.

The only negative thing is the location, actually the connections with the public transportation. I think we never managed to get faster than 40 minutes to the center. If you have a car, you can try to go with the car to the closest metro station. That way, you will probably save around 20-30 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan_D_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This is a great Guest House in the outer suburbs of Rome. Don't let that put you off the number 46 bus from the top of the road leaves you right outside St. Peters Basilica (bus tickets on sale at the reception). The staff will tell you all the information you need to enjoy your stay in Rome. Il Romitello well maintained, rooms are clean and cozy and an excellent breakfast is included in the price.This is a converted convent and there is a church in use on the property, so it is not a party animal house. All members of the staff are very helpful and polite. I would recommend Il Romitello to all my friends and look forward to when I return to Rome and staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadnerb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I took a large school group to the Romitello, and have to say their service and support were fantastic! They allowed us the use of the private garden in the evenings, giving the children a safe and peaceful place to relax each day, and were flexible with the meal times to accommodate our schedule. They were even able to adapt to updates on our evening arrival times, to have dinner ready when we returned.
The hotel looked after the entire class well, and no request was too big or small to be handled perfectly. They not only spoke English, but were willing to teach us some Italian as well.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_WillTell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Pineta Palace
#451 of 1,270 in Rome
1,077 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#456 of 1,270 in Rome
299 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,270 in Rome
6,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,270 in Rome
1,235 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#227 of 1,270 in Rome
665 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Romitello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Romitello

Address: Via Vincenzo Viara de Ricci 24, 00168 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,465 of 3,743 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £39 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Romitello 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Il Romitello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing