We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartment but not really in Rome.”
Review of I Cieli di Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
I Cieli di Roma
Ranked #981 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 20 October 2007

We were a bit frightened by the earlier reviews of I Cieli di Roma but we had already swapped our Manhattan Club week to get the only RCI property claiming to be in Rome, so we were pretty much committed.
This isn't a resort. The building itself is one of an entire neighborhood of similar and relatively new 5 story apartment buildings in a suburb between the airport and the city. We were put in a fourth floor one bedroom suite with a full kitchen and a sitting room with two chairs that fold out into single beds. As we were only two people, the sleeping accomodations were fine. We had an enormous wrap-around balcony overlooking the surrounding condos and an elementary school. There was no housekeeping service and we were expected to clean up for inspection at the end of the week to get back our €100 cash deposit. We did a quick cleanup and the inspection was perfunctory.
The staff was very helpful but there was no laundry, and no vending on site other than a €3 machine in the lobby dispensing [actually very good] espresso. We were given a list of amenities off-site for which our (again mandatory) €30 cash (per person) membership card would make us eligible. We never found it convenient to use any of them.
The major drawback was the location, about 12 miles as the crow flies from the center of Rome. We had to walk to the bus stop, take a 10 minute wild-mouse ride on the 15 passenger Rte 013 bus to the Castel Bernoche rail station, then a 20 minute train ride into Piramid station where we would transfer to the blue line of the subway for the final leg into Rome. Altogether, about 45 minutes to the center of town. The buses and trains were frequent and we sort of enjoyed the morning trek in rush hour crowds, but the return at night was usually a drag. There was parking across the street for a rental car but then you are stuck looking for parking in Rome.
My wife and I are the kind of travelers who used the hotel only for sleeping and who headed into town early every morning and returned late. I imagine we weren't using the rooms as intensively as the other reviewers. We are also very comfortable jumping onto the local transportation systems in the cities we visit (we were city kids) so others may be more put off by the inconvenient location than we were.
We really loved our week in Rome and that might also be offsetting any lingering feelings of inconvenience as well. In retrospect, we would have preferred to be lodged downtown but we saved a bundle by swapping for the Ciela.
Bottom line: clean, roomy, somewhat inconveniently located condo with few amenities. If you are looking for a "resort", this is definitely not what you are envisioning. It's just a nice flat in the Rome suburbs.
Jeff & Betty

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank JFR822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2007

The I Cieli di Roma is the only RCI resort in Rome, which is the only reason we booked it. It isn't in Rome, it is actually a bus, commuter train, and Metro train ride away from Rome. It took about an hour to get from the place into Rome to do anything. There is a mandatory, 30 euro per person "Club Card" which entitles you to the shuttle service to and from the commuter train station (but runs only 3 times a day each way, and not at all on Friday) and to the grocery store once a day (but not on Sunday), use of 1 internet-connected PC in the lobby (shared among all the guests, and was very old and the monitor very out of focus), and a couple of other very minor things like discounts at a couple of local restaurants. There were 6 of us, so for my 180 euro (about $255) I got about 5 shuttle rides for my family and I. Most of the time we took the public bus because it ran much more often and all day (although we had to wait almost an hour one night to get back to the resort). Even though this is called a resort, is not a resort. There is no pool, no game room, no activities of any kind (although you can use an off site pool for an additional 5 euro per person). We stayed in two studio apartments and the beds were very uncomfortable fold out sofas. There were silverfish in the showers and on the walls sometimes. There is no air conditioning, and it was over 95 degrees every day we were there so it was unbearably hot during the day (we spent almost no time there during the day). At night we had to leave the doors wide open to get any cooling at all, There were no laundry facilities at all so we ended up doing a great deal of wash in the sinks. You could drop off laundry at a local merchant and they would do it for you but they were never open when we were around. Overall, this place was terrible. RCI should be embarrassed to have a place like this on their list of resorts. If you are going to Rome, you would be much better off paying more to stay in the city. Make sure you ask if they have air-conditioning if it is hot because we found that most places in Europe do not.

Stayed: July 2007
15  Thank taballwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016
Thank aabdelkder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
1  Thank tartufina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Patrizia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
Thank ASR1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
7,116 reviews
Abemus in San Pietro
#1,539 of 3,782 in Rome
16 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#225 of 1,271 in Rome
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#68 of 1,271 in Rome
1,486 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#457 of 1,271 in Rome
303 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#103 of 1,271 in Rome
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Cieli di Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Cieli di Roma

Address: Via Francesca Bertini 8, 00125 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #981 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Hotel Class:3 star — I Cieli di Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your I Cieli di Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Cieli Di Roma Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing