We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Massimo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Massimo
Ranked #692 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good location and helpful staff”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I was in Italy for 4 weeks (Nov-Dec 2013) and Rome was my first stop. Room was clean with working TV (Italian channels) and mini fridge and with bathroom. Breakfast was simple - juices, coffee, cheese, ham or salami, bread, and fruits. Sammy, the hotel receptionist, was very helpful and knowledgeable. Reception open from 7-11AM and from 4-7PM. Termini is about 10-15 minutes walk. The nearest Metro station is 5 minutes walk and Conads, the grocery chain, just 2 blocks away. A few restaurants along the street though I did not try them. Going back to the hotel late at night, I felt safe. The hotel itself is on the 3rd floor with a small lift. Lastly, room wifi was fast.

Room Tip: Room with a street view seemed nice for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juanmanuelrodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    50
    29
    7
    0
See reviews for
13
49
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Arrived at this hotel at 10pm as it was after 7pm you are instructed to collect your room keys in the hotel next door which was fine as it was seconds away. Once inside the hotel you find a small reception and breakfast area which is just perfect for central Rome. The room was spacious with an en suite bathroom and double bed with TV. There was also Wifi which was good as it enabled us to update our pictures of Rome on Facebook. Over all this hotel was perfect in every way imaginable. The employees are very kind and helpful. I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed for three nights and very much enjoyed our stay. Gabrielle on reception was very good to us and kindly let us leave our luggage after check out as we flew out later that day. Breakfast is simple like others say but still filling and varied. The coffee machine is great. Very conveniently located near Termini and we walked to many sights during our stay like the Pantheon and Trevi Fountain. Room was large and bed comfortable. Many restaurants nearby. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank L0nd0nRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Great little place. Clean and in a great location. Breakfast isn't great and could do with some variation as the same thing everyday can get very boring. Worth staying at if you are on a budget and want to be able to get to the main attractions quickly and easily.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pannie-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinaia, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel couple of nights, in a very nice triple room. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was basic but good (wonderfull coffee machine :)). From Termini to the Hotel you walk less then 5 minutes. The staff is GREAT...Thank you Sami and Gabriel for making us smile each morning

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Degeaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I have just returned from a short visit to Rome with my daughter. The hotel we were booked into for the 4 night stay was experiencing problems with the water to our intended room and asked if we would mind sleeping the first night at the hotel next door, The Hotel Massimo. We were a little unsure as our original hotel was a 3+star rated hotel and The Massimo was rated 2 star. I have experienced the Italian rating system in the past so did not have high expectations. We need not have worried as the standard of room was very high....deserving of more than the 2 stars in my opinion. The staff were welcoming and friendly and explained everything we needed to know without a problem. We were told that the hotel had only been open for a short while but one would have not known this as the 2 young men we encountered at reception were very knowledgable and professional. I would stay here again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillB1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights with my husband and 2 small children. We had a triple room and is was clean and not too small. It was sought of hard to find as it is one floor in a residential building and there is only a small plaque on the wall of the building indicating the hotel is inside. Despite being told that someone was there till 8pm and advising them that we would arrive between 7 & 7.30pm there was no one there when we arrived at 7.30pm. The sign on the door said to call a number but no one answered. Then we read that we had to go down stairs and around to another hotel if the number didn't work where the other hotel had our keys.

The hotel is close to Termini station and there are a number of nice restaurants near by or with in walking distance. It is also a nice and safe neighborhood. The breakfast is simple but sufficient. The rooms were always clean and tidy. The bathroom is tiny and the shower even more so, I had trouble bending to wash my feet! The wifi was great and the staff were always friendly and informative. The air con worked perfectly and there was a bar fridge in the room to use.
If you have the time to look around you may find something cheaper and better value but I think it was ok value for money and I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShannonM081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Galileo
Hotel Galileo
#329 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#236 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Esquilino
Bettoja Massimo D'Azeglio
Bettoja Massimo D'Azeglio
#338 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#259 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel dell'Urbe
Hotel dell'Urbe
#565 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Esquilino
Ascot
Ascot
#567 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Massimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Massimo

Property: Hotel Massimo
Address: Via Palestro 35, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #692 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Massimo 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Massimo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing